We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach holiday on a budget”
Review of Lucky Guest House

Lucky Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucky Guest House
Ranked #299 of 513 Kathu B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Just what I needed - a clean, cheap room, friendly staff, shops and beach nearby. Shower was cold, but I was normally coming straight back from the beach to wash off anyway, so that didn't matter. Restaurants, including Lucky's own cafe, just minutes walk away.

Kata beach is about a 10 minute walk away (try to take the road - the little laneway to the beach is no quicker, and goes straight past a sewer - yuck!).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 8 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

We went here on the recommendation of many expecting to find an affordable friendly place for two or three nights. What we ended up finding was a total rip off and rude staff. On our walk to Lucky we passed several other nicer places offering rooms for less! And when met with a bad attitude after a long day we gave in to the over priced bungalow. Everyone says the staff is happy to help but when we tried to book a cab to the airport they charged us almost twice the price we found at other places! I do not recommend staying here or even on this beach, it is to expensive and not nice!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hdayglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Stayed for nearly 3 weeks, in aircon bungalow. Rooms and bungalows are dated, but cleaned everyday, fresh towels also. It is located on a busy road but set back so that it's very quiet throughout the day and night. Situated centrally you are only seconds away from shops, supermarkets and restaurants. And the beach is a 5 minute walk. There is also a restaurant/cafe on site which has very good food, European and Thai kitchen is catered for, but very nice, clean and reasonably priced. The guy that runs it, Joejo is great, he is out to make money, for sure, everyone here is but he is very trustworthy and will sort anything out for you, taxis, boats, day trips etc etc. All in all a Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

very basic bungolaw, do not expect anything fancy.. But I think the relationship price quality is very good..
It takes around 10 minutes to get to the beach and it is located just off the main street, so you are in the middle of the city but the bungalows are not facing the street therefore the place is very quiet!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

having trawled kata for budget accomodation in the under 1000 baht price range, the lucky guest house comes in at the very top, with spacious, motel style air-con rooms at around 500 baht in high season, and fan rooms around 400. worth going for an air-con room as this also includes a small fridge.
lucky is well run, and is kept spotless, worth mentioning that your room will be cleaned every morning, thoroughly.
there are some bungalows outside the main guest house building which i havent seen, but the rooms within the guest house are great, spacious, light and all i believe with balconies, i opted for the main building as i felt it was very secure.
its possible to bring food back from the night market and eat on tables in the massive common room, using dishes provided, but this is far from a great night market, better option is to ask at reception for a good real thai restaurant, not one of the more touristy and bland options which pack the streets of kata.
a very good hearty and slightly pricey breakfast can be had just outside the gates to lucky at the coffee pot, a samll aussie eatery.
the lucky guest house rents bikes and can book most of the normal travel requirements for the lazy traveller, and as a huge bonus the guest house is built on a huge plot of land in the heart of kata, which means plenty of secure parking.
we found the staff very heplful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank donsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Stefan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBxxRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathu hotels
1.2 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,133 reviews
5.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
2.4 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#65 of 386 in Kathu
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Andara Resort and Villas
1.0 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#53 of 331 in Patong
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Guest House

Address: 74/32 Nanai Road, Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150 | Kata Center, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 513 B&Bs / Inns in Kathu
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Lucky Guest House Hotel Kathu
Lucky Guest House Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing