We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Dive Den

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dive Den
Ranked #101 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Although the name doesn't give it a great first impression I really couldn't fault this up-market hostel. At first we weren't too keen to stay in a dorm in Asia but there were no other affordable double rooms in Patong, Phuket so we risked a 5 bed mixed dorm at £5 or £6 each a night. The place was a bit hard to find (behind the main shopping mall on the main road) - it's next to Banzaan market but there's also a market with the same name in Phuket town which is bigger so local people thought we meant this one. If you visit the Dive Den website you can print off a map from here and it's pretty straightforward to find it yourself.

We weren't too sure that we were actually at the right place at first because it's actually a dive shop run by a family and they've opened up the accommodation above the shop. Our room was on the top floor but they don't have a lift and it's quite a lot of flights of stairs to go up with a heavy backpack! At the top you come out onto the roof terrace where the dorm rooms are. The white room was spacious with 3 single beds on one side and 2 on the other, shelves above each bed and pale green curtains that you could pull around each bed for privacy and it was so clean it sparkled! It looked a lot like a hospital ward actually! There were 2 big fans on either wall, a fridge, a TV and a bathroom. The door also had a mosquito net door outside so that we could get some extra air in at night. We were very surprised at the place being so lovely and didn't regret our decision to stay here at all. In fact we liked it so much that our original 3 night stay turned into 8 nights!

We took a trip to the Phi Phi islands in between our stay and when we came back we upgraded to a double ensuite (about £15 a night) which, again, exceeded our expectations. We were only on the second floor this time so didn't have so many stairs to walk up. The room was the quality of that in a 3* hotel. A huge comfy double bed, bedside cabinets, a desk and mirror, a big TV and our own bathroom, plus a balcony adorned in beautiful colourful flowers, and again, spotlessly clean.

As I said above the den was across the road from a big market which sold mainly clothes and shoes - so cheap we could have re-filled our backpacks. There were also a few bars and restaurants along the same short strip of road as well as a 7/11. Across the street past the market was the main shopping centre which had lots of restaurants and cafes including Starbucks, KFC and pubs like the Hog's Head (not what our idea of Thailand was!). Entertainment was held in the middle of the centre in an open area. On the other side of the mall is the main road and Bangla Road which is the main street for entertainment in the evening. If you haven't been to Phuket before you may get quite a culture shock here with a lot of Thai ladies dancing on tables in bars whilst showing off their male private parts! If you're not warned of this in advance and end up taking your kids there they may have quite a shock - there were several children we saw who looked very confused!

Just past this road is the beautiful beach and lots more shops.

The only problem with the hostel was that the staff couldn't speak English too well. But for the accommodation you deal with the owner who understands the basic stuff. You can also book tours from here and you get picked up from outside. The absence of a lift was a problem as well as a guy who was staying there passed out and he had to be carried out on a stretcher which was obviously a huge pain carrying that down the stairs and my husband had to help out.

Overall, we couldn't believe that a small, cheap and tucked away hostel like this would be so lovely. If we ever go back to Phuket, and hopefully we will, we won't even bother looking at anywhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsAylasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 35 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2009

My stay at Dive Den was one of the best of my trip so far. I stayed in one of the dorm rooms, booked from HostelWorld.com, and met some great people, one of which I ended up hanging around with for the next 4 days.

The owner is very friendly and her son very cute! They will help you with anything and we found they have the cheapest tour prices for hotel guests.

The rooms are basic, but very very clean. There is five floors, the dorm rooms being on the top floor, so not recommended for disabled people.

Other than that, it was fantastic, and I would recommend paying them a visit! It made my stay in Patong, Phuket worthwhile!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geordieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

Dive Den is a fantastic place to stay. 5 mins from the beach, clean and beautiful rooms. The owner, Aoh is a very helpful and always around if you need anything. From washing to clean towels she is always at hand. Highly recommended, especially as it is so cheap! 10/10 a must visit if your in Phuket and want to be by the beach

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank victoriaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

The Dive Den is an extremely good deal for the independent traveller. It is in a decent location and has extremely nice and clean rooms.

Now, it is called Dive Den for the scuba diving shop it also runs, not because it is a dive! It is a privately run guest house that only has about 8-10 rooms (on a few floors).

The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk from the Patong Beach, and about 2-3 minutes from a major shopping mall (that includes Carrefore, restaurants, clothing stores, and a movie theater). It is also within a block of several good restaurants.

It is also extremely nice and clean. The double room has a king-sized bed, satellite TV, mini fridge (about 1.5" cubed), a place to hang clothes, and a full bathroom. (As a note on the bathroom, the shower just drains into the bathroom - like many parts of Asia. I included a picture that shows this.) It is also has a few aesthetic touches, like having pale green walls (instead of the normal white), pictures of diving scenes, and window coverings. The rooms are also cleaned daily, a nice perk compared to other guest houses.

The only negative would be that this is truly for an independent traveller. The reception is really one man who runs the scuba diving store and tour desk on the first floor. Getting additional information liked recommended places to eat or how to get to a certain place are not very helpful (although he is nice when telling you). It was also a little confusing for them for us to add an additional night to our stay, though it did work out ok. But the accommodation itself is a really good value for the Patong Beach area, though you will have to be a little independent in finding your own attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TTUClarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Shawty2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emrah_drakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leocubalibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,257 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#50 of 331 in Patong
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#17 of 232 in Patong
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.9 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 331 in Patong
3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dive Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dive Den

Address: Nanai Rd 74 / 33, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Price Range: $24 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Dive Den reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dive Den Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing