We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
97
6
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
6
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool partyother guestsswedish ownerbusy patongpatong arearooms are nicewonderful stayspent nightshostsmotorbikephukettaxiexpats
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 106 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

This was my 2nd visit to this very personal, friendly homestay. Met some lively people from, Holland, Sweden, Ireland, USA and Japan.
Great pool witth jacuzzi, lovely private surroundings,
ULF Is the hostess withe mostest, always on hand to take outvto beautiful near by restaurant Thong Dee, anf others, also srranges boatrip to a secluded island.
His new sound system is 5 star, food and drinks on hand too.
Room A and B , luxury, but a a solo traveller Room C with private bathroom is ideal.
A myst fot anyone wanting to stay and be looked after, all treated like good friends,
The local village near by is real Thai, with some very chea home cooked foods.

Ulf is a real professional know everything about Phuket, and is a fantastic host.

Weekly pool party is a must to get to know locals guys and fellow travellers.
Dance the night away, all you can eat buffet and endless supply of alcohol, making this a weekly highlight.

Its no wonder this was awarded 5 stars from TripAdvisor

Thank you

Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
3  Thank richardhochuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2015

There are few gay places in the world that measure up to the relaxed, informal and peaceful atmosphere of Phuket Gay Homestay. After staying one month we enjoyed the company of men from different parts of the world, the fantastic Saturday pool parties, the weekly beach excursions, the outstanding hospitality of owner Ulf and walking to the excellent local Sweedish restaurant Ton Dee. Did I also mention the outstanding visiting masseurs. For a very reasonable price gay men can be assured of a special stay in Thailand.

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2015

I booked this almost a year in advance without really doing too much homework! I should have done my homework!

First the positives-

Clean
Lovely Swimming Pool (very clean)
On site Thai Boy who prepares breakfasts.
Lovely eating area for breakfasts
Plenty of sunbathing space around the pool
Pool Party on Sat (although food was poor)
Owner was relatively friendly
Quick and efficient laundry service
Visiting Masseur- very good and cute.
On site drinks and reasonably priced.

However there are negatives-

The area where the homestay is requires you to spend a fair bit of money if you want to enjoy the gay nightlife in nearby Patong, Patong is 3-4km away but you need to get a taxi in and out again and taxis are 300 baht in and often 400-500 baht back and that's before dinner and drinks so it makes a night out pretty pricy.

The area where the homestay is located is in a poor neighbourhood, authentic yes but travellers who are younger may be put off by the poverty and dogs they see roaming the streets.

Poor choice of eating establishments- No coffee shops either.

The owner and his partner live in the adjoining villa but have four kittens who wonder in and out of the homestay which I think is wrong - as somebody who is afraid and allergic to cats this should not be allowed and they should be allowed to enter the homestay area let alone the actual house

Older cliental and better for couples, if your travelling solo it's best to stay in Patong where there is probably more single guys and a better place to meet people.

All and all a pleasant stay but not five star, as a single traveller I would not recommend the homestay.

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank dumasalexLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2015

If you love being close to night life, but not live in the midst of it, live in a cozy friendly setting - then you'll love this place. No need to go to Patong - once a week the party comes to you :)

A beautiful villa turned into a five room "HomeStay" (Bed and breakfast) with a nice large pool (that won't bleach your skin as it's salty water) in a rural area but very close to really good food ('Mom's thai 'hole in the wall') and Thong Dee. 10-15 minutes from both Patong, and Phuket town.

Once a week a pool party with barbecue with locals and visitors, as well as a weekly outskirt to a new secluded "gay beach".

Room Tip: Single, look for room C or D. Couple or companions look for room A, B or E.
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwedishClobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

I checked in on Saturday 6 and was greeted with a warm welcome by Ulf and Boy, the owners. The party just started with a great atmosphere of chatting, swimming, drinks and great food. Sunday was rainy day, despite it was nice being next to the pool, relaxing, reading and even swimming as it's was not cold. Dinner at Thong Dee Swedish mixed Thai restaurant. The food was excellent with the presentation, details, taste and service. I went back on Thursday. Beside I tried different local restaurants mostly every evening with Ulf. The atmosphere in the guesthouse is very cosy. I really felt at home with no restrictions about timing. With the vast choices on Tv channels and movies, the rainy days passed smoothly. Swimming at anytime in the noiseless environment. It's the end of my stay and for sure I will come back. I enjoyed this relaxing week that I needed.
All the best to Ulf and Boy.

Stayed: September 2014, traveled solo
Thank Mahadowa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews