We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average ”

Sam Chor Restaurant
Ranked #247 of 796 Restaurants in Patong
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 10, 2019 via mobile

Price is cheap compared others. Waitress recommends bbq seafood.
I order boil cockle calm, not fresh.
Somtam lao style, disappointed.
Raw prawn salad, 6 small prawn for 150bt.

I spend a lot of time in thailand, i consider this meal to be velow average even with patong standard

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank missylulu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 80 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2018 via mobile

Another restaurant which serves amazing Thai dishes in Phuket! Good food which is delicious and fast and friendly service! The restaurant is huge and very very spacious! Must try this place if you are in Phuket! No regrets!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank puhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

We have been eating at Sam Chor's for over 5 years. It is our 'go to' restaurant in Patong and we can't recommend it enough. If you go back to the same place time and time again you are bound to have a mediocre experience once in a while but we can honestly say these are few and far between. The restaurant has recently been extended and has doubled in size, the old single dingy toilet has been removed and replaced with separate male and female toilets which are some of the best toilets we have seen in a restaurant in Patong. If you do go make sure you try a yellow curry powder dish.... don't forget the powder bit otherwise you will end up with a standard yellow massaman curry. Enjoy!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Ross_and_Sonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Very very delicious food. Every dishes I ordered are very good. I ate there 3 times for my whole 4 days trip in Phuket. Prices are cheaper compared to those seafood restaurants along Patong Beach. Seafood is fresh and portion is generous! Love their fried fish the most! So many choices in this restaurant. Hope to try as many as possible!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank stevencI8157TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2018 via mobile

I’ve been coming here on and off for the past 8 years and, contrary to what one reviewer noted, it’s not a place foreign men bring their Thai ladies; it’s a place where Thai ladies like to bring their foreign men. That’s because Sam Chor started out as a hole-in-the-wall Isaan soul food restaurant serving authentic Isaan food to Isaan women working far far away from Isaan. That was it’s niche and what made it so good.

Somewhere along the line, Sam Chor started to capitalize its accidental popularity among foreigners. It’s now open 24 hours to cater to the late-night bar crowd, it’s staff boast Sam Chor T-shirts and the menu has exploded to include a variety of dishes from all around Thailand and beyond. Fish and chips?!

Needless to say, the kitchen’s talents remain confined to Isaan and Phuket, so if you want to sample the best of Sam Chor, stick to those kinds of dishes, fresh seafood and BBQ, som tam and the wide range of Isaan specialities buried in the menu. Better yet, get a Thai friend to order to make sure you’re getting something authentic.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank warnold29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Chor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sam Chor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing