We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreal HARD but beautiful golf location”

Red Mountain Golf Club
Ranked #16 of 67 Outdoor Activities in Kathu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winding its way through a truly dramatic 1400 rai former tin mine site in the heart of Phuket, Red Mountain is one of Asia's most exciting new courses that officially opened in 2008. The course has been cleverly routed to take advantage of a huge variety of landforms and dizzying elevation changes. Scars left from the tin mine era have been imaginatively incorporated into the overall scheme, creating a unique character at the same time as establishing an indelible link with an important era in the Island's past. Designer Jon Morrow and co-designer Al Tikkanen, have created a highly strategic and challenging 6,900 yard lay out to complement the shorter and gentler Loch Palm which is next door. While the course is undoubtedly challenging, numerous risk and reward options create a fun playing environment, an exhilarating test of golf and a breathtaking scenic tour around a course that has become a golfing landmark in the region.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unreal HARD but beautiful golf location”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Go there is all I can say if you love a beautiful golf course. Take plenty of balls. The signature holes (yes plural) are specular. The caddies lots of fun. You cannot walk the course and once you start playing you can see why.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank agcsrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    45
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We played today at Red Mountain and " What a fantastic Course", challenging and beautifully designed and so well maintained. We are planning to play on Thursday again and I am really looking forward to it.
A little pricey but worth every penny. I would place it second to "Mission Hills" in Shenzhen, China in Asia.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ravi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely magnificient”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I had a great day in Red Mountain. The course is definitely one of the best I've ever played. Great layout and in very good condition all around.

The facilitues are first class and my caddie Pon was very accurate with green reading.

A bit pricey but worth every Baht.

Helpful?
Thank MaTaKoFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful and challenging but thorougly enjoyable...”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Played at Red Mountain Golf Club Phuket on 14 Feb 2014 when we booked a stay and play package with Tinidee Hotel. Would love to have repeat plays there soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank EstellaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“THE golf course in Phuket”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Played on January 1st, a great way to start the New Year ! It was my fourth round there over last six years, and Red Mountain remains my favourite course in Thailand. Hilly, tight and challenging, scenic and well maintained, it’s always a great golfing experience. A must play, definitely ! I booked again through www.phuketgolfcourse.com like all rounds (12) I played in Phuket, cheaper and smooth as usually.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AuldCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mountain Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Red Mountain Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing