We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wat a difference”

Tham Khao Luang Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.63*
and up
Private Petchaburi Half-Day Tour from Hua Hin
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Phetchaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wat a difference”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visiting temples is a big part of a trip to Thailand and these caves made for a very interesting new experience. They are visually impressive with the various buddhas worked into the spaces in a quite 'organic' way and provided a great spiritual treat. We were lucky - got there at the end of the day and so peaceful atmosphere and had the place to ourselves.
Watch out for the monkeys - a lot of them and you need to be careful. They can be quite agressive

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    98
    31
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“well worth a trip”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

cycled the 3ish km here, only the last little bit is up hill. Monkeys can be a bit scary, but not too bad. Very interesting caves and Buddhas, we were lucky though, when we arrived there was a car and a minivan in the carpark, when we left 9 big coaches had just arrived!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Cannot Miss”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

It is easy to access Tham Khao Luang as the indications are clear and bi-lingual.
Once there beware of the monkeys, unless you adore them (and I do not), do not feed them, they will be all over you.
Once you descend to the cave I would advise to take your time and to search for the hidden spots and Buddha statues. There are status everywhere, some have the lighting others do not.
Do not forget to access also the smaller caves trough the door behind the reclining Buddha.
I was there in the afternoon and the light was nice but not great. I was told that the best time to visit is between 9 and 11 am.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vaccarile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cave or temple - does it really matter ? One great spiritual place”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to this place few years back with a friend when staying in Hua Hin (found the place on a map and wanted to explore it). Did not regret the effort to drive up all the way from Hua Hin to the 'Cave', which in my opinion is more a real spiritual place than anything else - and I liked it a lot !
We arrived in the late afternoon (almost at closing time), however, the daughter of the banana and drink seller near the entrance was nice enough to bring us down and around the huge caves.
On the way there we fed the waiting monkeys with the bananas, we bought from her father at the entrance and that way we could enter without being followed al the time by monkey hordes.
Arriving down there in the first cave (and it was empty, except us, due to the late arrival) it became a extreme calming and spiritual place, you were surrounded by plenty of Buddha statues in different shapes and sizes - and with different meanings - one of the biggest one is the reclining Buddha. As you stroll around in the different caves, seeing once in awhile daylight from above through some holes in the ceiling of the caves, you can feel the cool air as well as the quietness which automatically lets you forget, at least for the moment, the hustle and bustle of the outside world. The statues and the entire place are all well maintained.
Would always make a trip to this place again if in the Phetchaburi area. We tipped he daughter and we paid for the bananas but it was not expensive at all !

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PetalingJayaHans47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's not that interesting.”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This attraction is fairly dull really. Once you struggle down to the floor of the "cave" you are confronted with lots of concrete. The "cave" is really an ancient subterranean river that has changed its course. There are lots of Buddhas in there and a statue of a 'hermit". Its unusual that this place is run by Buddhist Nuns. Not seen very often. Their attitude to men is not very good. Then you climb back up top. There are lots of monkeys about but you are warned not to make eye contact with them. The toilet "facilities" in the carpark are disgustingly filthy. Don't use them.
You need to be fairly fit to do this place!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeteS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tham Khao Luang Cave also viewed

Phetchaburi, Phetchaburi Province
 
Phetchaburi, Phetchaburi Province
Tha Yang, Phetchaburi Province
 

Been to Tham Khao Luang Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing