We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice view, friendly staff and owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, nice view, friendly staff and owner”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for about 6 days last February. I was quite sick with the flu when we checked in, so we had to spend a lot of time on site. I would normally despise the kind of people who spend their whole vacation in a resort and maybe at a few touristic hot spots, but when I had to just stay in, I was glad I chose this place: the food is mostly delicious and they take pride in that (probably the only vacation I put on weight, rather than lose), the pool area is wonderful all day - quiet, comfortable and with a nice ocean-tide view. The staff seems well-respected and treated, so they have this nice vibe. One tiny con was the room itself (minus the nice little Bali-style bathroom); while it was one of the lower grade rooms and this was to be expected, it was a little dark and gloomy. Although unless you need a rest like I did because of the flu, I don't think you would spend much time in the room. Also the location might be problematic for some sightseeing and adventure activites. You will probably pay extra for otherwise complimentary pickups. Overall, this place offers so much value in a tourist scam-oriented place that it'll be worth the effort. You will feel left alone and at the same time welcomed, which is ideal for me. One last thing, make sure you ask when the new coconuts come in and have one right away! Had so many coconuts in Phuket and the fresh one was an experience of its own.

Room Tip: Go for the better rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GokceO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasideResort, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our facility. Since you were here, we have replaced the building you stayed in with lovely new rooms as the old building was getting 'tired." Our personal care and friendly attitude towards all our guests still remains. And the food, we have added an extensive vegetarian menu so we can cater to the new wave of consciousness. It was a pleasure to have had you with us - come again.

Best regards,
STARR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    135
    47
    12
    11
See reviews for
88
161
108
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Friendship Beach Waterfront Resort is friendship by name and friendship by nature. It really has the feel of a family run place because the staff are so friendly and pleasant. Clearly the staff here are treated well and consequently are happy in their work. My experience was of exceptional service, key staff remembering my name, and a totally relaxing and friendly atmosphere. The office staff are particularly helpful and keen to ensure you have a happy stay; they cheerfully advise and get things organised taking the hassle out of all sorts of arrangements and planning.
In terms of the resort itself the accommodation is excellent, immaculately maintained and clean; the environment, bar, pool etc are most pleasant; and the food from the restaurant is great.
The location at Friendship Beach is quiet and very pleasant; well away from the bustle of the larger centres such as Patong, yet not far by scooter or taxi. Rawai is just down the road a couple of kilometres and has an assortment of bars and restaurants. Oh, and at the top of the lane leading to the Resort is a coffee shop serving excellent espresso!
Thank you all for what was a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Mine was a standard double room without a beach view. This was no big deal as the resort is small so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sashaauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasideResort, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and positive comments. Since you are a seasoned traveler, you obviously appreciate something special and personal. Yes, we are small, but then we can attend with sincere friendliness to the guests and welcome them as family. Your comments reflect our aim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray Bridge, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

we stayed 20/10/12 to the 29/10/12, and had the best time ever. There were 4 of us and 2 of them got married and it was a very memorable day, the staff were fanastic through our whole stay makin us all feel very comfortable and there service was awesome with both thumbs up. I loved the menu and between all 4 of us we tried alot of different meals and i cant complain about any of them. Again with the service they all do with a smile and it makes u feel very welcoming. My highlight of our days spent there were yummy morning brekkys by the pool in front of a awesome view and my relaxin evenings with a few drinks also in front of that awesome view. I will be back 4 sure

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasideResort, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We tried to make your stay memorable and it appears that we succeeded. It is rewarding to us that you rated the menu so highly and the friendly service staff the same.

You surely will be welcomed with open arms on your future visits. Thanks very much for your wonderful review. The staff are very pleased.

Blessings to you and Happy Marriage to those involved,
STARR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here for 10 nights with my mum, as a relaxing low-key holiday and Friendship Beach gave us exactly that. Our beachfront room was lovely and so were the views from it.

There was hardly anyone here so we almost had the place to ourselves. The food was delicious and made up of various styles and had very healthy or not-so-healthy foods (I liked both!). The pool was a good size and we spent a lot of our time in between the pool and the beach, which was lovely.

The beach is very tidal so not a great place to swim, although I did venture out a few times when the tide was in. Lovely to look at though.

There was small maintenance getting done around the pool throughout our stay (Sept 2012) and while I realise that it has to be done at some stage, on a few days the noise was a bit irritating and encouraged me to stay on our beachfront patio or venture up the road to a local pedicure/massage shop. Not a massive issue, really.

The staff were very friendly and incredible kind and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable.

One thing to be mentioned is that if you plan to head out and see different areas of Phuket (as we did), be prepared to spend a bit of money on taxis. It's quite far away from most places, but we didn't mind doing this as we had the peace and quiet to come back to!

There is a busy market in Phuket Town on the weekends which is well worth a visit - lots to choose from, lots of local food and hardly any stall owners hassling you to buy!

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Friendship Beach. Thanks!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasideResort, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Lovely review and we thank you very much. You are the type of visitors we like to cater to: those wanting a quiet and lovely resort next to the ocean with a great staff and wonderful food.

I guess you were here when we introduced our extensive vegetarian/vegan new menu of which we are quite proud. And, as you noted, we kept the usual resort fare for those who are less health minded and desire to 'let it all go' while on vacation.

Blessings to you,
STARR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

we stayed at Friendship Beach for 10 nights 08/10/12-18/10/12. it is very quiet and peacefull.It was like having our own private pool most of the time.we had visited this hotel before and used the facilities so Knew what it was like. it is approx 4k from Rawai Beach and a taxi costs 200baht. 500baht to Kata,Karon,Patong.there is a bus that goes to phuket town along the main road.the rooms are very clean and comfortable.the air con was a little noisey.i would recommend upgrading to a pool view or beach view room.the food was good but my husband was a little disappointed that there was no Beef Steaks on the menue as not everyone wants to detox.we had to pay 1000baht return to go to Kata to get a good steak. would rather have spent that on drinks at the hotel. all in all we enjoyed our stay and would go back again.a very relaxing holiday.
i

Room Tip: upgrade to a pool/beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_S23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasideResort, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for y our favorable comments. You came when we were in the process of expanding our 'healthy' menu and we had to drop some of our old time favorites to allow the staff to get everything right. We now have developed 3 extraordinary menus: Thai, Western and Vegetarian/Vegan/Raw. Next time you come your husband can have his beef steak.

We look forward to your return.

Blessings,
STARR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were in Rawai in June / July this year and went to Friendship beach on a number of occasions. We had my husband's 50th Birthday dinner there and the scenery on the water was spectacular. There was 13 of us and they set up a long table right on the waters edge and we had a wonderful night. The menu was diverse with lots to choose from, both western and asian tastes catered for and even mexican and a few Italian dishes too. There was plenty to choose from and everyone was pretty happy with their meal. The wait staff are very friendly and efficient which in Phuket can be a bit of a hit and miss affair but the team did a great job of keeping eveyone happy. The kids took their bathers and spent the night getting in and out of the pool and spa which they have no issue with if you are eating / drinking there.
Our party also had breakfast and lunch there on different days and each time we thought the food was decent and the cocktails delicious. Take your bathers as you can have a swim between drinks to cool off.
They do have happy hour and their cocktails are a good size so worth going in for a sundowner even.
To put this in perspective, we were staying in Rawai (15 minutes away) with many restaurants and cafes to eat in close by but we visited Friendship Beach many times as the scenery and location was gorgeous. The food decent with so much to choose from and the staff friendly and happy to have you be their guest. The cost to eat there is not super cheap but not expensive either. We thought for Phuket and the location it was good value. The equivalent in Rawai is Nikkita's and Friendship Beach for us is our preferred option. The scenery is nicer and it comes with no mosquitoes which is a plus! And happier wait staff.
The signage to get to Friendship beach could be better so you do have to keep an eye out for the little drive way the to the resort.

Room Tip: If you love dining outdoors on the water with friendly staff this place is for you. Lots of couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shimma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasideResort, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
WOW! We tried hard to please you and your review says it all. Since you have been here we have added extensive Vegetarian and Vegan items as well which are a hit with those who are watching their diet. We thank you for your kind comments.

Blessings,
STARR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Through a recommendation from a friend we decided to book 2 nights at the resort during our honeymoon at the Waterfront King with Jacuzzin room . We liked the place so much, we stayed for an extra night and came back for another night (although we decided to change rooms for a cheaper category, which were as nice as all other rooms we saw) before returning to Bangkok. We were unlucky with the weather, but even on a rainy day, it is a beautiful place. The food at the restaurant is really good and the best part is the staff. We instantly felt like family. Anong, May, Memo and everyone else always made sure we were enjoying our stay and everyone was really helpful at all times. We will recommend it to our friends and will try to come back some day!

Room Tip: Rooms on the waterfront are nice, but since you can spend the whole day at the pool looking at the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasideResort, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your very positive comments. I think you came to the perfect place for your honeymoon as we are located away from the "maddening crowd" and the usual tourist hype. It was a pleasure to be of service to you.

Blessings,
STARR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
2.5 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.5 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
2.8 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
24.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre

Property: Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre
Address: 27/1 Soi Mittrapap | Friendship Beach, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Friendship Beach Resort & Spa by iCheck Inn)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rawai
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#6 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#8 Family Hotel in Rawai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre is your very own private hideaway located on the south east coast of Phuket Island. Situated right on the beach, our comfortable 30 rooms and suites offer exceptional value in a stunning location and are just a stones throw from the resort's pool and secluded beach.The hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Chalong Bay and is the perfect location in which to explore the Andaman's famous archipelago of islands.Located on beautiful Chalong Bay.Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre has a spa and private beach and offers free Wi-Fi throughout. The 30 air-conditioned rooms feature a minibar, satellite TV and private hot shower and are just a short walk from the beach and boast a high ceiling, tile floor and Bali-style decor. All rooms at Friendship Beach Resort & Spa come with a fridge and a personal safe.Central Shopping Mall, Tesco Lotus Mall and the Home Pro Village Mall are a 10-minute drive from the hotel. It is a 25-minute drive from Patong Beach and a 45-minute drive from Phuket Airport. On-site parking is free. Atmanjai Wellness Centre offers spa treatments and detox programs, as well as oceanside yoga classes. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, enjoy the garden or unwind with a massage.The hotel's restaurant offers al fresco dining, serving up Thai and Western favourites. It is open daily from 07:00-22:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendship Beach Waterfront Hotel Rawai
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing