We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an overpriced dump!”
Review of Benjamin Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Benjamin Resort
Ranked #242 of 378 Hotels in Kathu
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What an overpriced dump!”
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for one night. I have absolutely no idea how this place made it into the lonely planet! I made a reservation in advanced via email, and they charged me 1500 baht per night, about 45 USD even though the website said 300-1000 baht/night for a room. This hotel looks absolutely nothing like the website photographs, and has easily been both the worst place I have stayed in all of thailand, as well as the most expensive. The second I walked into my room my impression was awful. The toilet seat didn't cover the toilet bowl, the bed was uneven, sunken in in the middle and you could totally feel the springs through the mattress. TV volume was inconsistent when watching a movie or show aka constantly turning volume up or down. The air conditioning was a joke, the furniture was wicked old, and the place did not feel clean and very old. I am pretty sure I got my bed bugs here! The window coverings looked like plastic tarps. The included breakfast was not good at all.

If you want to stay in Kamala beach, try the place right next door - I didn't check it out but it was only 500 baht/night, what I think this place was worth after considering the location and the fact that its a dump. Or even better, 3 buildings down is a place called Orchid something (mentioned in LP). They had an open room for 1,000 baht/night and it looked clean and modern! but i saw this AFTER i checked in and paid for my room.

The hotel staff was nice, and this hotel is right on the beach. That is the only positive thing i can say about it. Oh and the room size is big.

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Natureloversf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    3
    4
    12
See reviews for
7
15
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2009

We paid in advance and on arrival they tried to make us pay more for a sea view room. We declined and so were pleased to find we had a room on the 3rd floor which was at the front of the hotel so we still got a sea view. The room itself was spacious, had great air con, a fridge (great for all those bottles of water you need) and a balcony that looked onto the beach. We made use of the free sun loungers although they had no umbrellas . Found the breakfast set-up quite confusing- as far as we made out it was free to have toast, tea/coffee and fruit but you paid for eggs etc- not many tables either; we found it quiter about 10.30am. A good budget hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarknBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Despite the great location of the hotel, we were quite disappointed by this rather mediocre hotel. Though we booked a twin room with a seaview, when we arrived were offered a choice between a twin room without a view and a double room with a seaview (we chose the latter). As others stated, don't expect a 5 star hotel nor a resort (despite what the name suggests) and you won't be disappointed. Basic facilities were adequate, and the best thing about the accommodation was the balcony with a lovely view of the sea outside and close proximity to the water

The most disappointing aspect of the hotel was the rude and obnoxious staff. With only one exception, most of them were unattentive, unhelpful, obnoxious and prone to laughing at guests' questions without giving useful answers (e.g. questions such as "are there markets nearby? where did you buy your food?" were met with mirth and a vague wave of the hand down the street). This made us reluctant to ask the staff for any help whatsoever.

When it came to leaving Phuket, the reception desk would only allow us to book an overpriced (600B) taxi through them to go to the airport. Since we wanted to call an independent driver who drove us to the hotel and charged less (400B), we were told that a local phone call from the hotel cost 75B/minute (compared to approximately 5B at a payphone across the road). When we asked to take a shower after checking out on our last day at the resort, we were first directed to a shower without water on the third floor of the building, rather than one 3 metres away from the reception desk (which we were allowed to use eventually).

Overall this a very disappointting place to stay given the price and the wide variety of other accommodation available in the area. One should not be made to feel embarrassed or thwarted regarding simple requests while on holidays. Don't stay here or you may encourage their unhospitable and substandard service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saffire66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathu hotels

Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed at this resort in early 2007 and had a great stay and decided to stay there again when we came back. Upon checking into our room we noticed that the room hadn't been cleaned. The floor was covered in an oily/sticky substance so you couldn't walk without your thongs on. The bathroom was filthy, there was mould all over the tiles on the walls and the shower/bath. The shower/bath was also covered in soap scum. After lying on the bed for 5 minutes we became very itchy and after looking closely at the sheets noticed that there were fleas and bed bugs crawling all over the bed. We immediately went down to reception to complain so they moved us to another room. The new room was even dirtier. There seemed to be faeces smeared all over the bathroom walls and the toilet hadn't been cleaned since the last guests had left. The bed was also covered in fleas and bed bugs so we came to the conclusion that the whole hotel was infested (we did notice that they let stray dogs roam around the place). We decided to leave immediately but they would not refund our money even though we hadn't been there for any longer than an 1hr. Extremely disappointing experience, we would not recommend this place to our worst enemy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olllys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

We stayed 4 nights with our 2 kids (2,4 yo). We had a great time. Staff very friendly, rooms are very basic but large and clean with aircon and views. Right on the beach which is priceless for the breakfast served and included in the cheap price
Would highly recommend if you are looking for a good low key place to stay in Kamala

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazlolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North vancouver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

I found this place from the Lonely Planet book and it was great. It was well priced and the rooms had a great ocean view. We went there during low season so we were about the only people on the beach. The beach this hotel is on is kind of like a long beach, where the water go very far out and the sand stretches for miles. In Phuket, the beaches are not white sand but are still beautiful and worth visiting. The service was good, the beds were decent, this was no 5 star and not a hotel, and not a resort, more like a motel 6 with killer view, but in Thailand thats alright! Food shops on the same block are great, you can rent a mophead from this hotel and drive around the city!

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vancouvergirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2008

2 friends and I had separate rooms at the Benjamin and we loved the Hotel. No, it is not 5 star so dont expect it! We had a view of the ocean and the staff were just terriffic! Rooms were quite large and quite plain but what do you need? Anything asked for was done, we had breakfast on the terrace right on the beach every morning. We were in a convenient location with easy access to Kamala township.

Although it may look pretty tired and stressed from the outside the rooms were very clean and we had everything we needed for our stay. People please remember a Tsunami went through there so give a little credit to the locals and owners for making our stay a memorable one! Great price for what we experienced!

  • Liked — The friendly & helpful staff & cleanliness of rooms
  • Disliked — No Pool!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allioops_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathu hotels
0.0 mi away
Baantonsai Garden Resort
Baantonsai Garden Resort
#206 of 322 in Patong
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#161 of 322 in Patong
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brother's Residence
The Brother's Residence
#290 of 322 in Patong
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#60 of 322 in Patong
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Natacha Beachfront Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Luxur Boutique Hotel Patong
Luxur Boutique Hotel Patong
#303 of 322 in Patong
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benjamin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjamin Resort

Property: Benjamin Resort
Address: 83 Moo 3 Kamala Beach | Tambon Kamala, Amphur Kathu, Kathu, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Beach Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Benjamin Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Benjamin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benjamin Hotel Kathu
Benjamin Resort Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing