We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never stay at the nilly marina inn.. phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ocean Patong Hotel
Ranked #283 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stay away from this hotel. we booked it in a rush when our first accommodation fell through. It looked great in the photos on the website.When we arrived it looked like a demolition site. We had trouble getting our bags in the door as we had to step over broken tiles and bags of concrete.There was no air-con in the foyer so was boiling. No one was on the dingy desk. While we waited for someone to come out we started talking to a visitor who had just come back to his room to find his safe open and all passport and money stolen. We were getting worried but we went up as it was 10pm at night. He took forever to open the door and told us the room didn't lock properly due to renovations. There was no sea view just a view of a tin roof. There was no restaurant and said no food was served there. Also no pool!!
When we told him we paid for breakfast he looked confused then finally said go to the cafe down the road. he said we were to tell them where we are staying and they'll look after it.We decided to go for a walk and when we returned our safe had been moved (luckily we decided to take money and passports with us) We didn't sleep due to works late at night and were freaking out. The next day we went to shower and there was no hot water. We checked out immediately and had to foot the cost of alternative accommodation. But we could not stay there. We complained but their English was limited and said we had to go through the company we booked through. Never stay here. We paid $44 per night for a dump.. We had to leave. We then checked into a beautiful large resort with a large pool, friendly staff, buffet breakfast and had the best time for only $6 more a night. It was 100 times better. Do ya self a favour and keep looking. This place is a disaster and i wouldn't stay here for free!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhiannon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 119 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2011

at first glance this hotel looked good for the price - beach views, fairly comfortable bed and a tv. we decided to book for 3 nights. on the second day we left the hotel to get breakfast, leaving our precious belongings behind just incase we decided to go for a swim at the beach. we returned an hour later to find that the bag that contained our passports, bank cards and a lot of money had been stolen. we approached the staff and told them of our find. they were not very helpful at all. the cleaners followed us up to our room to have a look around for it - nothing was found. they then called the manager who took over an hour to arrive - he also did nothing. eventually they found the bag behind the front desk. the passports and bank cards were there but the money was gone. we then asked the staff to phone the police - police arrived but they were not legit. they did not have badges, they were not in uniform and they were very rude. they also wanted to take dodgy photos of us reaching for the bag from behind the desk so that it would look like it was us that found the bag. nothing was done so we just left. they said nothing as we left - not even sorry. and they did not refund us our money for the two nights that we had booked but were not staying for. DO NOT STAY AT THE PLACE.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank monica27433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

This is a small, third-rate bargain hotel in a great location. I usually love these, but this one was filled with mosquitoes -- especially in the lobby. There was mold on the walls and the rooms smelled of mold. Just not healthy. The backpackers that I've stayed at for 1/4 of the price are much nicer.

We had a confirmed reservation for 3 nights in a "deluxe view" room, but when we got there, they had the view room only for two nights. The last night, the room didn't even have window -- it looked right at another building. We couldn't tell if was day or night. Also, the shower water was either scalding hot or icy cold with nothing in between.

However, the location was excellent and the staff was very nice. I love bargains, but I would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JuneB_Escalante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Website photos were a little misleading as the superior room offered was small and dark due to a high wall within a few feet of our window, allowing limited light and airflow to enter room. The small bathroom window opened onto the back of dirty smelly pipes. Twin beds were requested and only a double was available. Inn was fully booked so upgrade to a room with at least some sunshine coming in was not possible. $1000 baht deposit for a safe key (needed to operate in room safe) was a bit steep. Restaurant on roof had basic but nice meals, however was not open on Saturdays and only open from 10am - not helpful if going on tours and leaving 7 or 8 am. 24hr reception is left unattended at times. Pool shown on website is only available 2 doors down at another resort. Found cheaper and better accommodation round the corner Only plus points - free internet, quiet end of Patong, staff pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItchyfeetAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

While on our honeymoon, we were supposed to fly to Koh Samui on 9th November but was diverted back to BKK airport due to flooding - so we decided to try Phuket. We had our laptop, but couldn't find any wifi in the airport, so had to use a hotel booking service. We were promised a "Seaview Deluxe Room" at Nilly's.

It was nice to be at the South end of Patong, however when we arrived, we realised immediately that the 1500bht could have been spent MUCH better elswhere through agoda.com or similar. The hallways were stuffy and filled with what seemed to be extra beds. The room was small, with mould oh the ceiling, however there was an in room safe (which you pay 1000bht deposit for the key which is returned at the end of your stay) and the aircon worked. I opened the curtains expecting to see the ocean - which was there , but obscured by a huge Family Mart sign. This gave us no end of amusement. By this time, so many of our plans had changed, we just laughed. For reference, don't ask for room 217! The bathroom is very average, and the shower head is abut shoulder height to me (5ft 5), but is detatchable, so you can make it work. The water never gets really hot, but at least there was warm water.

The rooftop bar/restaurant is lovely, though, with gorgeous views of Patong Beach (which is literally across the road (A major plus).

There is a family mart directly downstairs, you can have laundry done in the area, and a restaurant that has nice food next door. We couldn't stand Patong, however, so decided to move up to Kamala for 2 nights before our flight to Samui.

I would recommend this for people who want something really basic, aren't on their honeymoon, or backpackers who want a big more than dorm/share accom. I would book online, though, not at the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peteandtrisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Very nice view and placement. free internet to compare with another hotels (RM10 per hour). have a Roof top cafe (very nice view). Super nice room (thailand decoration)

Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
Thank abdulhafiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 19, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.1 mi away
Patong Swiss Hotel
Patong Swiss Hotel
#233 of 329 in Patong
161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Priew Wan Guesthouse
Priew Wan Guesthouse
#129 of 329 in Patong
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Orchid Inn
Grand Orchid Inn
#154 of 329 in Patong
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bed Time Patong Hotel
Bed Time Patong Hotel
#190 of 329 in Patong
1 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#67 of 329 in Patong
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Benjamin Resort
Benjamin Resort
#257 of 384 in Kathu
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Patong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Patong Hotel

Address: 22 24, 26 Thaweewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Nilly's Marina Inn)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $14 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean Patong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Patong Hotel is located on the southern end of Patong Beach, just 10 metres from the shore. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi. Featuring modern Thai decor, the air-conditioned rooms come with cable TV, a safety deposit box, and tea/coffee making amenities. Each room has a private bathroom with shower facilities and a bathtub. The Ocean Patong Hotel is a 10-minute walk from Patong Shopping Mall, nightlife, restaurants and bars. It is 45 minutes' drive from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Ocean Patong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilly`s Marina Hotel Patong
The Ocean Patong Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing