We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kalima Resort and Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kalima Resort & Spa
Ranked #58 of 384 Hotels in Kathu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here in Dec 2012. Location is not ideal but they have a shuttle bus to take you to the city. Staff are lovely and helpful but would I stay there again probably not. I would find something next to the main attraction area but if you want an nice hotel in an OK area and good value for money then this is one of the options. The pool is brilliant and the food was nice and the hotel is very modern and clean. The hotel was still in soft opening so there were a few unfinished jobs that are probably done by now. Where ever you stay in Phuket you will have a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor P, Manager at Kalima Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Mona L,

Thank you for choosing Kalima Resort & Spa, Phuket for your recent stay.
We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.
Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Kalima Resort & Spa the next time.

Best Regard,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
There are newer reviews for Kalima Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 766 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

I had a peaceful enjoyable stay at the Kalima with very little to either complain or rant about. The rooms are clean eventhough the cleaners never come at the same time every day which can be a pain sometimes if they decide to show up during your morning shower.

Patong Beach is just far enough away to avoid all the drunken rowdy Australians and it is a nice day trip to the beach for a massage, swim or just to lay in the sun. I would recommend this hotel if you want a peaceful vacation.

Room Tip: Check out the view before you accept the room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rigcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stay in this hotel for short vacation with my wife. I will give 5 star rate for this hotel in every aspect and definitely will be my first choice for the next stay. They have very fluent English speaking staff, make smooth check in and check out process. Room was excellent, clean and spacious. Come with nicely furnish room, good quality flat screen tv set. The toilets were spacious, and clean. The only problem with this hotel is limited car parking area.
I really enjoy their buffet breakfast. Wide option available with friendly staff will assist you.

Room Tip: They provide shuttle bus to Patong beach. Get your schedule with the receptionist.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maran_maniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor P, Manager at Kalima Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear maran_maniam,

Thank you for choosing Kalima Resort & Spa, Phuket for your recent stay.
We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.
Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Kalima Resort & Spa the next time.

Best Regard,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Some good & bad points to consider . . .

Good Points
1. The hotel is new
2. The view from the Sea-view rooms is spectacular, best i've seen in Phuket.
3. Rooms are clean & modern, as expected of a 5 star resort.
4. Check-in is fast & smooth
5. Check-out is fast smooth

Bad Points
1. The hotel is not in Patong Beach area as stated in the hotel address, it is approximately 3km from Patong Beach
2. The hotels shuttle bus service to Patong is only 3 times per day, last bus leaves the hotel at 5:00pm . . . so if you miss the last bus be prepared to pay extortionate taxi rates :: Kalima Resort to Patong Beach area - 300thb :: Patong Beach to Kalima Resort - 300thb (600thb round trip)
3. The resort has very bad signage, most guests are lost trying to find their rooms due to the lack of clear signs to their rooms or even back to the lobby area.
4. Be prepared to climb many stairs due to the bad design of the hotel layout, things get worse when you're lost trying to find your room.
5. The breakfast menu does not change. same thing every morning.
6. The hotel charges 1,500thb for visitors who you may want to bring to your room, regardless if its your mother, father, brother, sister, grandmother . . . or even if its only for an hour ,,, you get charged 1,500thb !! ,, Beware, this is not mentioned during booking.

Good resort . . .

Room Tip: Take a Sea-View Room . . . its a must, otherwise you may be looking out of your balcony and electric...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller121277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Kalima resort is a great escape from the hustle and bustle of Patong. The resort is situated a the side of the hill, so walking up to the hill was a bit of hindrance. This was a minor issue. We stayed 2 nights in total in a deluxe sea view room.If you want even better view, u can book grand deluxe view which entitle u a private pool. The infinity pool at level 2 was magnificent accompanied by the pool bar. A good place to relax if you have no other activities to do. Room service and housekeeping was prompt and we pay the staff tips for their hard work.The seaview is simply fabulous and looks unreal at night. Breakfast was good and sumptious but not much variety(past 2 breakfast with the same menu. The famous Indochine restaurant was just few walking distance away.

I was dissapointed that the artifical beach and the mini golf was under renovation when we were there.Resort website should have stated that clearly. Travelling to Patong area was a bit of hassle as we have to book a cab or tuk tuk and it cost us min flat rate of 300 baht.

Overall it was a gd experience baring few minor issue. Would return back to the resort next time

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I checked into the resort on 13th June and checked out on 16th June. The resort is amazing. One of the employees " Amy " was amazing. We were tired when we came to the hotel to check in and Amy was sweet enough to upgrade us from a Deluxe Sea View room to Grand deluxe Sweet room.

The view from the room is stupendous and the hotel staff extremely polite

The only part which was not good was that I went to the reception to pay my bills on 15th June, 24 hours before I checked out and the hotel cancelled my wifi. When I enquired about it the hotel didn't have an answer. I had to go back to the reception ask them to reconnect the wifi

Room Tip: Far from the town.... Need to pay 300 Bath each way for the taxi in case you miss the hotel shuttle
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sats2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Yes it was raining a bit...but who cares...with that Seaview and the view of the whole Patong Bay Day and Night, we never had to leave the room. Well...we did, for food and happy hours at the main pool.

The resort setting on a cliff facing Patogn Bay, the welcome area was nice and breezy but as we go up exploring higher levels, it got better and better. The 2nd best punchline was the main infinity pool, and the best one was the view from restaurant.

Food was fabulous; the best was the square pizza with Chicken Tikka. Breakfast was great too.

Having drinks by the pool was the extreme BLISS.

Service was a true 5 Star - We didn't expect such service because the resort is not branded or anything but from the talk with the General Manager, he put his whole life worth of hotel experience into the service of this 1 year old resort that he ran from the start.

Room quality was A M A Z I N G - I booked on asiawebdirect.com and got upgraded to the Double pool honeymoon suite, and it was just amazing, full seaview from the bed, own plunge pool with Jacuzzi jets, private seaview infinity pool stretch across all double pool honeymoon suites, flat screen LED in the suite could have been bigger to match the room size - if you do care about watching TV series at night as much as we do.

Kalima will be one of very few resorts that I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: If I can recommend a room in this resort I would say 7105 - Double pool Honeymoon suite with enlarge...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsp10260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor P, Manager at Kalima Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear lsp10260,

Thank you for choosing Kalima Resort & Spa, Phuket for your recent stay.
We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.
Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Kalima Resort & Spa the next time.

Best Regard,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathu
16.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
2.6 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,021 reviews
16.7 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalima Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalima Resort & Spa

Address: 338/1 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Kathu
#44 Luxury Hotel in Kathu
Price Range: $107 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kalima Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star luxurious contemporary resort nestled on a lush jungle-clad hillside. Home to some of the most beautiful beaches, Phuket island is a tropical haven blessed with perfect sea, sun, sand and liveliness. At Kalima Resort & Spa, located on the picturesque western coastline of Phuket with just minutes from the famous Patong beach, 190 exquisite contemporary architectural style rooms and villas welcome you along with 220-degree panoramic view of Patong bay and endless horizon of Andaman sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kalima Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalima Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing