We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kata Delight: A lost gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Delight Villas Kata Beach
Ranked #175 of 285 Specialty Lodging in Kathu
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Kata Delight: A lost gem”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have been staying in Kata Delight now for over 15 years on and off and have never been disappointed. I purposefully, never wrote a review as Kata Delight was a hidden gem in the now sadly over built and packaged Kata Beach. It has now been purchased and no doubt a resort of some kind will now be built as the land is so ideally located.
Coupled with the large development on the end of the bay point, this will no longer be the place of peace and solitude it once was.
The breakfast view on the veranda overlooking Kata Bay will stay with me for a long time. As will the lazy days on the balcony and pool by the chalets nearest the rocks.
Time to move on but where? A sad occasion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stingalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for a week back in February 2012 and yes the place was a little outdated but it's location and views more than made up for this. The staff were friendly and the food at their quaint restaurant was so very tasty! The rooms were also very cheap which was great! Sadly the hotel/resort has been recently demolished and I wouldn't be surprised if it will be replaced by another extravagantly priced resort which is a bit of a shame. I feel lucky to have stayed at this place while it was still around :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Well like the title said, for the first time ever my wife and I packed our bags and left this place in the middle of the night. And no, this isn't the first time we've traveled. We have been to over 30 countries on 3 continents so we have seen our fair share of horror hotels. But this one takes the cake.

We arrived at this place in the middle of the afternoon but only had time to drop our bags and run as I had a doctors appointment at Bangkok hospital on the other side of Phuket. Our first impression was not very good as a shirtless sweaty man checked us in and said nothing to us. I specifically confirmed with them a few days before for one large bed and instead there were 2 small beds. I brought this to their attention and the response was "This is all we have". I could sense that arguing would get me nowhere at this place and as I said we were pressed on time so we dropped our stuff and left for the hospital.

It was until we returned later that night around 10 or 11pm that the true horror of this establishment came to light.

Upon entering our room we turned on the light and to our disgust the place was filled with mosquitoes. We did our best to start killing them off one by one by one but there were just too many to take on. Exhausted, we decided that we would just try to get a few hours of sleep here and then check out in the morning and find a new place to stay. My wife wanted to take a quick shower after a long day of traveling. The bathroom itself looked like it had barely been cleaned and the towels looked like they have been in service for years. After my wife was in the shower I heard a scream and came running to see the culprit crawling away. A cockroach, about 4 inches long, had crawled up her leg while she was showering. That was the last straw. We packed our bags and started trekking the road next to Kata Beach trying to find anywhere else to stay that resembled a real accommodation.

I don't know how so many other people had such a contrasting experience but I guess if you want to take your chances with this one you can. There are just so many other places in Kata Beach that are only a little bit more per night and are a world in class above this one.

Honestly, if you want a great view of the beach just pitch a tent on the sand. The accommodations would probably be better than this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathu hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lovely and accommodating staff. This has basic but comfortable rooms with good sized patios that overlook busy Kata beach. From the balcony you get the nice view without the noise of the crowds. The room's decor is dated and a bit musty, but so are most places on the beach. The pool is small, quiet and could use an extra cleaning.

Room Tip: Mermaid A and B were nice rooms with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyandron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Located a short walk up a rather steep hill from the hustle and bustle of Kata Beach is a lovely little hotel. Our room was basic, but perfectly serviceable for a few nights stay. Unfortunately, our traveling companion's room was below basic (mildew in shower...which your feet are in when sitting on the toilet). They do have a nice little pool overlooking the rocks below and the beach to the right. The restaurant is manned by the same ladies who run the front desk so that waiting to check out became an issue.

Other than a cup of tea in the am, we chose to eat on the beach, so we can't comment on the quality of food.

On a positive note, we had to deal with a stolen passport and the staff went out of their way to be helpful.

Some cosmetic updates and a little more attention to cleanliness could make this a true gem in southern Phuket, Thailand.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knitterlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked this place for the views and were not disappointed. The pool was amazing, very clean. It is a very quiet place, even with the construction going on on the other side of the hill. We weren't bothered by a short walk to the beach, it is literally no more than 100 meters. The room had strange smell when we first walked in and the lady told us we would get used to it in 5 minutes. It took slightly longer than 5 minutes, but we did get used to it:) The bed was hard, however, we liked it and found it comfortable. The bathroom was clean. Service was very good, staff very polite. Would definitely stayed there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagMoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed 5 nights here, it is simple and older but very very nice. It is cheaper accommodation so you pay for what you get however the rooms are clean the linen is changed every day and the room cleaned. There is free wi fi and the views are honestly amazing. It is close to cheap food and the beach is perfect for our 2 daughters to surf. It is vey quiet for sleeping and the staff our very very helpful. The pool was nice but made my blond daughters hair go green! Ok for washing the sand off and cooling down after the beach. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathu hotels
5.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
5,515 reviews
8.7 mi away
Keemala
Keemala
#10 of 36 in Kamala
214 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#62 of 377 in Kathu
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Andara Resort and Villas
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delight Villas Kata Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delight Villas Kata Beach

Property: Delight Villas Kata Beach
Address: 186/15 Koktanot Rd. | Kata Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 285 Specialty Lodging in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Delight Villas Kata Beach Hotel Kathu
Delight Villas Kata Beach Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing