We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a find in Kata”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fantasy Hill Bungalows
Ranked #31 of 285 Specialty Lodging in Kathu
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A gem of a find in Kata”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Thank you Tripadvisor for leading me to Fantasy Hill! Without a doubt the best budget option in Kata Beach, we spent four lovely nights in a spacious fan bungalow and enjoyed our breakfasts in the reception area/garden. The owner was gracious and the setting was oh so relaxing and quiet yet only steps from the main tourist road and the beach. The room was cleaned every day. A real bargain for the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahl899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    21
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
28
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The rooms were clean, and had everything we needed
the staff were super helpful with booking tours and giving directions to local attractions
the breakfast was amazing and loved the free wifi
would definitely recommend this property for anyone visiting kata

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrynmkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here after a recommendation from our dive centre and it was perfect for our purposes. We paid 700 THB for an air-conditioned room, which was the same price asked by other, similar lodgings in the area, but Fantasy Hill offered much friendlier service and a much more comfortable bed. The aircon worked well, the bathroom was clean and there is a safe deposit box in the main house. They spoke good English, were friendly and arranged a taxi to the airport for us for less than we found offered anywhere else. They also stored our bags for us after check-out and offered us the use of a bathroom with shower for the rest of the day until our departure. It’s perfect for anyone looking for a clean place to shower and sleep in a convenient location. We’d definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamcaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. We arrived at almost midnight but the manager waited up for us and showed us to our room. It was very clean, we had hot water which we've missed dearly so was great to have a decent shower. You can walk to kata beach within 5 mins and karon beach within 10. Lots of shops around the get cheap beer and enjoy on the terrace infront of your room. The manager helped us booked a tour to James bond island and gave us a great price compared to the tour shops on the main street almost 500 baht cheaper each. She also booked us our boat to ko phi phi again at a great price. She let us put our belongings in a safe free of charge which meant we could swim in the sea knowing our stuff was safe at the hotel not waiting to be stolen on the beach. Overall if I came back to Phuket I would go back to Kata and this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Great place and value. We got a fan bungalow for 500 baht. Very clean room with a strong fan, hot water, and clean sheets. The woman, Bon, spoke good english and was very helpful when answering our slew of questions. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wickedbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Fantasy Hill several times... and it has always been a great experience. We enjoy the quiet beautiful garden and the nice clean and tidy rooms. We always rent a couple of MC's as the short hill up the bungalows are very steep. Very nice, quiet and private.... and very reasonable rates. Thank you...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Me and my girlfriend were travelling around Asia and didn't have a hotel for new years eve everywere was booked then we came across this hotel for 1000 bhatt a night what a bargain and the best of all the LOCATION right in the town centre ideal for the 2 nights we needed.Great if you are backpacking clean tidy air con works well and what else do you need ???will stay here again :-)

Room Tip: Go to the restaurant down the bottom of the hill and left FANTASTIC
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestrootever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathu hotels
0.0 mi away
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
#65 of 322 in Patong
541 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gallery Hotel
The Gallery Hotel
#19 of 407 in Patong
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tiras Patong Beach Hotel
Tiras Patong Beach Hotel
#13 of 407 in Patong
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La De Bua
La De Bua
#109 of 407 in Patong
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fong Kaew Mansion Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Wire Hostel Patong
Wire Hostel Patong
#12 of 221 in Patong
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fantasy Hill Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasy Hill Bungalows

Property: Fantasy Hill Bungalows
Address: 8 / 1 Karon Road, Kathu, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 285 Specialty Lodging in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantasy Hill Bungalow is located up a short driveway midway between Kata and Karon Beaches on the west coast of Phuket Island. A short 5 minute walk will take you to either of these great beaches. Leave the heat and noise of the street to enjoy our established property surrounded by mature trees. An oasis of green and quiet in a very busy resort area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fantasy Hill Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasy Hill Bungalows Hotel Kathu
Fantasy Hill Bungalows Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing