We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel right on the edge of Patong Beach.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patong Paragon Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Patong Paragon Resort & Spa
Ranked #121 of 308 Hotels in Patong
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hotel right on the edge of Patong Beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Second hotel for our Thailand trip. We had a limited choice but this turned out to be great. Nice welcome in an open sided reception. The hotel is on the edge of the main beach so expect a 15 minute walk to the centre of town. It is close to the beach which is busy all the way along. Not somewhere for a quite break. The room was big with one of the largest beds we have ever slept in. The bathroom too was massive, with large shower bath and dressing table area. We had a pool view as many rooms do with a small terrace. Buffet breakfast was included which had a big choice for all tastes. The large pool was great with its swim up bar but expect to pay western prices for hotel drinks. Just to hilight the service our air con did not work on arrival but was fixed be engineers within an hour. Good qulity hotel which deserves its four star rating.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelboyz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    138
    51
    27
    28
See reviews for
65
181
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

This has to be one of the best - if not THE BEST - hotels in Patong.

Never has "Bang For Your Buck" been more apt than with the 4-star Patong Paragon. Being in this hotel was a major factor in making our week-long stay in Phuket a success.

It's situated at the quiet(er) northern end of Patong beach - directly across the road from the beach - but still only a 5 minute tuk-tuk drive / 20 minute walk to Bangla Road and Jungceylon.

Super rooms, excellent breakfast, amazing pool, wonderful staff.....the Patong Paragon ticks all the boxes - you can't go wrong by staying there!

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms numbered 321-327.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LSD213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

My partner and I enjoyed our stay here immensely.
I highly recommend this hotel sure their english is questionable and it is about 10min walk from bangla rd. The lady at the tour desk is extremely helpful which made it easier to get on enjoying your time there.
One downside is the breakfast is a bit expensive but it is a good feed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James-Vivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country South Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

On arrival to Hotel was not overly impressed by avearage check in counter & Staff. However baggage guys took to my kids and made them feel most welcome. Big Hi to Singa and his buddy. The reception girls need to take a lesson from these guys in customer service.They were fantastic and always very plesent. The only reason i didnt rate this hotel as Excellent was due to poor attitude of the reception girls, rolling of eyes and stony faces!! One key issued for four people isnt good enough. Also persistant request to get a forth bed in our room (matress only), was told one child sleeps with us other on matress even though booked two adults two children, they had two king size single beds pushed together, I wasnt going to have my 10 yr old child sleep with me on the crack of two beds for two weeks. A secound matress was brought to our room but reception made me feel like dirt asking for it. Yes language did seem a bit of barrier but managment need to pull these girls into line with attitude. Destination Asia sorted secound key for our room on secound day with no hassel? Go figure we couldnt! Aside from this all sounds bad we found everbody else fantastic, the lovely lady Chef who made the perfect omletts everday made it a great way to start your day off (always happy ), the three performas who played on some evenings were brilliant! The baggage guys always smiling happy chatty helpful.. teaching some good tricks for the kids who are still trying out on friends. The rooms were very clean and big and always cleaned daily no issue. Pool was excellent dont mess with the towell guy.. he wants his towells back by six! So overall very good, got passed the first impression due to to reception and really enjoyed our stay here, friends of ours will now stay here in May. And I would return here if holidaying back in Phuket.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bruce0134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

My Boyfriend and i recently returned to Thailand for the second time. We chose the Paragon because of the location, and the value. The hotel is located right at the North end of Patong beach, and its about a 10 minute walk to the Patong markets and bars. The rooms were huge, something that is very important when you are spending 9 nights in one hotel. They were not only large but very comfortable.
The breakfast was lovely, eggs and bacon made to order and a great selection from the buffet each day.
The pool was great and we always got a seat by the pool no matter what time it was in the day.
The gym was awesome, brand new and there was a sauna in the gym also.
We would defiantly recommend anyone first or returning tourist to Thailand to stay at the Paragon. When we return we will stay at the Paragon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hy_Pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

The resort it self was amazing, and the Concierge could not do enough for us, say g-day to Patrick if your ever there, only problem was the reception staff where less than helpful, I do believe that this is because of the language barrier, either that or they don't care, I had to argue to get a second key from them as they only like to issue 1 key per room.

First night we arrived I noticed when pulling back the bed sheets that they where very badly stained and dirty, I called concierge and they sent someone up straight away to fix it and where very apologetic.

Buffet Breakfast wasn't to bad but they need more choice's on spreads for toast.

Overall top resort and top location, don't drink at the resort tho as beer is 3 times the price of the Bangla road bars or local restaurants but that's expected.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewlyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

Upon arrival after travelling for over 24 hours we were very keen to check in to our rooms and get some rest. We arrived at around midday and we were informed that we would not be alowed to check in untill 2pm. We received 2 rooms around the 2pm mark however we had to wait another hour before the 3rd room was available.

The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are great however the cleaning left a lot to be desired. Rubbish not removed and floors were not cleaned. My friends had to call down to reception every other day to ask for towels to be left in the room. You could often walk around the corridors and see peoples used room service plates and trays left out in the heat ALL DAY!!

The pool area is nice and is well maintained. There is a shortage of space for sunbeds but its not a problem as the beach is just across the road. The pool bar is manned until 7pm everyday however if you want a drink it takes a LONG time to arrive and you may need to ask for it more than once. When it comes to food, its good quality but again takes a while to arrive. One occasion 6 of us asked for lunch together but one meal was forgotten. This became a regular occurrence. There always seemed to be plenty of staff but not a lot of working. The drinks and food are also very expensive.

The pool towels are getting old and tatty and many have holes and dirty marks. If you dont give the towels back by 6pm you may not get another the next day and receive some serious attitude from the towel man.

Half way through the holiday my friends had to change rooms after a storm caused the roof to leak. The water was pouring through the air con unit. This was done at 1am and although the staff were willing to help, there was no work of an apology anyone at the hotel.

There is not ONE SINGLE IRON in the hotel for use. Not even an Ironing room. Also you are only allowed one room key per room. As i was sharing with a friend, if i wanted to come back early or vice versa we had to wake the other person up. We were shocked that we could only have one room.

When we came to check out, my friends who had changed rooms at 1am were horrified to find out that they were going to be charged for 2 missing bed runners. After explaining that it was not there when they changed rooms they said they would discount it by 30%! My friends were willing to actually empty their suitcases in reception to prove that they had not taken them. By this point we had had enough of the poor service and wanted to speak to the manager to complain. I was informed that the manager would not come and speak with us because she had a sore throat!!!! I told the receptionist that i didn't need her to speak, just listen. After three attempts it was obvious that she would not come out of her office to we had to give in. They then had the cheek to charge us for a missing glass. By this point we had had enough and paid up.

To sum up, this hotel has potential to be great but its poorly managed, poorly maintained and poorly cleaned. There is a serious lack of customer service and it seems that many of the staff really dont care. I would never stay here again and would recommend that nobody else stays here either. A poor experience and shocking that the manager would not come and speak to us...simply shocking!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aeroplaneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDAMANPhuket_, General Manager at Patong Paragon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Dear Valued Customer:

First of all, we would like to thank you & your colleaque for choosing to stay with us during your holiday in Phuket, Thailand

In general, we learned that you & your colleaque have had a good time with our facilities, location and beach itself. However, there were some unfortunate incidents you had encountered during your stay which we never have had any complaint before.

Patong Paragon Resort & Spa is an international deluxe property in which we are following a certain standard of check- in time at 14:00 Hrs (02:00 pm) and check -out time at 12:00 Noon and this might caused some annoyant when you arrived earlier and also requested special bedding type. This had taken sometimes to allocate due to high occupancy on that period.

Our Room Service have a definite Clearing System whereby staffs would come and clear the empty plate when customer finish it and staffs would come again to walk on -floor to clear all left over plates along corridor twice per day and since there were lots of customer utilizing Room Service, there might be some left over uncollected to a certain period

The price of food & drink in any hotel are usually higher than the market. It is because we are using high grade/quality raw materials and products for our customer and we are also guarantee safety, hygiene & taste. As for your comment on food service for 6 persons. Our investigation shown that 5 of you ordered dishes that come from the same section of kitchen ( we have lots of section in the kitchen ) and one of you ordered another in which it took longer time to produce and served.

Some Pool Towels was damage, rotten due to mainly excessive use on the beach ( we are normally do not allow guest to take towel to beach but many guests insisted ), we have been ordered new set of pool tower already but it take time to produce because of special fabric & color selected

The slow services & cleanliness has been noted and brought up to the attention of Department Heads concernd and staffs have also been reprimanded and re-train as well for better service. The Manager at the Front, she was really sick and got high temperature and afraid that if she would see you personally, you might have been caught some flu from her but she controlled and advised her staffs all the time from the office.

Finally, thank you again for your personal comments and such as these , will help us improve our quality of service to meet a certain expectation, we will re-training our service staffs again how to handle these situations(more customers) as we have experiences high occupancy since New Year's Eve until now. Anyway, please do accept our sincere apology for all the trouble and uneasiness you had experiences during your stay with us and you can rest assure that it will not recur again in future.

Best Personal Regards,

Yongsak Natpracha (Mr)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#43 of 308 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.6 mi away
Avantika Boutique Hotel
Avantika Boutique Hotel
#132 of 308 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#5 of 308 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
#77 of 308 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Phuket Deevana
Ramada Phuket Deevana
#17 of 308 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lantern Resorts Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Paragon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Paragon Resort & Spa

Property: Patong Paragon Resort & Spa
Address: 280 Prabaramee Rd. Patong, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Patong
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#52 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Paragon Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Patong Paragon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Paragon Hotel Patong
Patong Paragon Resort And Spa
Patong Paragon Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing