We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!!!”

Red Mountain Golf Club
Ranked #16 of 67 Outdoor Activities in Kathu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winding its way through a truly dramatic 1400 rai former tin mine site in the heart of Phuket, Red Mountain is one of Asia's most exciting new courses that officially opened in 2008. The course has been cleverly routed to take advantage of a huge variety of landforms and dizzying elevation changes. Scars left from the tin mine era have been imaginatively incorporated into the overall scheme, creating a unique character at the same time as establishing an indelible link with an important era in the Island's past. Designer Jon Morrow and co-designer Al Tikkanen, have created a highly strategic and challenging 6,900 yard lay out to complement the shorter and gentler Loch Palm which is next door. While the course is undoubtedly challenging, numerous risk and reward options create a fun playing environment, an exhilarating test of golf and a breathtaking scenic tour around a course that has become a golfing landmark in the region.
Phang Nga, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!!!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Iv played and worked on some of the best golf courses in the world, and all i have to say is WOW!!! What a blast. Best golf course in phuket by far. i have play all of the courses down here plenty of times and there is no where else id rather go. If u r thinking about planing a vacation and like to would like to play golf i suggest u leave aside the time and the little bit of extra money to b able to play this truly world class golf course. One of the few golf courses iv been to or played where there practice facilities identically imitate the playing conditions of the course. Just watch the 17 th green. Its an outstanding par 3 ranks in the top 5 i have ever played but because it is cast over with a shadow most of the day it rolls significantly slower than all the other greens ( which all seem in perfect harmony to me). Like they say never up never in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank F0r3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    45
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice NICE Course”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely Course with some scenic holes and memorable views.
It is an expensive course to play, BUT it is worth playing. Higher handicaps may have a hard time on the course, but just don't take it too seriously and bring plenty of extra golf balls.

The Caddies were pretty good and added to the enjoyment of the day however as it was low-season and the course was almost empty, I did feel a little rushed through the course and had to slow our pace down a bit. It was almost like a game of speed golf at times.
I thought the locker rooms and bar would have more to them for this price-range of course. The Locker room was a shower (Not the best water pressure) and that was it. No Suana/baths etc.
No Shaving cream to shave (These are very small things that other courses offer and just a "mention").
The Bar also lacked a wide selection, but so do all golf courses in Phuket.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great Layout - fantastic mixture of open holes with shorter strategic par fours. Not inexpensive but reasonable value for money. Challenging greens in good condition. Great happy and helpful caddies, wonderful course marshals ensuring that faster playing groups were pushed through. A great experience. I would come back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Paradise is the only word for it”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was the third course I had played this week in Phuket. The other two, Laguna and Mission Hills were great but this course is on a different level. It is easily the most stuning course I have played anywhere. I did think Ria Bintan was superb, and it is, and I also think Mission Hills is amazing, but this is awe inspiring. Every hole is challenging and the scenery matches the holes. There are plenty of water hazards along the course and it has bunkers to trap the wayward drivers. If you can hit straight, you will be fine. Miss the fairways and you will be in trouble with either your ball swimming or going for a jungle expedition. The views from every hole are amazing to say the least. I thought the first par 3 hole on the course was great but it was nothing cmpared to the 17th par 3. You hit to a green that is close to 180 yards but you play to 130! There is a 70 meter drop from the tee to the hole. Before you even hit the ball you are overwhelmed by the sheer majesty of this hole.
A tip for all players. Make sure you take a camera and photograph every hole. It really is that type of course.
I played by myself and my caddy Rom was fantastic. She was knwledgeable yet had a great sense of humour which made for a great day. She seemed to take a liking to my wife who accompanied me but did not play. The good natured banter between the two was great fun. My wife had her own buggy and driver and she too thought it was the best course we have ever been to,
The staff were great from the moment we arrived and guided us to all the facilities. Take a change of clothes and utilize the excellent change rooms. We had a drink in the bar when we finished and the costs of drinks were similar to the resort we stayed at.
Golf is not cheap in Phuket as you need to pay for the game, the caddy, the cart, a companion if one goes with you, and then the tips for the caddies.
I think it cost about $300 Aussie dollars all up which included the taxi from our resort ( the taxi driver waited for us whilst we played) which is expensive for a game but the experience is unforgetable.
If you only play one game of golf in your life, play here. It is that good. I will certainly play it again if and when we return to Phuket. I might even make a special trip back just to play it.
In summary, it is to golf what Dom Perignon is to champagne, what La Tour D'Agrent is to restaurants, what Rolls Royce is to cars !
Make sure to take that camera and don't rush. Just enjoy the most breathtaking course I have ever seen.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The 'Must Play' Golf Course In Phuket!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Fantastic layout and a course in magnificent condition. But best of all, a friendly welcome from well-trained staff and caddies who have been properly trained in golfing etiquette.

Forget the supposed reputation of Blue Canyon (great layout, badly maintained, unfriendly welcome) - Red Mountain is the course to play on a visit to Phuket

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FGreen1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mountain Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Red Mountain Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing