We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value in Patong”
Review of Kaya House

Kaya House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaya House
Ranked #180 of 406 Patong B&B and Inns
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good value in Patong”
Reviewed March 2, 2011

The owner/manager, a very pleasant woman named Kaya, works incredibly hard to make sure you get everything you need, including travel tickets and information. Rooms are clean, many are small, but comfortable and the air - con actually works. In many places it seems to be set on a governor, so you can't get it below 80, which feels fine when you walk in from the street which is 90, but not fine later. Rooms clean, price good, and they never try to take advantage of you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckriesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2010

I booked a balcon night room at this place at least 2 months prior to arriving and also asked for the guesthouse to arrange for someone to pick me up at the airport. I paid 2 nights deposit. I got neither of what I asked for.

So, being a solo traveller and the first time that I have visited Thailand, needless to say that I was not impressed. I had to race around that night to find another place to stay and nearly everything was fully booked. I was lucky to find the last room in one hotel. The guesthouse was not helpful at all in trying to find me another place to stay.

Really awful experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marble13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patong hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

I read about this place on trip advisor but turned up late at night so stayed at a bigger and more expensive place on first night.

Afterwards, I went looking for this place with my girlfriend. When we found it she was not keen - it looks like a house front with some shabby hand written signs outside.

Eventually I convinced her to enquire, which we did and were surprised at how nice and friendly the staff were. They spoke mainly to my girlfriend in Thai - they were also fluent in Hebrew and English although I was happy to let them chat away in Thai while I used their free internet!

We saw the rooms - they are fairly basic but are clean, are not tiny and have everything you need. Large fridge, TV, air con and nice en-suite facilities. These rooms are not 5 star hotel rooms, they are basic guest house rooms. If you plan on spending all day in your room (why?) then you could go somewhere more comfortable but will pay much much more for it. They are also cleaned immediately upon your departure to wherever you are going in the morning which is very pleasant and you can use their (limited) kitchen facilities for free too.

The staff here are great.
The rooms are not luxury but are comfortable, clean and have everything you will need.
Location is great - close to bars restaurants and the beach.
Price is amazing - we paid less for 5 nights here than we did for 1 night at a local big chain restaurant which had smaller rooms and way worse service.

If you just want a nice comfortable bed in a clean room with totally great staff in a great location this is it. And remember - its so cheap it's hard to get your head round it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry_Onads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2009

All I can say is after all the good reviews I was looking forward to Kaya House. After paying double what was on offer from a normal taxi to get transferred to the house we were lead to a place that looked nothing like what we expected. We are uni students who had been travelling Thailand on a budget and were not happy with paying more at this house for what cannot even be called second rate accommodation. We saw what was on offer and left, only to be abused by the staff via email in the coming days. We ended up finding cheaper accommodation around the corner on the main street in an established hotel for less.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johny565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

This lovely guest house is located at the Patong beach and it is next to the Chhabad house. Although it is not very easy to find the place. There is a narrow lane next to the small football field that connects this guesthouse to the beach.

Kaya house is probably one of the best places in Patong, if you want are on a very tight budget. You could get a room here starting from 300 B to 500 B.

The best part about the Guesthouse is the staff, there is a lady called Aeh who sits at the reception. She goes out of the way to help the guests. You can get all the information about phuket from her. The guest house can arrange day trip bookings for the guests at probably the lowest rates in the entire of Phuket!!

The rooms are basic, although neat and clean. All the rooms are air-conditioned, with private bathrooms and running hot water. You can access the internet for free, at the guest house.

All in all, excellent guesthouse and superb value for money.

Stayed March 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank RealtravelMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Been there on March 2009, and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are clean, have everything in it (hot shower, excellent cable tv, refrigerator, air-con, etc.), the staff is very friendly and helpful and the price is ridiculous for what you get. The stuff is also very professional and will give you great travel tips, the tours I booked from them were great and really enjoyable. They have an exclusive fishing trip to the owner's private island. Highly recommended. This trip is different from all the other trips.
The location of the guest house is great 'cause you can get from there to all the main things you'd need like shopping, beach, road, massage, restaurants, etc.
I absolutely LOVED this place, and I will surely stay there again next year (hopefully).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LazyInRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

I had a quickie vacation in Phuket, so therefore i chose Kaya. Just like other review, this paticular guesthouse is very clean. I got quite a big room, since i was traveling alone. they got hot shower, cable tv, air cond, and so on. The staffs were very nice as well. It was short trip but very memorable. They can arrange various kind of tours to do in Phuket, that what makes it even more better since i didn't have that much of time. Overall, i like it in Kaya.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cebolzappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Austrian Garden Tai Pan Village
0.1 mi away
Swiss Palm Beach
Swiss Palm Beach
#65 of 321 in Patong
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thanthip Beach Resort
Thanthip Beach Resort
#124 of 321 in Patong
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ibis Phuket Patong
ibis Phuket Patong
#51 of 321 in Patong
1,451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
#43 of 321 in Patong
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya House

Property: Kaya House
Address: 52/24 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 38248, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 406 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaya house is a friendly guest house, clean, safe, great value-for-money, situated at Patong, the most beautiful beach on Thailand's idyllic Phuket Island. You'll find everything you need just a few steps away.All the rooms in the guest house have air-con, tv, hot shower and a mini refrigerator. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaya House Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing