We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not go here! It was discusting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orchid Hotel and Spa
Ranked #334 of 376 Hotels in Kathu
bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not go here! It was discusting!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We arrived to be greeted By a miserable member of staff.. She claimed that we were lucky as they were out of standard rooms so we had one with a sea view! Fab.. Or so we thought!

At first glance the room looked worn out, tired and generally grubby! It also had a musty smell! The sea view was minimal as pylons and cables blocked the view. I guess that's not the hotels fault but I certainly wouldn't pay extra for the view!
On closer inspection we found the floor to be filthy, looked as though it had never been cleaned! The bathroom was FULL of mould and stunk so bad! We could barely walk in it without heaving. The bed clothes were filthy and stained and looked 100 years old. The bed was also 2 singles pushed togther..fine..but they were at different heights!

The towels were ripped and grey - no longer white! This place was revolting. We called reception to say we were not happy. Some Thai lady came up to have a look.. Nodded..and left. We gave them 20 mins before calling down to see what was going on... Know one seemed to know what we were talking about but eventually moved to a smaller room at the back with no view but at least this one was a tiny bit better! There was not as much mould..the smell was not quite as bad and it looked a tiny bit cleaner.

We decided to put up with it for one night...however it was so noisy with doors slamming..people stomping around upstairs all night and the fear of getting eaten by bed bugs and insects it wasn't the best nights sleep. The breakfast was not up to much either.

Overall do not go here! It was horrible! Thank god we only booked for one night!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flick5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    32
    12
    11
    19
See reviews for
12
40
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kincumber, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Just wanting to say that mine and my partners experience at the hotel from the 02/01/12 to the 11/01/12 was a friendly , caring and very welcoming atmosphere. Everyday the owner would ask us how our day was and if there was any problems that needed attention.The staff were wonderful and very helpful to all our needs and requests.The rooms were always clean and tidy everyday.The only little thing that was a problem was the mattress on the bed, it was a lil hard and uncomfortable.I would suggest this hotel to my family and friends if they were going and wanting a little and quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed this year 2011 with 12 yr old daughter. Rooms are warm and inviting and well cleaned. Always felt good to collapse here after energetic days out. Great view of ocean and forest, the best aspect is the location, great for our family. My daughter swam in the pool daily. The staff are so helpful and bend over backwards to sort things out. Anthony is great, and my daughter wanted to adopt his dog. The breakfasts were just what we needed to set us up for the day trips which you can book there. We preferred to walk to Patong daily, as we like a walk and its not really that far. Rather have this walk than be in the thick of Patong to be honest. I would re book here it was so good. I like the individuality of it too and the design of the rooms, lots of thai art on the walls. I like the links with old blighty too, a bit of glam for sure. I think it would appeal to many aussies, as it gives a lot of bang for buck.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Quiet place and out of the busy Patong area, room is without water boiler and they do not provide drinking water, hair dryer available on request, same menu for breakfast daily for you to choose which if you stay longer you will get bored, deep small pool 1.9 meter not for family with small kids, 50 meters away from internet and mini market behind hotel, lot of stalls in evening front of hotel, friendly staffs, message on bookings only at their spa, beach full with stone, room I stayed was a bit rundown especially the mattress.

Room Tip: Request a room facing beach, and lower floor for those with more luggage, they have no lift and smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I've just come back from a 9 night stay, and I was very happy with the hotel. I booked a deluxe room for £20 a night, and I had a full sea view and four-poster bed. The breakfast is very basic (egg on toast or cereal), but hey, it was free. The staff are delightful - very friendly and welcoming. I got charged 20 baht for putting my own water in the mini-bar, which was a bit odd, but that was the only negative I can think of. Kalim beach isn't really for sunbathing, but 10 minutes down the hill takes you to the start of Patong beach. The Patong night-life is about 30-45 minutes away if you walk - I walked it every night, so it's good exercise! The swimming pool is small, but lovely for a dip after a day at the beach. I ate in the restaurant a couple of times - the food was nice and good value. The shower was good, and the bathroom was a fair size. The cleanliness of the hotel was spot-on, and the fearless maid removed a cockroach that had found it's way into my room by picking it up by it's feelers!! It was the only creepy-crawley that I saw in 9 days, and I was told to expect loads of bugs in Thailand, so I guess that shows the cleanliness of the hotel. Be aware that taxis in Phuket are extortionate (especially after the bargain taxis in Bangkok), so if you're not prepared to walk to the beach (10 mins) or walk into Patong/Bangla Road for night-life (30-45 mins), then this hotel is not for you. However, if you want a bargain beach-front, clean and friendly hotel, then this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe ocean view (you may have to pay extra)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahprh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Out of our expectation as what they describe on their web. The front desk people are not friendly, bad service & bad attitude. The room terrible too, you can hear a noisy sound out from the air-cond compessor for whole day & night. The worst thing is each person force to take bath not more than 3mins, coz the bathroom is flood!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miao88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathu hotels

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

to Patong to make it perfect for me. I loved the huge penthouse and lounge chairs with an unobstructed (except for the power lines which you can't blame them for!) view of the Andaman. Internet close by but beware the inflated laundry fee at the internet cafe (not part of Orchid) ....$1.50 for one shirt and one jeans. Great staff, better-than-usual-for-Thailand Western food, spotlessly clean room and very large. As a solo "older" traveler, I liked the security of the inhouse taxi service. I will return............

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beinaj8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathu hotels
0.0 mi away
Baramee Hip Hotel Patong
Baramee Hip Hotel Patong
#266 of 319 in Patong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#175 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brother's Residence
The Brother's Residence
#292 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Patong Buri
Patong Buri
#167 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa
Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa
#318 of 401 in Patong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Hotel and Spa

Property: Orchid Hotel and Spa
Address: 320 Soi.7 (Prabaramee), Patong beach, Ban Kalim, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#59 Top resorts Hotel in Kathu
#97 Spa Hotel in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchid Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Kalim Bay, to the North of Patong, Phuket. This Mediterranean style, 4 story hotel has 31 air-conditioned rooms and terraces overlooking the magnificent Andaman Sea. This quiet beachfront resort is only a five minute walk from the center of Patong. If you are in search of a relaxing stay in Phuket, our beachfront terrace rooms will allow you and your family to enjoy the ocean sea breeze and the very beautiful sunsets accompanied by our top hospitality; your stay at the Orchid Hotel will be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orchid Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Kathu
Orchid Hotel Patong
The Orchid Hotel
Orchid Hotel And Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing