We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Salathai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salathai Resort
Ranked #27 of 420 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We've been 2 weeks in Salathai resort without any kind of problem.
The staff is friendly as well as professional.
It is located 200m from the beach and about 1km from Bangla Rd (the busiest road during the nightlife in Patong).
Rooms are big and clean and they all have a balcony.
Pool and jacuzzi are a perfect place to relax yourself.

It was our second time here... for sure there will be a third !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank el_sadistico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 350 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

I am in two minds with this hotel, the staff are excellent, the hotel location is two mins from the beach, and about ten to Bangalore road, so it's perfect.
The things I didn't like was there is no where to chill out, they have to many tables in both sides of the restaurant, even a table nearly pushed upto the bar, which doesn't make the bar look inviting, and they could remove a few tables and put some loungy couches in there, would make it, before I leave I will mention it, it's only cosmetic so do let it put you off , the rooms are very clean, with most overlooking the pool area, the pool I thought was to deep I think they should come upto chest height the was above me mouth( I am short though lol)
Anyway I would recommend it, easy fixed !

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Again, it was no surprise to see nothing has changed with the friendly staff who remember us from previous visits. We like the quiet surroundings with the main action only 10 minutes walk to Bangla Road. We wanted to go last month but the hotel was full, so we postponed until we gould get in. We see the same people coming back year after year so don't just take my word. It is not super flash but neither are the prices & we would not consider staying anywhere else. I think my only criticism is that the public computers and/ or the internet connection is very slow. The rooms do have internet connection but I prefer to leave my laptop at home. We can't wait until next year. We usually stay in the low season, not for cheaper prices but to escape some of our cold winter. We see more & more Aussies chosing to stay there but don't let that put you off - we don't bite.

Room Tip: We found it better to pay a little extra for the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks during Australian July school holidays. It was only a short stroll to the beach and the beach restaurants. We had great help from all the staff, and could not ask for more. The only down side was the hard beds, but that was soon fixed with a couple of calls and underlays were soon bought to the room.

The pool was a great place for all of us to meet at each day, as there was a group of 25 of us all staying in the one place. The one thing that really stands out is the size is not overbearing, as it is small in rooms, but great in location and price.

There is also 2 computers in the foyer with internet access, but with the free wifi, that is all we needed.

There is always a tuk-tuk just up the road and bikes for hire as well. There is also a free transport to the shopping centre twice a day, which would save you 200 baht. We found that it only took about 15 mins to walk there, so never used it.

Would definately stay there again, as the staff were so friendly, we could not want for more.

Room Tip: The stairs are quite steep in comparison to a normal size step. But as there are only 3 floors, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank begatatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Fantastic boutique hotel in the middle of Patong. Only 43 rooms, beautiful pool and gardens. Staff here are fantastic, you could not fault them. Minibar was included in your room price (no alcohol), and airport transfers were also included. The only fault with this hotel was that the shower, ran hot/cold or was just cold, but I would definitely stay here again. Awesome hotel for a fantastic price. Totally recommend.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are on the ground floor, whilst superior rooms are upstairs, no elevator, although only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Salathai Resort is a very nice hotel and only a three-minute walk away from the beach. The pool and the pool area have a very pleasant atmosphere, so has the complete hotel. Our room was big and very clean. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good and we liked it. Free internet and free water bottles every day. There is nothing we can complain about! You can really enjoy your holiday there and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerdF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We only had one major issue with this place: the A/C.
Like many other places removing the key switches off the power to the A/C. This is fine as long as the A/C has sufficient capacity to pull down again when the power is applied. This is definitely not the case at Salathai. Despite running the A/C a full power from 9pm, we never got below 26C all night and morning.
When I buy a room with A/C I want a comfortable temperature. 26C all night is simply not good enough. If that means the power has to be on all day then so be it. If that means the room charge has to increase then so be it. Selling an A/C room, and only supplying 26C at best is not good enough.
Other than that the rest is OK. The staff were very friendly with the exception of the reception manager, ms. Sunny, who was rather rude and arrogant. When adressing an issue with the service, we were repeatedly told "It is not my problem". She did solve the problem in the end, but the attitude was not very welcoming.
Because of the A/C issue, we will definitely not be back.

Btw I don't know why this is listed as a B&B. It is definitely a full service hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peejay_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0 mi away
Beyond Hotel Patong
Beyond Hotel Patong
#105 of 334 in Patong
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 334 in Patong
1,759 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 334 in Patong
6,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#49 of 334 in Patong
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#26 of 237 in Patong
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salathai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salathai Resort

Address: 10 / 4 Sawatdirak Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 420 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: $1,800 - $6,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salathai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salathai Resort's decor throughout reflects the Thai theme with clean simple lines that ensure relaxing ambiance with our 41 well-appointed guest rooms, outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, kids' pool, in-house restaurant & bar, tour desk, room service and Internet corner. Salathai Resort is your perfect choice for real relaxation during your wonderful vacation in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salathai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salathai Hotel Patong
Salathai Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing