We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst stays”
Review of The Palm Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palm Retreat
Ranked #255 of 504 Kathu B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the worst stays”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

First, they placed us in a room on the top floor meant for more than 2 persons, right next to the generators. The room was so warm, the AC wasn't working and they told us there was no other room available. So fine, we thought we'd give it a while for the room to cool down and we went out to the town.

When we came back, it was still so warm and started surfing for other alternative accommodation nearby. After which, we went downstairs to the reception, told them we would like a refund and to check out. I think the manageress was there cause she immediately attended to us and changed our rooms. So much for "no other room available". Tsk.

The other room was slightly better but still this hotel is nothing like what is depicted in the pictures. On the second and third day, the wifi was down throughout. The television was not clear. The shower and toilet are not separate.

Overall, it was a terrible stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazcarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vimal13, Owner at The Palm Retreat, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest

We understand that you had faced certain issues during your stay, we sincerly apologies. However, would like humbly state that some times we all face issues with electrical items like AC, we always try our best to fix AC as early as possible but some days are unfortunate.

We have now tied up with an agency who will be available round the clock to fix electrical problems.

Thanks and Warm Regards
Vimal Vij
Managing Director
The Palm Retreat Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
13
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

It is a good overnighter to go when you are drunk. Its just a small motel. Towels had stains on it which i was not impressed. Internet speed was fast when it worked. Staff were helpful. I would not repeat.

Room Tip: No Elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firatataman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

First off no elevator. Torture going up and down those stairs. Took staff 2 days to change light bulb in bathroom. Shower didnt work and they refused to fix it. Dirty towels and bathroom. Would never stay here again. If by some horrible chance you found yourself staying here, avoid the 5th floor at least. It's more motel than hotel. AVOID.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Draper88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathu hotels

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Would not recommend. Out of the way hole in the ground. Should have done more research. Give 1.5 stars. Surrounded by construction noise. Will never come here again. Patong in general is a cesspool. Can go out on the street with out being hassled by locals for taxi or ping pong sex show.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borderless1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vimal13, Owner at The Palm Retreat, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We understand that you have been disappointed due to construction on a new hotel opposite side and construction on the main road and you have also posted photos. Let me clarify that the construction on the road is due to new pipelines been fixed by local authorities and the new hotel construction will be completed by end of April 2013. Some of these issues are temporary and beyond our control and therefore we strongly believe that the pictures posted by you are not appropriate representation of the hotel and its facilities.

Thanks and Warm Regards
Vimal Vij
Managing Director
The Palm Retreat Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Although hotel was small, my stay there was fantastic. The room was clean and modern furnishing and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is good as there were alot of Halal food places around so it was easy for me to find food. It was only about 5 mins walking distance to Jungceylon and Patong Beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those who are looking for a decent hotel. The only suggestion I would have is for the towels to be cleaner and thicker. Other than that I have no complaints...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yatylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathu, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel with the recommendations of our friends who enjoyed their experience here with The Palm Retreat. Immediately upon arrival we were greeted with a cool welcome drink and a hearty hospitality from the staff. The rooms were bigger than Holiday Inn or Ibis (previously we had stayed there) and the decor was modern with lots of space for your baggage. The location was indeed excellent as it was close-by to "All there is to see and experience in Patong" I reiterate that if location and hospitality with the touch of "Home away from Home" experience is indeed your primary criteria than The Palm Retreat scores a 9.8 experience with a touch of warmth and simplicity that this hotel offers!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank premnathan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

room is modern. nice little balcony.. put together nicely.. but small
tiny, not much space to open bags on the floor. but the tourqoise fridge was a nice touch.

staff doesnt speak english. but they try. i did not feel well and my gf ordered mcdonalds with their assistance.

kind of hidden spot. hotel is hard to find. taxi dove around for an hour. bring address or phone number.. but most booking sites will not give it to you

great location... close to everything.


hallway stairwell is all cement. no carpet at all. VERY NOISY. some guests arrive at 5am drunk.
loud clapping from all the shoes. at all hours of the day and night is very loud. install carpet!!
think. monty python.. clippity clop... clippity clop

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathu hotels
0.1 mi away
Limburi Hometel
Limburi Hometel
#190 of 322 in Patong
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baumanburi Hotel
Baumanburi Hotel
#183 of 322 in Patong
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Banana Leaf Hotel
The Banana Leaf Hotel
#57 of 221 in Patong
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crystal Beach Hotel
The Crystal Beach Hotel
#36 of 221 in Patong
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Terrace Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palm Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm Retreat

Property: The Palm Retreat
Address: 231-233 Palmsquare, Rat-U-Thit, Pee Road | Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 504 B&Bs / Inns in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palm Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PALM RETREAT is situated in the heart of Patong bay and the world famous beach. it is 5 minutes walking distance to the biggest shopping mall, The Jungceylon, and the night spot of Phuket, The Koi Bangla Street. Very convenient, clean surroundings, great hospitality and a peaceful environment without any bar/disco or a restaurant.."Home away from home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Palm Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm Retreat Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing