We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely friendly and personable place Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a lovely friendly and personable place Highly recommended!”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at The friendship beach resort for 18 days as part of a detox package at Atmanjai detox and well being centre which is part of the resort. I can't say enough about the quality of this place. the staff were superb and incredibly friendly and the facilities were clean and well maintained. Food was great (when we wern't fasting)and the atmosphere was ideal for a relaxing detox holiday. Collections to and from the airport were efficient and free of charge and the prices for treatments in the Atmanjai spa were of great value in relation to the superb therapists who were simply first class. This is an outstanding resort for fasting and detox, but would also satisfy people looking for a nice quite and romantic break in Phuket. There are three teat rooms which literally face out directly to the small beach with stunning views. The pool is a recent size (approx 18 metres end to end ) and very well maintained so it's good for swimming and or just relaxing. The resort is small and quiet but made by the enthusiasm and quality of the staff. They are like one big happy family there and we will definitely return here again. A wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackp0ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarrFriendshipBeach, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
With comments like this, it makes our efforts all worth-while. We strive to maintain a family atmosphere at the resort and Atmanjai and the Thai staff is very good at doing this. It really is easy when we have customers like you and your appreciation will be passed on to the staff. Be well, take care of today, tomorrow you can do the same.

Best,
STARR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    133
    44
    12
    11
See reviews for
84
160
103
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Me and my two daughters (8 and 1) spent the whole month of July at Friendship Beach... it was HOME. The place is absolutely safe for children and the staff couldn't be any friendlier towards my girls. They helped me hire a lovely local babysitter and it was the best value of it all. My baby was loved and taken care of during the day so I could also enjoy some "me" time and time with my older daughter. We took a 2 bedroom apartment which was spotlessly clened every day by friendly staff. The food is excellent whether Thai or Western and now with the addition of the Atmanjai detox spa, it also has great choices for healthy eating as well. They are doing constant upgrades and upkeep of the place, common areas are always tidy. This place has it all for a single, couple or family vacation. We will be back there on our next trip to Thailand for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarrFriendshipBeach, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
What a joy to have had you with us. Our main function, outside of tending to the guests, is maintenance and upgrading which never ends. It is really quite fun and your appreciation of the tidieness of the rooms and cuisine are well noted. Our Atmanjai Wellness Center is going great and we are beyond capacity and will be building a new kitchen to expand the already-to-big menu and better aclimate to the 'raw' and 'fresh' food demand. The staff and I were sad to see you leave but, if you don't go you can't return.
STARR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We had two poolside appartments which were beautifully furnished , spacious and during our stay were kept immaculately clean by the efficient and friendly staff. The whole resort was meticulously cleaned every day . The swimming pools had shallow "playpools" as well as the full size one for competent swimmers .Food was just amazing - cooked upon order and delicious . Breakfast a real treat -lots of choice and served always with a smile !Fruit juice was sqeezed fresh on ordering - try it - you won't be disappointed ! Prices were very very competitive .We had a hire car so visited a few nearby tourist attractions - Big Buddha - free to go in ! The Zoo - an experience indeed . Elephant trek through the jungle , Gibbon sanctuary , local markets - beautiful beaches , We found it a perfect place for a family holiday - not rowdy , relaxed ,with welcoming staff ready to help and keen to please . Added pleasure of onsite massage /detox - what more could anyone want?

Room Tip: not a noisy resort - rooms accurately described .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillkickin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarrFriendshipBeach, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Your comments make what we are doing here all worthwhile. Thank you for your kind comments and observations. I don't think you will find a friendlier staff anywhere and with both a Thai Chef and Western Chef we get many kind comments and reviews such as yours. I don't know of anywhere else in Phuket that you can get Eggs Benedict made to order and not out of a box. Many blessings - we hope to see you again in the near future.
STARR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlissingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We like this resort very much because:
-it's not crowdy
-most tourist are in Patong
-such nice food
-good swimmingpool
-nice staff
-good massage and Spa
-rooms a bit dark, but clean

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarrFriendshipBeach, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, June 19, 2011
Dear Aatje, I'm so glad you enjoyed staying with us. Your review sums us up perfectly - we are a small, friendly resort and our focus is on enjoying taking care of people. Hope to see you back here on your next trip. Starr (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Resort is really nice, small with warm atmosphere. Nice clean accommodation and swimming pool. All staff very friendly and helpful. Only big disappointment for us was beach - as our guide said - flat mud. You can not swim there never, regardless the tide. Water is highest to you knees, stings. Beach is dirty, full of trash. So if you want to be at seaside and do not mind swimming only in pool, I would recommend this hotel to you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veruka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarrFriendshipBeach, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, June 19, 2011
Dear Veruka, thank you for posting a review and recommending our resort. To further clarify on your feedback the bay is shallow and when the tide goes out, the seabed is exposed for a few hundred meters. This makes a wonderful opportunity for families to explore and to watch the local people fishing and hunting for sealife. Swimming is ok when the tide is in, for those people who enjoy waves and deeper water there is an excellent swimming beach within 5 minutes drive, and we are happy to help you get there. Rubbish is washed onto the beach each day by the tide. Sadly it comes from wherever it was thrown in the ocean. We have our staff clean this every day to ensure that guests see Thailand at it's best. Thank you again for all your positive comments about Friendship Beach Resort.
Starr (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I'd like to start off by saying a massive thankyou to Starr and his friendly staff for making our holiday a truly amazing experience.
Me and my partner came here back in january 2010 for a 6week adventure in Phuket , we was firstly staying in a hotel in karon for our first few nights until we took a ride out and found the friendship beach resort. From the first moment we looked round this place me and my partner knew this was the place we wanted to spend then rest of our holiday
The views were amazing, this hotel is right on the beach front with a huge hot pool, palm trees swaying in the hot breeze, the smell off amazing food which made your mouth water, very friendly Thai staff going out there way to make you feel welcome. This was the place to be in Phuket.
The rooms are fit for kings and queens, we tested a few different rooms here, we had an apartment for a week while my sister and her partner came over which Starr had organised for us, while we had took a trip out to phi phi for a long weekend.we arrived back find to a luxury apartment and our suitcases that Starr and his staff had kindly look after for us in our new rooms. All the rooms were very clean, tidy ,spacious and beautifully decorated.
During our stay here, we grew very close friendship to the staff and were very grateful when Bar manager pepsi and the Thai chef showed us how to party in some great night clubs in Phuket. We had such a laugh and felt very comftable and safe in there hands.
We also was very touched when Starr invited us on a trip out to a beautiful island with the rest of his family and friends. We had such a great time thankyou once again.
The chef here served truly mouth watering food, we ate here everyday without a doubt, Choosing between Thai cuisine or western. Every meal we had was spot on, the chef certainly deserves a medal for his cooking.
Over all we had a fantastic stay here and are definatley returning.
My partner proposed to me on Christmas day 2010 and are delighted to announce that this will be the place we want to bring our family and friends to share our special day. We will hopefully be gettin g in touch with Starr in the near future when we have decided a date.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayeandbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarrFriendshipBeach, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, June 19, 2011
Dear Faye & Brett,
Many thanks for a wonderful and extensive review.
The only thing I can add is - Congratulations and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your special day.
Blessings.
Starr (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Nice place (but I did not like the plastic chairs in the restaurant). Family friendly place. I especially liked the fact that there was a spa/yoga place right next door. Also the kite surfing rental place was right around the corner.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarrFriendshipBeach, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are in the process of replacing the plastic restaurant chairs. It's a challenge because we want something attractive and comfortable, that is also durable because the restaurant is right on the beach. We think we have a solution, so I invite you to visit again soon and try out the new chairs! The kite-surfing school next door is a wonderful addition to our community, and the bay looks fantastic during the season when there are dozens of riders out on the water.
Thanks again,
Starr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
2.5 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.5 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
0.8 mi away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rawai Palm Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thai Palace Resort
Thai Palace Resort
#13 of 42 in Rawai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre

Property: Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre
Address: 27/1 Soi Mittrapap | Friendship Beach, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Friendship Beach Resort & Spa by iCheck Inn)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rawai
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#6 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
#8 Family Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre is your very own private hideaway located on the south east coast of Phuket Island. Situated right on the beach, our comfortable 30 rooms and suites offer exceptional value in a stunning location and are just a stones throw from the resort's pool and secluded beach.The hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Chalong Bay and is the perfect location in which to explore the Andaman's famous archipelago of islands.Located on beautiful Chalong Bay.Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre has a spa and private beach and offers free Wi-Fi throughout. The 30 air-conditioned rooms feature a minibar, satellite TV and private hot shower and are just a short walk from the beach and boast a high ceiling, tile floor and Bali-style decor. All rooms at Friendship Beach Resort & Spa come with a fridge and a personal safe.Central Shopping Mall, Tesco Lotus Mall and the Home Pro Village Mall are a 10-minute drive from the hotel. It is a 25-minute drive from Patong Beach and a 45-minute drive from Phuket Airport. On-site parking is free. Atmanjai Wellness Centre offers spa treatments and detox programs, as well as oceanside yoga classes. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, enjoy the garden or unwind with a massage.The hotel's restaurant offers al fresco dining, serving up Thai and Western favourites. It is open daily from 07:00-22:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendship Beach Waterfront Hotel Rawai
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing