We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed”
Review of Salathai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salathai Resort
Ranked #23 of 406 Patong B&B and Inns
Berwick, Victoria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

From the pick up at Phuket airport to our driver stopping at a pineapple farm and buying us a beautiful fresh pineapple cut up before our eyes to our departure 9 days later, I can honestly say that this was a wonderful introduction to Thailand. The staff can make or break a hotel and the staff here do a wonderful job in maintaining a high standard that make one very happy to be sharing their lives on a daily basis. The food served was of a very good standard and never once did we feel anything strange happening to our insides. The room (112) was comfortable although we felt that the bathroom needed better lighting and the fridge did not really keep the drinks cold. I'm not sure if it was due to when you remove the key from the wall when going out or whether it was a dodgy fridge. We did report the problem and we arrived back late that afternoon to find the fridge pulled out from it's home sitting on the floor, but I put it back and there was no improvement. Gee, what did I say about staff. The location of the Salathai is perfect and is about 150 metres from the very best part of Patong Beach. There are many massage places within metres but we found the best one to be about 30 metres up the road called Dawan Spa & Massage. A lady called Was really fixed my back and shoulder. All in all, if you are looking for value for money resort that is in a perfect location, you won't be disappointed staying at the Salathai

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiftyNev47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    114
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
50
142
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Salathai was a fantastic place to stay. The staff were happy to help with any issue and were great with our kids. The resort is just off the main road and only 100 metres from Patong beach. Bangla Rd was only a short walk (300 metres). Food at the restaurant was high quality and was on par with surrounding restaurants on both quality and price including alcohol.

Make sure you have an omelette made by Tum (one of the chefs) she was great and loved our kids.

Both Sunni and Art were great on reception.

Room Tip: For a couple take the ground floor which open onto the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Six members of 'Wolf Pack' recently spent eight great nights at Salathai Resort. It was the first time the pack were allowed to leave the den and cubs at home in the care of their mothers (thank you wives!).

The rooms were great value, food excellent and sitting around the pool drinking beer and cocktails was awesome. The staff are very helpful and greet with a big smile. They soon know your name and make you feel very welcome.

We will all be bringing our families back to stay in the future.

In summary, a friendly, happy, great value and all importantly a safe place to stay. 100% happy! Thanks Salathai for a great holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Salathai is a great place to stay. The people here are fantastic and always happy to help. The place is just off the main road and very peaceful. The food is great as well as the staff working in the restaurant (we loved Touch, he is great).
You wont be disappointment staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms look over the pool. We had a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess1984_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My wife and I have just come back from 10 days stay at the Salathai Hotel Resort, from March 3 – 13 2012 and really we wish we were still there.
We found this hotel on TripAdvisor and chose it simply because of the totally positive feedback from previous guests. I could not find any fault or anything bad said about it.
I booked our stay direct through the hotel and I found Sunny to be helpful and a delight to deal with.
We arrived in Phuket just after midnight after a 12 hour flight from Auckland – Bangkok direct then another hour flight to Phuket so we were pretty wrung out by the time we got to Phuket airport.
We were met by a taxi at the airport and driven to our hotel arriving at about 1:am. We were shown our room on the ground floor beside the pool and went straight to bed.
We found the air conditioning unit a bit on the noisy side and this was to prove to be the only thing we could possibly fault during our ten-day stay
We woke up late the next morning and ushered to the restaurant for our alfresco breakfast of cereal, tropical fruit, toast and the choice of a full cooked breakfast, all part of the daily tariff.
The hotel grounds are absolutely immaculate with the large swimming pool the central point surrounded by Frangipani trees. The ground staff keeps the pool and grounds pristine and are a credit to them.
Our first visit to Phuket and indeed Thailand was made so much memorable thanks to Sunny and her team at the Salathai hotel. We met other guests there who have been coming back to the Salathai Resort year after year, and in some cases three or more times a year which confirmed to us that we had stayed in one of the most popular places in Phuket.
This will not be our last visit to Phuket or to Salathai Resort either. One of the many features is the location, About 3 minutes walk to Patong Beach, 15 minutes to the JungCeylon shopping complex and retaurants, and one block from Bungalar Road. Another feature is the quiet location. We never heard any noise other than the air-con machine. I suggest that money for value this has to be right up there as far as value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are better value as you simply step out of the room to the pool area. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian-NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We are a couple from Germany how travel to Phuket two to three times a year since 1998. And trust me we tried a lot of Hotels on Phuket. Thank God we found the Salathai in 2009.

We stayed at the Salathai for the fith time and keep coming back... This time we stayed for 14 Nights in November-December 2011.

positive:

very friendly attendive staff
clean rooms.
free WiFi in all areas
great pool
within walking distance to all Patong attractions
very quiet and peacful.

The breakfast becomes a little boring after a few day. Here a little variation would help.

All togther we will keep on coming back

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at the Salathai for 7 nights and were very impressed with the place. The room we had was beautiful, on the top floor and overlooked the pool area. The staff were all friendly and very helpful in arranging day trips and taxis to/from the airport for us.

The hotel is situated about a 5 minute walk from the beach and about 15-20 mins walk to Bangla Road (depending on how hassled you get on the way there!)

It was pretty quiet when we there but I think it was just because it was the wet season, we could see nothing wrong with the accommodation.

I'd recommend eating out though as the food in the restaurant, although nice, didn't really give us the authentic Thai feel that we had experienced in other parts of Thailand
.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindseyvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#60 of 321 in Patong
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#56 of 321 in Patong
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
#139 of 321 in Patong
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
BearPacker Patong Hostel
BearPacker Patong Hostel
#2 of 221 in Patong
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Phawadee Village
Royal Phawadee Village
#80 of 321 in Patong
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salathai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salathai Resort

Property: Salathai Resort
Address: 10 / 4 Sawatdirak Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 406 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Salathai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salathai Resort's decor throughout reflects the Thai theme with clean simple lines that ensure relaxing ambiance with our 41 well-appointed guest rooms, outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, kids' pool, in-house restaurant & bar, tour desk, room service and Internet corner. Salathai Resort is your perfect choice for real relaxation during your wonderful vacation in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salathai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salathai Hotel Patong
Salathai Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing