We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay!”
Review of The Palm Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palm Retreat
Ranked #276 of 514 Kathu B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I booked a 4 night stay over at this hotel as the location stated in booking.com showed it was convenient to get around Jungceylon and Bangla Road. First pain, we drove around and the taxi driver couldn't find fit. He had to call the reception and they told him to stop opposite Holiday Inn Resort. Well, on the web there is 'The Palm Retreat' and 'The Palm Retreat Inn.' We were told to go to the inn as they said it's the same place. I really wondered.

When we arrived, the girl with large butterfly eyes asked us to pay immediately (we arrived at 11:30pm). I didn't mind paying then, however she said she will charge me 3% if I used a credit card! Come on, it was not stated on my reservation at booking.com! So, we decided to pay upon checkout and told her we are not paying credit card fees.

Got in the room, it was a nice room except the shower was not separated and the toilet gets wet everywhere! Headed to sleep, and here is the worst! The bed is ROCK HARD!!! It was terrible, felt like sleeping on the floor! We asked if they had a better room with a better mattress and they said all mattresses are the same. The guy with the blond hair tried to help us by putting up some blankets to make up for the hard bed, but it was not going to help....so we decided to sleep in and woke up with a sore back the next morning.

Next morning, we checked out. Never again.

Room Tip: Take the lower floor, no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vimal13, Owner at The Palm Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Sir,

We value your comments and will do our best to improve on all the issues mentioned by you. In regard to the mattress, I guess its a matter of individual choice as we never had any complain from any guest in the last two years.

Thanks and Warm Regards
Vimal Vij
Managing Director
The Palm Retreat Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 41 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

First, they placed us in a room on the top floor meant for more than 2 persons, right next to the generators. The room was so warm, the AC wasn't working and they told us there was no other room available. So fine, we thought we'd give it a while for the room to cool down and we went out to the town.

When we came back, it was still so warm and started surfing for other alternative accommodation nearby. After which, we went downstairs to the reception, told them we would like a refund and to check out. I think the manageress was there cause she immediately attended to us and changed our rooms. So much for "no other room available". Tsk.

The other room was slightly better but still this hotel is nothing like what is depicted in the pictures. On the second and third day, the wifi was down throughout. The television was not clear. The shower and toilet are not separate.

Overall, it was a terrible stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazcarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vimal13, Owner at The Palm Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest

We understand that you had faced certain issues during your stay, we sincerly apologies. However, would like humbly state that some times we all face issues with electrical items like AC, we always try our best to fix AC as early as possible but some days are unfortunate.

We have now tied up with an agency who will be available round the clock to fix electrical problems.

Thanks and Warm Regards
Vimal Vij
Managing Director
The Palm Retreat Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

It is a good overnighter to go when you are drunk. Its just a small motel. Towels had stains on it which i was not impressed. Internet speed was fast when it worked. Staff were helpful. I would not repeat.

Room Tip: No Elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firatataman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

First off no elevator. Torture going up and down those stairs. Took staff 2 days to change light bulb in bathroom. Shower didnt work and they refused to fix it. Dirty towels and bathroom. Would never stay here again. If by some horrible chance you found yourself staying here, avoid the 5th floor at least. It's more motel than hotel. AVOID.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Draper88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Would not recommend. Out of the way hole in the ground. Should have done more research. Give 1.5 stars. Surrounded by construction noise. Will never come here again. Patong in general is a cesspool. Can go out on the street with out being hassled by locals for taxi or ping pong sex show.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borderless1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vimal13, Owner at The Palm Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

We understand that you have been disappointed due to construction on a new hotel opposite side and construction on the main road and you have also posted photos. Let me clarify that the construction on the road is due to new pipelines been fixed by local authorities and the new hotel construction will be completed by end of April 2013. Some of these issues are temporary and beyond our control and therefore we strongly believe that the pictures posted by you are not appropriate representation of the hotel and its facilities.

Thanks and Warm Regards
Vimal Vij
Managing Director
The Palm Retreat Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Although hotel was small, my stay there was fantastic. The room was clean and modern furnishing and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is good as there were alot of Halal food places around so it was easy for me to find food. It was only about 5 mins walking distance to Jungceylon and Patong Beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those who are looking for a decent hotel. The only suggestion I would have is for the towels to be cleaner and thicker. Other than that I have no complaints...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yatylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel with the recommendations of our friends who enjoyed their experience here with The Palm Retreat. Immediately upon arrival we were greeted with a cool welcome drink and a hearty hospitality from the staff. The rooms were bigger than Holiday Inn or Ibis (previously we had stayed there) and the decor was modern with lots of space for your baggage. The location was indeed excellent as it was close-by to "All there is to see and experience in Patong" I reiterate that if location and hospitality with the touch of "Home away from Home" experience is indeed your primary criteria than The Palm Retreat scores a 9.8 experience with a touch of warmth and simplicity that this hotel offers!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank premnathan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathu hotels
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,105 reviews
5.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
2.2 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#62 of 386 in Kathu
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Andara Resort and Villas
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.7 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#54 of 331 in Patong
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palm Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm Retreat

Address: 231-233 Palmsquare, Rat-U-Thit, Pee Road | Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 514 B&Bs / Inns in Kathu
Price Range: $26 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palm Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PALM RETREAT is situated in the heart of Patong bay and the world famous beach. it is 5 minutes walking distance to the biggest shopping mall, The Jungceylon, and the night spot of Phuket, The Koi Bangla Street. Very convenient, clean surroundings, great hospitality and a peaceful environment without any bar/disco or a restaurant.."Home away from home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palm Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm Retreat Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing