We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place, horrid beds. Ok as a 2nd option.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sensive Hill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #245 of 384 Hotels in Kathu
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The arrival, I emailed and confirmed a pick up van on our arrival. 2.5 Hrs later, no news we took a taxi.
No biggie we spoke with the manager (oh yeah the front desk is not always open so if you need something you'll need to walk around to find the staff ).

The place is nice and quiet that is a great point but it is hard to find, so our cab driver took a long time to find the place as well as at the tour pick up vans (30 min late). Is near the KATHU waterfalls entrance road, going north 500 mts to the left there is a small café and 2 roads going up hill, take the one that says private road.

If you are traveling here is a map how to get there from the airport:
http://goo.gl/maps/ZUpD7


The beds are rock hard, since is just a 15 cm matters on top of a wooden plank, lets put it this way, sleeping in the carpet floor in your office would be softer.

So if you need a rest this might spoil your holiday BIG time.

On the bright side, the staff did try to help make the bed a bit softer with extra bed mattress, they are very nice people even their english is not that good, but try to make things good for the guests.
Being high season and all we decided to stay in the hotel, since we were looking to have a quiet holiday even that it was over the new year.

Our last day our flight left at 10pm, we were allowed to keep the room and car until 6pm we finished touring the island, take a shower and have a driver drop us at 7.30 to the airport.


Sensive Hill is worth a try, but be warned: the beds are a rock.

Other stuff we found out:
The breakfast is nice, very homely like cuisine. Room service has a 10% fee.
The driver rate for one way trip is B700.
Car rental is available, but no gps. They rent us a Toyota Corolla for B1500 per day, and since the air-con didn't work we got a discount, so it was also ok.
The pool closes at 7pm, is clean and there is a bar in the poolside.
Great breeze and view. Can sleep with windows open, just put a mosquito repellant.
Kathu waterfalls is less than 15min drive north.
Nearest 7-11 is a good 20-30 min walk away. After 7.30 pm there is a night market, food ok but a bit iffy. English not widely spoken there.
Near Khatu Shooting range so in the day you can hear the gun shots, not loud at all, but sounds as wood being chopped. Not disturbing.
Formerly known as the Photographer's house so there are pictures all over the place. Mostly of women portraits around the hotel and rooms.
If the management purchased better mattresses, definitively would make it a great resort.

Room Tip: Any rooms in the second floor and up will do. All beds are rock hard, so you might not have a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sr_Kiasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 29 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

This obviously once quite stylish small hotel is a little off the beaten track and suited me as it was a family visit and relatives lived nearby. It's seven miles from Patong, lively, boozy, Blackpool-meets-Southend and then some, not my cup of tea but I imagine could be fun especially the Bangla Rd full of risqué and sports bars. Anyway Sensive is sprawling lots of stairs and stairways with two pools, one of which is quite big the other smaller but ok. It's low season and quiet, not many guests, lots of very separate rooms, some seem very large...suite like.there's no restaurant available, but it might be it's because it's low season. It was very reasonably priced on Hotels.com @£24 a night. The place is just a bit tired, the staff I met immensely friendly and very,very helpful. You'll need a hire car or taxis 'cos it's a schlepp to go anywhere. Loads of restaurants within 10 miles from the exotic to the inexpensive, all good in their own way. Room wise, a very hard double bed, brilliant for me with a bad back, but might not suit everyone. Some toiletries and fluffy white towels, with large pool towels also on offer. Cleaning of the room was faultless, the room's air con was fine, but it's worth learning in advance it's functioning. Wet-room style bathroom, fine a bit worn. It's all tiled and hard wood flooring again great for the climate. You get your money's worth but you'll need to be a bit self sufficient. There's a large fridge and bottled water provided, no tea nor coffee making facility and no restaraunt on site makes needs in that department unfulfilled. I'll be back 'cos of family commitments and I'd happily use it again but I know to get a hire car . If you don't like loads of steps and stairs you might struggle.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank TrueBlueRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I actually traveled there on Sept 2011 but it still seems like yesterday because we had the most memorable time there.

Although it's a a little far from Patong area, where it's the most happening in Phuket this hotel is really quiet and serene. Nice to be away from the hustle and bustle when winding down. Located at a hill top the view from certain spots in the hotel is really beautiful. Rooms are clean and spacious plus very well decorated. There's even a really huge bathtub. Breakfast is yummy too!
The service of the staffs there are really good as they are friendly and helpful. We had a few hours to kill after check out on the last day, they allowed us to leave our luggage there and took care of it for us. Really thankful for that!

We rented a motorbike from the airport and rode it all the way to the hotel. Renting bike is cheap there and this form of transportation will help you cut down your transportation cost. With the bike it's easy to get around from the hotel to various places.

Definitely will go back there to stay again the next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MookieSze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

If u are looking for somewhere quiet, this will be the place to stay. Room was clean and nicely decorated. Service was excellent. It is quite far from the happening part of phuket. But u can easily ask for taxi. Just go to the front desk, n they will sort it for u, anytime n anywhere u wanna go. Breakfast was really delicious. U can choose ur omelette, bread and juice. Definitely will recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azmnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here only one night in order to catch the early morning ferry the next day. The architecture and decor of the hotel is beautiful. However, I expected a bit more comfort and hospitality. The bed in our room was the hardest, most uncomfortable bed that I've ever slept on - it was literally like sleeping on the floor. The bed also only had two small, cheap pillows. I've come to expect better quality bedding from hotels in this category and price range. The staff during breakfast also lacked grace and the hospitality that Thailand is known for.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for extra pillows, unless you're okay with just two small pillows on a giant bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angirutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The rooms are nice and spacious and tastefully decorated. The hotel is quiet and on a hill top. However, it is far from everything and you will get ripped off when you order taxis at the front desk.
Breakfast was just ok.
Nice swimming pool.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Baby80_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is really very romantic, stylish and ideal for couples, with spacious rooms, big bathroom . The location is rather distanced from the beach, but if you take some transport or bike the distance is not an issue.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoliaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hollywood Inn Love
Hollywood Inn Love
#136 of 329 in Patong
70 reviews
1.6 mi away
MAI HOUSE Patong Hill
MAI HOUSE Patong Hill
#48 of 329 in Patong
44 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Sea Pearl Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Serenity Hotel Phuket
Serenity Hotel Phuket
#82 of 511 in Kathu
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orchid Kathu Heights
Orchid Kathu Heights
#368 of 511 in Kathu
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#313 of 511 in Kathu
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensive Hill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensive Hill Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 79/67 Moo 6, Tambon Kathu, Kathu, Phuket 83120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 384 Hotels in Kathu
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sensive Hill Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sensive Hill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensive Hill Hotel And Restaurant
Sensive Hill Hotel & Restaurant Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing