We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm not sure i'd call this place a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Phawadee Village
Ranked #76 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'm not sure i'd call this place a hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at RPV for 10 nights over early January.

Disliked: Realllllllly did not like turning up to find out there had been a fire in one whole wing of the hotel on christmas (look it up in the news!). We were not informed whatsoever so that was a big downer when we arrived because half the building was blackened and collapsing. This meant there were no kitchens, which meant no breakfast or room service or in-hotel restaurants. I wouldn't call that a hotel. Anyway since we had already paid there was not much we could do, they gave us a room upgrade and free wifi tokens. It was also not very relaxing if you were lying by the pool or on your balcony and there is construction going on in the burnt building. The gym had no aircon turned on, and it was the room right next to the burnt section so it did not feel very safe! Also we had paid for included daily breakfast, so we had to go to a neighbouring hotel up the street for breakfast which was fairly poor quality. The bathroom was very small and had mould growing in the seals around the shower and window, it didnt feel very clean and was often humid. They also didnt change the sheets on the bed, just made the bed. I also wanted to get massage/mani/pedi but the masseuse was never there over 10 days!
Liked: we enjoyed the pool, it was cool, deep and refreshing. It was nice to relax by the pool in the sun. The minibar in the room was very cheap. The aircon was nice...? Oh and it was a close walk to the beach.
The staff at the desk were nice, they helped us book trips and activites often.

I personally wouldn't stay here again but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaid_2o12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    124
    50
    20
    10
See reviews for
55
198
44
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very hard to review this hotel as we arrived morning after fire, very tired after our flight, the manager put us in a hotel across the road not very nice, but somewhere to sleep. Next morning we were moved back to Phawadee to the bungalow we reserved. The owner was very kind and understanding showed us photos etc of the fire. That day they finally got the electricity on, but it still keep going off, we could not use any of there lovely facilities because of the fire, breakfast was at another hotel which was very poor. The hotel is very tradional and surrounded by beautiful gardens and looks very tranquil. After a few days not being able to use pool etc decided to move, the owner was very understanding and compensated us accordingly. We wish them all the best .

Room Tip: If you like Patong you will like this hotel once they renovate after fire. Close to beach, shops re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Guyglenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettenheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed there from December 14.th 2012 to January 04.th 2013.
My first impression exceeded all my expectations!
During and after the Fire of December 26.th my opinion changed from 'best Hotel in Patong' to 'By far the best Hotel in Patong' !!!.
After the fire they offered me to change hotel, but there was nothing comparable around.
I decided to stay and I didn't regret this decision.
I got refund of all my losses very quickly, the staff and management worked commendable.
The only thing I missed after the fire was the beautiful breakfast because the restaurant was damaged.
At this point many thanks to the Patong Police and Fire Brigade (arrived late but did a good job) which saved my holidays !
I must come back to this beutiful hotel as soon as possible !!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmut L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our second stay at the RPV and it still exceptional value for money for this traditional piece of Thailand right in the heart of Patong. We stayed for 8 nights.

As you walk off the street thru the foyer, you enter peace and tranquility of separate bungalows surrounded by cooling gardens. We booked 2 x superior rooms and 1 x suite ( the dsame suite we had in 2010). The rooms are generous in size with good clean bathrooms. One of the toilets was a bit "woofy" on arrival ( that's Patong thou) but was immediately cleaned and freshened up within five minutes of our request.

The breakfast buffet is availible from 6.30am but most popular around 9am. It has a good selection of continential foods plus an egg chef for great omlettes etc.

Being in a family group on this occassion ( mainly adults with 1 x 5 year old) we utilised the pool each day. It would be nice to have a small battery operated bell near the pool to call the wait staff up in the restaurant rather than have to walk up the steps to place an order.

The hotel is supprisingly quiet given it's location and the sleep quality is very good.

Definetly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The suites are on the top floor of the main building and the steps can get a bit tiresome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GILLRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main, Deutschland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Hotel:
We booked the bungalow, but it was just a room in the bungalow not a hole bungalow house.
The room was very comfortable, with a big bath (shower & whirpool), sleeping room with all wath you need. It is just a little dark inside, because there are not much windows in.
And a small terrace which is the entrance to the room. It was very clean.
All the stuff people was nice, but the english is bad.
Spezially on the reception, the only person who spoke english well tried every time to sell us a tour. Unfortunately, it was never really welcomed or at least smiled when you stood at the reception. Only the service stuff in the breakfast restaurant was really nice.

To Patong:
The hotel is really just 200 meters from the beach. The beach is clean and beautiful. A lot of tourist (russian and chinese people) are there, so not a place where you can enjoy a quiet holiday. Every minute when you walk on the street somebody ask you for massage, taxi/tuktuk and shopping. THAT SUCKS!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned from 1 month in Thailand staying approx 3 weeks at the Royal Phawadee Village. We had 7 different rooms at the hotel (as there were 16 of us) & the hotel & staff are everything you could hope for (this is not our 1st visit).

We booked everything direct with the hotel & Air (hotel contact) could not have been more helpful. She continually replied to our enquiries in a very prompt & efficient manner. The reception staff are always very courteous & helpful & assisted whenever they could.

The hotel is situated in a good location, only some 200-300 meters walk from the beach & also not far from the shopping areas. One of the main attractions or positives for the hotel is that it only has approx 35 rooms so it is not overcrowded or noisy. The rooms are very neat & tidy & contain everything you need.

My family & I (5 people) stayed in the family duplex room which is a 2 storey unit with sleeping on both levels & lots of space.

The buffet breakfast is of a good standard & is set in a very good environment (overlooking the pool). The staff at breakfast are also very friendly & only too willing to help.

We will stay here once again on our next visit to Thailand & highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend rooms 111 & 124 due to the size of the rooms & their large balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheekycherub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

After staying at another hotel for a week, we arrived at RPVR and it was everything we wanted!!
I had booked a pavilion room 501, and yes it smelt a bit musty but didn't really notice it after the first day! The room was massive for the 2 of us and only 10 steps from the pool. I tried the Thai massage and wow it was amazing and the price is no more than what you would pay on the streets. It's not private but during the day there are not a lot of people around and I had no problem relaxing.
As for the free wifi....had no issues at all.
Didn't really eat at the hotel so can't really comment on that.
The staff were just beautiful and nothing was ever a problem for them.
We did have some mosquito issues but there had also been a lot of rain. The best tip I have if you get bitten is to use your antibacterial hand wash on your bites!!! Works wonders!
After a week closer to the area of Bang La, it was the perfect oasis for us to relax. Not a lot of loud noises so we felt like we had moved miles from the party area when in actual fact we were still only 5 mins away.
I would recommend RPVR to anyone. As for myself, I would definitely return to my little oasis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#54 of 328 in Patong
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss Palm Beach
Swiss Palm Beach
#67 of 328 in Patong
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#91 of 328 in Patong
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#59 of 328 in Patong
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#154 of 328 in Patong
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
#140 of 328 in Patong
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Phawadee Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Phawadee Village

Property: Royal Phawadee Village
Address: 3 Sawatdirak Road | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#36 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Phawadee Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROYAL PHAWADEE VILLAGE Sanctuary Resort in Patong Beach Experiencing the unforgettable moment at the heart of the Andaman Sea's pearl at Royal Phawadee Village, Patong Beach Phuket, Thailand. Royal Phawadee Village is located in one of Phuket most famous beaches known as Patong Beach Traditional Thai-style Every room types have the designs and decorations based on Thai-style which you will surely be impressed and most signature and outstanding hotel in Patong Beach Phuket. Peaceful Oasis Patong Beach Resort While enjoying the scenery you might also take a rest at the most our beautiful grassy garden in Phuket where you can sit and relax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Phawadee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Phawadee Village Hotel Patong
Royal Phawadee Village Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing