We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Great Service. deank25 is a liar.”

Mom Tri’s Wok Gallery Kitchen
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 7/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #18 of 336 Restaurants in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Description: Wok Pagoda's menu is a fusion of Thai, Asian and western recipes that are uniquely and beautifully presented to be shared by all at the same table. The charcoal grill is the hearth of our kitchen because our chefs believe that freshest ingredients should be treated only lightly. The yakitori style bar is for those who want delicious tapas with drinks while enjoying the unbelievable scenic view. Once you have experienced Wok Pagoda's beautiful ambience, delicious food, professional, friendly service, and unmatchable view you will truly have an unforgettable time.
Restaurant details
Description: Wok Pagoda's menu is a fusion of Thai, Asian and western recipes that are uniquely and beautifully presented to be shared by all at the same table. The charcoal grill is the hearth of our kitchen because our chefs believe that freshest ingredients should be treated only lightly. The yakitori style bar is for those who want delicious tapas with drinks while enjoying the unbelievable scenic view. Once you have experienced Wok Pagoda's beautiful ambience, delicious food, professional, friendly service, and unmatchable view you will truly have an unforgettable time.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

Ordered a 1.3kg tomahawk steak medium rare, and two starter dishes along with the duck mango. The tomahawk was cooked to perfection with good selection of accompanying sauces. Made a special reservation for my loved one's birthday and was provided with excellent service by the staff.

What made the place great was the combination of the atmosphere and good food. This is the place you go if you really want to have a modern take on thai cuisine accompanied with an extensive list of wines.

Now on to why im calling deank25 is a liar. First case in point is I am the person he referred to as "aggro". I booked the table 2 days before and asked for an outdoor smoking table with the best view and was given so. I was informed after the fact that deank25 was a walk in who was given a non-smoking table but refused it asking for a larger table and on his own accord selected the table smack in the middle of the restaurant.

When I lit up my cigar trying to enjoy the occasion, deank25 and his wife as they mentioned decided to change tables but made snide remarks as they passed our table such as "Thank you so much". Our table consisting of me, my girlfriend and a friend shrugged it off to continue our evening to which minutes later deank25 decided to march over to our table and begin accusing us of laughing at him. At this point I knew he was drunk as he was slurring his words and I stood up and politely asked if he had a problem marching over to our table. I politely informed him that i asked for a smoking table and that this was the designated smoking area to which he mumbled asking if we were laughing at him to which I responded accordingly that we were not. While this occured, his wife decided to show the finger to my girlfriend to which we reciprocated. Upon realizing that he made no sense charging to our table, he scurried back.

The reason the restaurant asked deank25 to leave was because he decided against the waiters advise to be seated at the non smoking zone (mind you also sharing the same excellent view) and tried to cause a scene.

I am writing this review to thank Moms Tris Kitchen and the staff for their professionalism in handling the matter and to prevent drunken bullies such as deank25 from associating his bad experience due to his own shortcomings and bad planning.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank eeujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaroyalephuket, Manager at Mom Tri’s Wok Gallery Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Dear eeujin

Firstly thank you so much for choosing to celebrate at our restaurant, Mom Tri's Wok Gallery Kitchen. Secondly thank you for writing this review. We appreciate your side of the story very much and very glad hear that you enjoyed yourselves despite the bad experiences knocking at your door.

Anyhow Happy very belated birthday to your girlfriend and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Mom Tri's Wok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 123 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

Positives first - food overall was tasty. Staff were attentive and well versed in what they were serving. Wine list extensive with some great choices we hadn't seen at other high end restaurants on Phuket. Free pickup and drop off to our nearby hotel.

The location high on the hill gave some great breezes and a front row seat to the spectacular storm light show on the horizon.

Improvement
On the night we visited, some of the printed menu (with pics) selections we chose were different to what was served. IE: a Thai goat curry pictured served with steamed rice, came to the table strangely served with fettucini, odd mix. When we pointed out the difference we were told "didn't the staff tell you, we changed the presentation". They didnt. Rice was bought to the table after that. Oddly, the goat curry was cold on the plate when served.

Same with the wine list. Both wines we selected of a certain vintage were replaced with a different vintage without consultation or explanation. No problem with that when you're ordering cheap wine, bit more of an issue when you're spending upwards of $100 per bottle.

Here's the bit that ruined the evening. When we arrived we were seated at a table on the balcony. We were the only guests at that stage. Over the next 30 minutes there more tables came in. The table next to us lit up cigars as soon as they sat down, blowing smoke all over us as we were eating. So we asked to be moved.

As we moved the table we were trying to get away from starting laughing and making rude gestures, one of the guys were really aggro. The management response to us was "they booked a smoking table, perhaps you would like to take your half drunk bottle of wine and leave". So we finished our drinks and left.

No problem with restaurants having smoking sections. But why seat customers in the middle of the smoking section without telling us (in an empty restaurant). And then sit a smoking table right next to us. At that stage we were the only two tables in the room. Then the restaurant response was pretty pathetic.

Anyway, dinner for 2 was TBHT6000, and we had to leave early. Food was OK, one dish was cold. Some menu and wine descriptions didn't match what was served.
At those prices, there are many other great restaurants to choose from. In Phuket

At those prices there are many other decent restaurants

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank deank25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaroyalephuket, Manager at Mom Tri’s Wok Gallery Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Dear deank25

Thank you so much for choosing our restaurant. I have to apologize for the fact that our staff did not mention the changes in the menu that was abruptly changed just a while ago.

It is such a shame that you left with only an OK feeling from our restaurant. I really hope there is another chance for us to redeem ourselves and let you leave with a great big smile.

Best regards,
Mom Tri's Wok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to go!! The food is excellent, the view amazing, the staff are
charming and you can even get picked up from your villa or hotel!!!

Ok - it’s not the cheapest place ($60/head) but everything is delicious and it’s so worth it!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Henrietta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaroyalephuket, Manager at Mom Tri’s Wok Gallery Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Dear Henrietta W

Thank you for dinning at our restaurant. We are glad you think it was worth it.

Best regards,
Mom Tri's Wok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

Came here based on a recommendation of a friend. It’s situated up in the hills (and offer a free van pick-up) with a lovely overlook from the patio seating.

We shared two dishes: goat curry and duck with mangoes. The star was the goat curry, with well cooked goat resting in a wonderfully season curry sauce. The duck with mangoes was really good as well, which was served with a red wine reduction. The duck itself was well prepared with a nice crust, and it came with grilled vegetables.

We tried a soufflé for desert and we were pleased.

The entire bill was roughly 1600 baht ($60 USD), which is more expensive than other places but I think worth it.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaroyalephuket, Manager at Mom Tri’s Wok Gallery Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Dear Richard D

Thank you for choosing to dine at our restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed your dinner and appreciate you giving us a comment about us.

Best regards,
Mom Tri's Wok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

Excellent service , great food, no noisy lousy, loud tourists.
Great view and fresh air. Parking at premises.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 75antonisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaroyalephuket, Manager at Mom Tri’s Wok Gallery Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2019

Dear 75antonisi

Thank you for your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you again to Mom Tri's Wok Gallery Kitchen.

Best regards,
Mom Tri's Wok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mom Tri’s Wok Gallery Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mom Tri’s Wok Gallery Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing