We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, especially for vegetarians” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of sorrento pizza

sorrento pizza
Ranked #580 of 774 Restaurants in Kathu
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, especially for vegetarians”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The chef (owner?) and some of the staff are reputed to be vegetarian. In any case, this was one of the few places we ate during our recent trip to Thailand where we did not have to explain what we meant by wanting vegetarian food.

They messed up some of orders but this was soon rectified.

We liked the food overall though some in the group felt the pizza crusts were undercooked.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BayAreaGuySanJose_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    15
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Dont bother, we went as it was raining, food was shockingly bad - if they had it!.. had to work our way through the menu until we found what they had in the Kitchen.
Ordered wine, they had non that was on the wine list, then had the face to offer us the only bottle they had, the bottle that is on the mock table in the street... joke, absolute joke.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have walked past the restaurant a few times, and the pizza looked good, so we decided to try it out tonight. Got a table fairly quick, but it took a while before they came to take our order for drinks. When the waiter finally came, we ordered both drinks, springrolls as starter and 2 pizzas to share.
After about 30 minutes we had finished our drinks but food had not arrived. We got one of the pizzas - and by then we told them we did not need the starters anymore. The first waiter did not understand english, so had to call for another. If he understood we do not know ,as we got our springrolls between the first and second pizza...
We had to wait 5-10 min more for the next pizza, and as we sat just next to the chef we could see they had both of the stone oven heated, but used only one for some reason.
When the parmaham/ruccola pizza came, there were no ruccola, and when we asked for it they could tell us they did not have ruccola. No big deal, but they could have told us when we ordered.
Bottom line - pizzas good, service: need to improve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GroINorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great pizza and good service. We went to this place just the once, but had we stayed longer would have gone back for more!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pdmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“We walked out we were so tired of waiting for our first course”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate here once and the food was reasonable - although the staff had trouble understanding both English and Italian - I would say the staff here had the worst English comprehension of any bar or restaurant we visited in Kata despite being a 'European' restaurant.

On the second occassion the whole restaurant appeared to be in chaos. Our waiter kept disappearing, it took five attempts to explain that we wanted a bottle of house red and a bottle of house white, it took 15 minutes before we got wine and glasses and he managed to open the screwtop bottles.

We had to ask for knives, as did the family on the next table, but we did get given two napkins each!

I think our mistake was not ordering pizza. We ordered three first courses and four main courses. The garlic bread arrived very quickly but after half an hour we had not received any other first courses and the garlic bread was cold. All the waiters seemed to be wandering around but there was no food being delivered. Also a chef was constantly walking in and out of the restaurant, perhaps he was looking for our food.

After having waitied for so long with only one first course, no explanation from the waiter and no-one else being bothered we walked out and gave the European man at the front some cash for our wine - we think he was the owner/manager but he didn't seem to do anything other than wander around aimlessly.

If you want to eat here order pizza and beer - otherwise you could be waiting a long time.

After we left we went to Buffalo Steak house and had a great meal with good, efficient, quick service and cheaper house wine!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sorrento pizza also viewed

 

Been to sorrento pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing