We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay at Salathai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salathai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salathai Resort
Ranked #19 of 396 Patong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another great stay at Salathai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

One year has passed since my first visit, and my return trip only reinforced the comments made within my initial review, of last May. Suffice to say that the welcome received makes you feel that you have been staying at the Salathai for many years. Sunny on the front desk, with her team of Sak, Noi, and Zen, made every trip past the front desk, an opportunity to share a laugh with whoever was on duty. They really are a credit to the hotel, as being the front line staff, a good impression is gained from the outset, due to their overall demeanour, nothing being too much trouble for them.
My room was kept immaculate throughout my stay, fresh towels continually being provided.

The restaurants, at breakfast, having a more than substantial range of food and juices, with Kiew providing a friendly face in the morning, instructing me on how to ask for tea with milk in Thai.

The evening restaurant provides a good selection as well, again served in a very friendly manner by all the staff. My drink of choice whilst in Phuket, namely Jim Beam, is served in generous measures at two thirds the price charged in the bars.

Personally I feel that this hotel provides excellent value for money, and I will be making this my home from home in Phuket twice yearly from now on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alancham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    114
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
50
142
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast, USA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I've stayed at the Salathai for 3 years straight now for my April trip. This stay was better than the last 2.
I'll get the negatives out of the way first. The bed is very hard, same complaint as last year. The shower takes a long time to get hot water in the early hours.
The positives are many; the staff is fantastic period, everyone was simply terrific. The environment is very relaxing. Even the children in the pool were well behaved and not noisy. The grounds are beautiful. The pool is immaculate and inviting. Breakfast was very nice every morning. The location is out of the noise and steps to the beach. Even the businesses around the hotel seemed to improve a little; better personality.

Room Tip: They have a number of rooms with double beds. If you want a king you will have to be specific and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greywolf8577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We arrived to this hotel after one night in other Patong hotel and we found the paradise. We could not believe such relax place was located just a few minutes walking from the busiest streets and from the beach of Patong. The staff helped us to have a beautiful stay. Moreover, we were upgraded to a superior room without any extra charge. The restaurant is also excellent. We tasted one of the best pad thais of our jouney.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arroyo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmore, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our stay at Salathai was excellent, we booked a Deluxe room and were upgraded to a Suite, the staff are so friendly and helpful, breakfasts offered a lot of choices, the location is perfect, we really loved all the beachfront restaurants at the end of the street (Wai Thai,Chez Bernard, Sabai Beach).
The only downside I could say was the water in the shower was not hot at anytime during our stay and like every other bed in SE Asia it was hard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenamyGoldCoastQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've been travelling to Patong since 1997 and stayed in many of the mid range hotels there. The Salathai is now my 'go to' hotel in Patong.

The location is perfect for nightlife and the beach. Staff are great, very friendly and helpful. Rooms are generally very good, I find the upstairs rooms a little quieter than the pool side rooms. The pool itself is excellent.

At the price point, the Salathai is very hard to beat and I will be back in October.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveSPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is situated a few minutes from the beach. Close to all the activity happening in Patong, walking distance to the mall, yet when you are in the resort, it is not over crowded with people and you feel like you are in a quiet resort but yet you are in the middle of it all. The rooms are spacious, the bar fridge stocked every day free of charge. The staff are really friendly and the price is reasonable. On check out they gave us one room to shower before heading to the airport for free. All in all a great experience and i will be back next year for sure!
There is a massage parlor right across from the hotel, really cheap and just the most amazing people working there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPTboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

the hotel is situated 4 min walk from the beach, 2 blocks down from Bangla Road and in between 2 major shopping streets. It is simply situated perfectly. It has the friendliest staff in Thailand and it was such a pleasure coming "home" to the hotel every day.. The rooms are spacious and aircon is cold. Across from the hotel is the loveliest message parlour that took care of our feet and bodies after a nights shopping. I will stay at no other place next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.2 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#6 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#24 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
0.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.0 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#58 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salathai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salathai Resort

Property: Salathai Resort
Address: 10 / 4 Sawatdirak Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Salathai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salathai Resort's decor throughout reflects the Thai theme with clean simple lines that ensure relaxing ambiance with our 41 well-appointed guest rooms, outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, kids' pool, in-house restaurant & bar, tour desk, room service and Internet corner. Salathai Resort is your perfect choice for real relaxation during your wonderful vacation in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Salathai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salathai Hotel Patong
Salathai Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing