We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and pool, thats all it has”
Review of Patong Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patong Resort
Ranked #53 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location and pool, thats all it has”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I spent 3 nights in this hotel. It is a "ok" hotel but doesn't worth the price.

The rooms are old, the beds were not very comfortable, the restroom is good but the shower is like 1.5m high, it gave me such a hard time when had to wash my hair.

What is unbelievable is that we are paying around 200 USD per night the room does't have wi-fi and it was full of mosquitos when we arrived. If you want wi-fi you have to pay 14 USD per day.

The good things about this hotel are the two pools that are quite big and the location. It is very close to the main street of the town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JoseFadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    448
    163
    52
    56
See reviews for
162
337
100
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is our second stay in Patong Resort. The hotel is quite clean and is located in the middle of the action so to speak. At the same time it is not at the Beach Road so it is quite protected from outside noise. The stuff is friendly and the service is good. Some negative points I'd like to make:

1. No free Wi-Fi in the room. You can purchase an internet access pack but Wi-Fi signal in the room is very poor. We bought 7-day access pack but ended up getting a refund as it was unusable. There is free Wi-Fi in the breakfast area but everywhere else including hotel lobby you have to pay for using internet
2. Bed was horrible. It was so firm we had a feeling that we were sleeping on the dinner table
3. Breakfast was quite ordinary.
4. Soundproofing - we stayed in the room that had interconnecting door to neighbouring room. The door was obviously permanently locked but we could hear our neighbours as they were in our room. Moreover when someone in their room was smoking cigarettes our room was smelling like an ashtray.

I guess the place is OK as it offers good value for money but it is not a "resort" - no way

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boris_K52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We set out for a family holiday, 8 Adults and 2 kids and were looking forward to our holiday in Phuket.

Boy, did they manage to mess up our stay and new year holiday.

I understand that the check in time is 2 PM , our flight landed in Phuket at 5:30 AM and the hotel receptionist was a very cordial lady and said she would try to get us a couple of rooms by 11 AM. We had a couple of kids ages 6 and 2 and our grandmother who was 85 as well with us, quite naturally they fell asleep while waiting for our rooms, only to be shouted at by a waiter for falling asleep!! We complained to the receptionist who spoke to the waitress. Not really the best way to set an impression, only to see the waitress smile at us once we wanted to order some coffee and biscuits for the family!

The rooms although spacious has the most basic facilities. Everything came with an extra charge. Internet (available free at all restaurants and massage parlours) was 390 Baht per day. Using the locker in the room was 55 Baht per day. When we asked for a couple of extra tea bags per day even though we offered to pay for it , we were refused.

The beds were the hardest you could sleep on and each of us got up with a bad back every morning. We were glad the massage parlours were right in the corner to help us get back into shape. 5 of us got rashes and are pretty sure there were bed bugs on our mattresses.

The New Year's eve gala was the biggest scam of all. It was mandatory to pay for the "gala" dinner... 4400 Baht per adult and 3300 Baht per kid. We expected the best entertainment, food and drinks! They managed to give us the worst entertainment,food and no drinks!!

For starters, they had singers who were lip syncing to songs of the 90's, had a rather large woman lip sync in a really disgusting revealing dress. The best part of the show were the folks on the 5th floor who were putting up a show from the balcony. For 4400 baht there was free alcohol for half an hour : 6 PM to 6:30 PM!!!

If the sham was not enough,, 6 of us from our group of 10 fell sick that night after we had the dinner served. We restricted our food intake for the rest of the trip.

All in all a very bad experience and I would urge everyone to avoid this hotel. I am heading to Phuket again in the next 6 months and I shall be sure to look for other places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel should be banned from staging events as they haven't a clue how to entertain people especially New Year's Eve. The band ?? finished playing at 11.30 so they could eat and the guests were put through half a hour of empty stage until midnight. The buffet was 4400baht and was 75% finished when we had our turn at 20.00.!!!!!!. Imagine at midnight there was no wine offered to the very few people remaining most had wandered into Bangla road to join the festivities there. Last year on New Year's Eve (2012-2013) a stupid raffle was offered to the guests which offered guests hotel towels to lucky winners and other similar stupid prizes. Summing up this hotel couldn't organise the proverbial p.... up in brewery and I would think very carefully before you pay big money for function there as the food and beverage manager obviously doesn't know how to entertain mostly western people

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank happy_viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay at Patong Resort! It is in walking distance to everything, yet the resort is set back off the road so quiet enough to be able to get a good nights sleep. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Only negative was our room was on the 3rd floor so walking stairs every day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammi1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very nice hotel close to shopping and restaurants and pleasure.
The room was perfectly cleaned and it was never croudy around the pools.
The breakfast was of ordinary standard but the service in the breakfast room was splendid.
I enjoyed my two weeks stay here.

Room Tip: I lived in wing 2 which was good - close to the pool and to go on walks in the surroundings of Paton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here for our first trip to Thailand..... Absolutely loved it awesome size rooms massive pool and beeakfast area! Breakfast buffet was awesome heaps of variety to chose from. The location was perfect walking distance to everything. The beach was only a 5min walk. We have just booked our next trip and have booked this hotel. Loved it sooo much we are bringing our two kids and my parents :) would deffiently recommended to people I know !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracyphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#25 of 322 in Patong
1,272 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 322 in Patong
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 322 in Patong
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Resort

Property: Patong Resort
Address: 208 Raj-Uthit 200 Pee Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#35 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An Idyllic Family Resort at the heart of Patong"Patong Resort Hotel is a superb resort that occupies one of the best locations in Phuket. Set close to Patong Beach, the resort is ideally situated for an enjoyable island holiday with the whole family. Although the resort is just a few minutes walk from the beach, great shopping opportunities and Patong’s famous nightlife, guests may not even wish to leave the grounds of this fabulous property. The resort’s extensive gardens and numerous high quality facilities and attractions provide fun and excitement for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Hotel Patong
Patong Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing