We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In bad need of a re-vamp!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Patong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa del Mar
Ranked #234 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed November 28, 2007

Having been a frequent traveller to Thailand over the last 8 years I can honestly say that this hotel has been the dirtiest and most dissapointing place I have had the disspleasure of staying in. The rooms are filthy and to make matters worse the smell was unbearable. We had paid a 50% deposit prior to our arrival and dispite our complaints it was apparent that the owner was not willing to part with any money. We had booked for 5 nights and left after 2. The antique air-con unit gave up on the second night causing the T.V to short circuit and the floor to flood.
I can only assume that the owner has thrown his life savings into leasing this property and has no funds left to make much needed improvements, but this is still no excuse for the lack of cleanliness in the rooms. If the standards are not to be improved the tariff should be changed in accordance (They would have to pay me to stay). It is a great shame to see the potential of this small hotel going to waste. Anyone who has rated this hotel 5/5 for cleanliness must have very low standards or be related to the owner. I don't make a habit of complaining but I hope reading this will make Dieter see the error of his ways.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CamJedburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 17 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2007

booked to stay here from the 12th for 5 nights.
arrived to find to ladies waiting to meet us one with a little english and the other with none.
on booking in we were given the keys and shown to our rooms by the lady with no english to discover as it had been raining as later explained to us the following day for weeks and the rooms were damp and smellind bad.
it didnt however explain the dirty rooms and deteriorating decor as well as really bad smelling bathrooms on complaining also discovered that the lady who could speak english was gone but lucky for us our freinds wife is thai and we managed to call the owner deitre who lived a fair bit away and wasnt willing to travel in to sort out our problems so we agreed to meet next morning at 9am. we checked out and stayed a couple of doors away although we had paid up front.
on his arrival at 10am it was apparant that deitre wasnt willing to accept any of our complaints so we eventually settled to share the suite which has the burgundy bathroom ,seperate shower room and two bedrooms for 3 nights and settle the bill that way although we had paid for 5nights and a further 2 at the other hotel. this room on appearance looked better and smelt better,however still the bathroom was dirty,no hot water for the first day and a half.our room was bearable,the other room the air conditioning didnt work,also leaked water into tv which blew up and the room smelt bad and wasnt clean resulting in all four of us leaving a day earlier thus paying for 5nights and staying elsewhere at extra cost for 3..
villa hell mar as my friends now call it certainly has views but thats all it has to offer at the moment.
as the owner deitre was of german origin we wrongly assumed that things would be of a good standard and that they certainly were not. such a shame as it has a great spot although the view are hindered by dozens of electric cables.
photos by our friends of all these points will be posted along with their comments later.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank markhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thomas_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank icke2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ThailandLinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank icke2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RalfDDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,899 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lavender Hotel
Lavender Hotel
#149 of 409 in Patong
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coconut Village Resort
Coconut Village Resort
#68 of 328 in Patong
361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 328 in Patong
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Mar

Address: 30, Taweewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $36 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly set at the beach! Charming and comfortable. Breathtaking view, quiet area on the south end of Patong beach. Only 5 walking-minutes to nightlife and shopping center. Summary: Best location of Patong! All rooms with air conditioning, cable TV, minibar, minisafe! All sea view rooms with private balconies. Nice and cheap standard rooms. Free Internet! Free WLAN! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Villa Del Mar Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing