We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pretty good, ony a few glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
Ranked #19 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pretty good, ony a few glitches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

A group of us stayed here for eight nights, during March. The hotel was very clean and well designed and the housekeeping was very good to. There were only two minor problems, but they were only the result of communication promblems and wouldnt affect anyone wanting to stay here.

The breakfast was ok not the best buffet breakfast i had, the eggs were not cooked and the bacon was fatty and the thai dishes were not tasty, so i stuck with the banana bread( you can get very good food at the resturants, for mexican lovers reccomend BBQ hut which is just around the corner from the mercure and is very cheap it also does american breakfast).

The pool is very pretty but the water stung your eyes and the pool upstairs was apparently worse, so just dont open your eyes under water and you will be fine. The bar service in the downstairs pool was good, but the upstairs service was shocking would take way to long for drinks even though noone was up there.

Overall its a good hotel and worth a visit

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvs2_travel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    947
    327
    110
    60
See reviews for
675
1,004
143
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyvinkaa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

We spent a two weeks holiday in this hotel, three persons in two rooms. This hotel was classified as a 4 star hotel and we were satisfied with it. Good location and taking into account the local standard it is quite OK. On average, we can recommend this hotel. As being primarily not a business hotel but a holiday resort with normal holidaymaking voices this a not a bad choice. Not only a room with breakfast but slight luxus, too.
In general the Thais are very nice and friendly people and have to say that the staff in this hotel did not be any exception. In every situation and with every issue they were very polite and helpful and we really felt to be their guests. For example, we had a problem with our safety box in the room and it was fixed in one day.
It was rather the fault of the travel agent that we were not considered as a family and those our two rooms were reserved in different parts of the hotel. However, the hotel staff was very helpful and they promised to try to arrange two adjacent rooms as soon as it would be possible (the hotel was fully booked) and this happened after two nights.

Nice and spacious rooms with daily cleaning. More storage for clothes would be a plus for a longer stay. Additional towels and rubber slippers for pool area use were a big plus.
Soundproofing between the rooms is OK but the doors are thin and without any sealing and all voices from the corridor were passed through. You can hear almost every door closing in your corridor and if it is done like the Korean group did it (not only closing but slamming the doors) it is disturbing especially during the nights. Luckily they did not stay many nights. Anyway, should not be too big investment to add sealing that would reduce remarkably the noice from the corridor.

Breakfast buffet was very good with variety of dish and certainly everybody can find something to eat here and have a good start for the day. You don't need to eat same food every morning and this was a big plus for two weeks stay.

We knew that there is a gym in this hotel but it was even better than expected. Not any first class gym but spacious, well-lighted (outdoor view) and air-conditioned room with good basic equipment.

  • Liked — Hospitality, breakfast, pool area
  • Disliked — Door soundproofing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptke135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolmpton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2008

This is a very nice hotel... a bit expensive... so you get what you pay for.
too many rooms, even though small, very modern design....
feels like a middle income group apartment complex at times.


The swimming pool and adjoining bar is very nicely designed...even though it can get crowded and noisy at times.

Bummer Alert: This hotel is definitely not for single guys... they charged me a joiner fee (1500 baht) when a friend wanted to join me for the night, even though I had reserved and paid for 2 people.
Staff was very inflexible, and I didnt want to argue too long about it in the middle of the night.

Overall, I think this is a good place for families who don't mind spending a little extra for comfort and are okay with being 10 mins walk from the beach and 20 mins from bangla road...shopping only 5 mins walk away.

  • Liked — small but nice rooms
  • Disliked — 1500 baht joiner fee for 2nd person, even though room was booked for and paid for 2 people
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank disperspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2008

Stayed here with my girlfriend from 8-13 December. Online booking through the Accor website and check-in went smoothly. First impressions were good.

The room still had that “new” feel to it and was quite stylishly finished. There were signs that the building was hastily completed eg. floor tiles not quite lining up, bath wasn’t square etc. but I guess that’s to be expected with so much construction work taking place in the area. A wide range of television channels were available, including live English premier league games for those that like football. Everything in the bathroom worked well with good water pressure etc. As with other reviews, a room overlooking the pool is a must.

We didn’t try any of the food from the hotel and the breakfast seemed overpriced considering what you can get by just walking across the street to a restaurant. We quite often brought food back to eat from street vendors and they didn’t seem to have a problem with this. The balconies have a table and chair and was a greet place to relax and eat.

The pool was very nice and clean and there always seemed to be deck chairs available. For much of the day some of the deck chairs were in shade which was nice when it got too hot. The swim-up bar had a good range of drinks and was not overpriced. The rooftop pool area didn’t seem to be completely finished but was nice in the evening. I never had a problem with mosquitos despite the surrounding areas.

The hotel is away from the busiest area of Patong and just a 5 minute walk to the beach and even less from the markets with a convenience store out the front. The hotel is also in handy location to travel further down the coast to Karon, Kata etc. which in my opinion are nicer beaches. Some of the staff had poor English and seemed a bit clueless. This wasn’t a problem for us but may be a problem if your English also isn’t very good. I guess this will get better over time.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and I wish we stayed longer. I would recommend anyone to stay here, particularly while the hotel is still new.

  • Liked — Hotel is still new and very clean, nice pool
  • Disliked — Staff need a bit more training
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank wylergnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K.Lumpur
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2008

Mercure Patong Phuket is nice and new hotel, hotel room just nice, majority room are pool view, the swimming pool was nice n clean, the pool sidebar services was good too! The BBQ dinner(especialist on every Fridays) on the roof top, with a nice price n yamee......seafood all are very fresh! beside the hotel do have a 24hours store. The beach only walk about 5-10minute. Hotel just nearby a night market too. On the 3rd floor of hotel do have a gym room. I will stay there again in the future trip!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth,Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed at the Mercure for Christmas 2007 and enjoyed our experience there. This is a new boutique style hotel and the room standard is very good with LCD tv's and a very well laid out bathroom. Most of the rooms overlook the pool which is excellent and the best feature of the resort.There is also a plunge pool on the roof terrace and several landscaped quiet areas away from any noise where you can relax with a book. Request a pool view when booking as some of the other rooms have ordinary views of buildings or brick walls. We had a request for a pool view and were given a room on the other side of the hotel but we were moved the following day overlooking the pool. For their first Christmas the hotel coped quite well with the Gala Dinner but some of the staff seemed to be having a difficult time with drink orders but this will get better with time. Breakfasts were above average and served in a lovely restaurant but Thai's seem to have a problem in being able to cook a sausage as none of them ever seem to have any colour, in fact the ones you can buy from a street vender always look much better.
One funny experience we did have was a total alcohol ban throughout Phuket because there was an election being held. Yes, I did say ELECTION. The lady in the lobby bar said (with a smile) that we could have vodka with lemonade, obviously because it looked like water. Very odd seeing people sitting in bars drinking Softdrinks. I would totally recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Liked — Pool area, New Hotel
  • Disliked — Sausages (same throughout Thailand)
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Guvner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2007

Location: Nice new hotel near the Holiday Inn. Seems to be on the slightly quieter side of town. There is a nasty looking river directly behind the hotel. I could not tell if it smelled or not so that was good. There was a lot of construction going on next to the hotel (right next to our room) but we were not in the room during the day and left early the next morning, so I do not know how much of a problem this would be for the typical guest. It seems like they have a good reputation. Our van driver did not want to drive us directly to the hotel because of the maneuvering he would have to do to get back out of the area, but once he realized where we were staying he wanted to drive right up. I think this hotel is in a nice spot if you are planning to stay in Patong. I think we paid just less than $100/night USD with tax and everything, so it was not a bad price to pay for a later booking at this hotel.

Room: Oddly lacking in attention to details. It seemed as though they may have rushed toward the end of construction especially in the bathroom (see shower photo). It is hard to believe the shower would look like this when the hotel literally just opened. The bed was slightly more comfortable than the hard Thai beds, but it was still pretty firm. We had absolutely no view…none…not even of the pool. We basically faced a white wall from the other building and there were some white rocks where a planter should have been. Pretty disappointing that they could have angled it differently to avoid this situation. It looks like 99% of the rooms have a pool view with just a few in these weird spots. The room was smaller than the other hotels we stayed in but they did provide nice robes…and slippers but they never fit. The bathtub looked very nice but neither of us used it. The automated wake-up call system had me nervous but we got a call so all was good. We had some suits dropped off at the hotel and it was nice that security walked the person to our room and escorted them out.

Pool: We only spend one night here to be closer to the airport on our return trip home so we did not use the pool. It looked very nice with a lot of loungers and some beds. They could really have some nice stuff in the rooftop pool area….dancing, etc. after the hotel gets more established.

Food: Breakfast is not included as it is with other hotels. We went and checked out the morning buffet but it seemed quite overpriced for what they were offering. The buffet seemed to have much of what is offered at may of the included hotel breakfast buffets, so we were not willing to pay the high price.

Just a Couple Problems: I was not impressed that they charged me for a phone call that never went through. I even explained that I dialed the number twice and it did not go through (as evidenced by the roughly 10 seconds recorded). Even when I explained the situation they looked like they had no idea what I was talking about and left the charge. Maybe I am wrong but I have never been charged for a call that did not connect. Also, watch out because there are these patches of tiles in the hotel that are extremely slippery. I almost fell a couple times because they are so slick. I cannot imagine how it would have been if they were wet after the rain.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.7 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#29 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
0.5 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#24 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong

Property: Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
Address: 239/14 Raj U Thid 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Patong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#13 Spa Hotel in Patong
#16 Family Hotel in Patong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location in central Patong City and only steps away from world-famous Patong beach, shopping center, night market, and Phuket 's bustling nightlife. Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong brings its distinctive style and contemporary lightness to the otherwise down-to-earth in Patong. With 249 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, Orientala Wellness Spa treatments, offbeat dining experience of an original Thai & International Cuisine at the Phuket Cafe in Patong area, astronomical-themed leisure activities and hi-tech meeting & seminar facilities, the Hotel is a highlight in itself - and a must-stay for individuals, couples, families and business travelers on vacation in Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Patong Phuket Hotel Patong
Accor Patong Phuket
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing