We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Ranked #5 of 327 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
KL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New and Clean”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Taxi tends to mix up Grand Mecure and Mecure (further down the street) so please inform them clearly when you're travelling to the hotel.
It's few minutes walk to the "happening" street,shopping mall and plentiful of street food and massage parlour.
Rooms are new and clean with comfortable mattress and bathroom water pressure is good after a day of outdoor activities.
Breakfast is nice and not over crowded with sufficient to choose from.
There's always few Pajero 7 seater outside the hotel(road side), and it's a better choice if you want to travel far (I manage to get them to send me to airport at 4am with only 800bht).
Overall a very clean and new hotel with friendly services and up to mark facilities.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NGCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear NGCK,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of our property.
I am very pleased to note you enjoyed a very relaxing stay with us and appreciated both comfort of our rooms and quality of our breakfast spread at Bubbles Restaurant.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back anytime soon...

with Grand regards,
Sebastien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    419
    124
    36
    16
See reviews for
328
631
103
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is so new, it's not even quite finished yet, (But this was just one block of guest rooms and meeting rooms which didn't affect our stay at all) The whole hotel is beautifully appointed with modern and attractive furnishings and fittings. The breakfast restaurant is beautiful from the decor, to the way the fruit is presented, right down to the shape of the crockery and cutlery! Beautiful. The rooms are equally modern and beautiful. The hotel does back onto an old shed area but is well-located just a block or so from the beach and there are shopping stalls and little bars just across the road. It's only a couple of blocks from the lovely Jungceylon shopping centre and just a bit further to the bars of Bangla Road. The staff were lovely and the service provided was warm and friendly. We had a late flight on our final day and with check out generously being noon, we could still leave our luggage with the concierge, use the pool etc and when we returned from going to a movie, we were able to use the Steam room shower with towels and toiletries provided, to freshen up before heading to the airport. Really lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TanG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear TanG68,

Thank you so much for choosing our property and taking the time to share your comments with us and the rest of the World...

I am delighted to note you and your family had such a great time with us!
I will pass on your kindest regards to our morning team at the restaurant and the front office officers who assited you with the late check-out on departure day.

Please let us know if you do plan a trip back to Patong anytime soon, we will be very happy to assist through the process...

Many thanks once again!
Sebastien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molde, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 15 nights in end of June and until 12 of Juli. The location of this hotel is perfect. Walking distance to all bars, restaurants and beach. The hotel is not yet finished but it's still a perfect hotel to stay on. The room at this hotel is very nice with a comfortable bed. From we checked in to we left the staff was very friendly and helpful. I look forward to come back when this hotel is finished.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enrA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear enrA78,

Many thanks for this superb review!!
I am glad we could make your stay a most enjoyable one...

See you again next year!
Sebastien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of June, and what can I say...probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in.

From check in to check out the hotel staff we nothing but attentive and friendly. We were greeted at the door following almost 24 hours of travelling by the concierge we took our bags and provided us with welcome drinks and a gorgeous sweet pastry. The check in process was smooth and the man (can't remember his name) was very friendly and personally escorted us up to our room.

Our room, 643 was a superior on the 6th floor in the right hand side block, which did have some way to walk from the lobby to the lift but was stunning. We were celebrating an anniversary and upon arrival in our room, a gorgeous cake was waiting for us. The room was exactly as shown in the pictures and more. Perfect air con and a lovely view over the pool (and on tip toes you could just about see the sea in the distance). It's a shame there isn't room to sit out and enjoy the views on the balcony but the doors open wide anyway.The only downside was lack of storage space for 2 large cases. The bathroom was decorated beautifully however the floor did seem to flood a little following a shower. There's a nice seating area and dressing table in the room along with a mini bar which was quite expensive to be fair but to be expected considering the class of hotel however complimentary water was provided with housekeeping everyday which was a bonus. Room service was prompt and the food was delicious.

We had breakfast included and the buffet on offer was superb with lots of variety and again friendly staff who made sure we were seated almost immediately. The pool bar was also very handy for drinks and snacks whilst relaxing by the pool, however service was rather slow on occasions. The pool area is stunning with plenty of seating and space to relax.

We used the Spa facilities on our first morning, having a lovely Thai massage, 90 minutes for the price of 60 and a 20% opening discount. The ladies was great and we were thoroughly relaxed afterwards.

As the hotel's still in the soft opening stage, it was expected for some construction noise to be present. On some days this was worse than others, but frankly it was worth the compromise to experience such a brilliant hotel. We found all the staff to be very helpful and English was well spoken throughout.

Location is superb, down a quite side street about 5-10 mins walk to the beach and Hard Rock, in the other direction Bangla Road and Jungceylon . Taxi service outside hotel is very good, we recommend Max who took us on a local tour for a very reasonable price. We only used the free shuttle once into the center of Patong but it was good. There's a Family Mart on the corner of the street which is useful for essentials.

The pool access rooms looked gorgeous and we did consider an upgrade however I prefer a good view and the pool access rooms don't have any balcony privacy so it's really down to personal preference. We would love to return once the hotel is fully up and running to see how they operate at full capacity as the hotel was very quiet during our stay. I'm sure they'll do brilliantly.

Thank you once again form making out first trip to Phuket a memorable one.

Room Tip: Pool access looks good but if you want privacy and a good pool view ask for the right hand side bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank williams89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Williams89,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We really appreciate the time spent on sharing with us your experience and will definitely work on the few areas that need improvement too.

Many thanks for your kind comments on our breakfastg and food selection (and the welcome French choux). It is always very difficult to please everyone and happy to see we could please you everyday with our selection.
The Spa is also receiving lots of praise these days and the special opening offer will be extended for another few weeks i guess.
I will also take this oportunity to thank the team on your behalf, for their attentive and professional service.
Looking forward to welcoming you back anytime soon!

Thank you once again,
Sebastien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

From the moment we checked in we were made to feel welcome and met quickly with some much needed refreshments. The grand hallway and alfresco bar area was a beautiful sight for sore (weary and tired) eyes.

The room was lovely with a king bed, lounge area and well equipped mini bar and bathroom. All rooms overlook the pool with an option of a room with your own semi private (as it is shared with others on that level) pool. Room service and dining in house was obviously more expensive then typical street eats but delicious and plentiful. I highly reccommend any of the Pizzas, the Reuben Sandwhich and the Banana Republic Mocktail!

The room was serviced adequately and for those lazy days where leaving the room after 2pm occured, a quick phone call ensured our room was serviced upon return.

The pool is wonderful and large with lounge chairs a plenty and drink/food service to your chair (service was at times a little slow but understandable considering the amount of people ordering food/drinks at the swim up bar). The gym is well equipped, quiet and cool with cardio machines, assisted weight machines and free weights.

As the hotel is new and still under some construction there is slight noise during the day. This does make lying by the pool relaxing not completely blissful but not too much of an inconvenience. The hotel was also a short 10/15min stroll to Bangla Rd, Juncylon Shopping Mall and Patong Beach.

All in all, a great new, modern and friendly hotel with wonderful service staff and great hospitality! A wonderful (almost) two weeks at the Grand Mercure and we will definitely return on our next trip to Phuket.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelDelCic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Meldelcic,

Thank you very much for such a detailed and wonderful review.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed everything of your stay, from the rooms to the food selection, Hotel design to its location.

It was a great pleasure to have you staying with us for (almost) 2 weeks... Hopefully we will see you again next year!

with Grand regards,
Sebastien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights for A$80 a night without breakfast.
Pros
Position - perfect - close to all the great restaurants and shops but far enough away to be fairly quiet,
Beds - super comfy with great sheets, the best sleep we had in 3 weeks :)
Rooms - we had the standard room and it was fairly small but quite attractive.
Pool - clean and beautiful
Massage - a bit more expensive than outside of hotel but really good - ask for Da - she is wonderful.

Cons
Noise - the hotel is a long way from being finished and there was constant construction noise - even into the night - which is unacceptable.
Unfortunately my otherwise perfect massage was spoilt by constant sanding, drilling and hammering close by
There was a power cut meaning there was no music or airconditioning available for the first half hour of the massage :( no big deal but just a shame)
Check in - very unfriendly welcome - the man who checked us in was tired and disinterested - not a great way to start out holiday - most other staff were good but some had limited English.
Bedding arrangement - we are a couple but were given two single beds. Note - the beds are only inches apart so this could be an uncomfortable bedding arrangement for some guests. Because of the fixed bedside tables they cannot be moved any further apart !
Bathroom - good but lots of mould around the bathtub which is unexpected in a new hotel.
TV - big but no Australian TV station available
Lounge - silly design, uncomfortable and unusable.

We really wanted to like this hotel but were disappointed with our stay.
It lacked atmoshphere and felt 'empty'.
Why, why, why would you consider opening a hotel when it is a long way from being completed ?? I believe the soft opening is very soon but it seemed that around 30 % of the room were still being worked on !!!
There are so many options for similar tariffs around Patong so until this hotel is completely finished choose another one !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear MickiAustralia,

Thank you for this long and very detailed review of our property. Looking at the number of reviews you have made in the past, i believe it is a very obejective one and it will certainly help us improve in various areas.

Reviews received so far, from well travelled customers or new-comers to this Tripadvisor have mostly been outstanding to-date and it looks like unfortunately in your case... lots of things went wrong. I am really sorry for that and wish to appologize on behalf of our entire team for the lack of attentiveness shown in various areas.

As you correctly pointed out, we are at about 70% of the hotel completion, still in soft opening period and while the remaining work consists mostly in wood and deco works, the team has lately been also working on some deffects in and outside the rooms. I was not aware of work being done at night as i am living in-house myslef but have asked our Chief Engineer to investigate this matter right away. This is indeed unacceptable but i can promise you it is not a usual habit of ours and it will be corrected shortly.

I am also very concerned about comments made in regards to check-in process. If there is one thing we have entire control over is our own selves and the attitude shown towards customers. I found this as unacceptable as the few other points mentionned above and will again look into this specific matter shortly.

Spa is the perfect exemple where friendliness and great service given by K.Da are compensating the inconvenience caused by external disturbances (to certain extend i agree).
I will take this opportunity to thank Da for her friendliness and dedication shown.

As for the rooms, we are adapting to humidity and condensation caused by the air-conditionned unit and i have asked our team to again check on this.

I also wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments about the rooms and comfort of the beds. We specifically worked on providing great nights of sleep and quality showers, hoping that dedication and attentiveness from the team would ensure a fantatic tay for all.

Once again, very sorry we could not achieve this this time around and shall you decide on giving our team and property a second chance in future, please rest assured i will be more than happy to help with making it this time, a Grand stay afterall.

with Grand regards,
Sebastien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The best thing about Grand Mercure is its location which is very close to the most happening places in Patong. For Patong Beach, take right from the hotel and then left from Family Mart and right again from Hard Rock Café while for Bangla Road, take right from Family Mart and go straight. Both places are not more than 10 minutes’ walk. No need to wait for the Hotel Shuttle. We got a pool facing room which had an excellent view of the pool area. The room had everything that we could have asked for though the toiletries were just ok. The breakfast buffet spread at the hotel was very decent with plenty of options including options for Indian vegetarians like mix vegetarian curry (which was pleasantly surprising). It will be good if they can provide some good bread options as well (like stuff parantha) to go with the curry. The seating space was very good which meant there was no overcrowding even during peak hours. Also there are plenty of dining options nearby if you do not want to eat at the hotel. For Indian vegetarians, try Madras Café on Bangla Road which makes excellent Dosa’s. Also several currency exchange options available within 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel (turn right from Family Mart) but do check the rates before committing since they can vary significantly. The Spa at the hotel is very average. I had a 90 minutes Thai massage which was nowhere close to good (it was ironical since you would normally expect a good thai massage in Thailand!). I had better thai massage in places outside of Thailand! There are plenty of massage options very close to the hotel at cheaper prices.
We used hotel cab to travel from the airport to the hotel which was expensive. Next time we are going to try Phuket Shuttle (Phuketshuttle.com) which we found to be very reliable and cheaper option to commute in Phuket.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kshitij2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Kshitij.2003,

Thank you for this very detailed and great review of our property.

I am really pleased with the fact you both had a GRAND stay with us and will pass on your regards to our Food & Beverage team and Chef espcially... a few more Indian Nan' bread will indeed be nice and complement our selection of Oriental and Vegetarian selection (Hope you had a chance to try our "kadhai" from the a-la-carte menu too?).

Thanks again for your comments and while it is always difficult to find inexpensive transportation in the area, please rest assure i will today discussed with our Spa & recreation Manager to discuss furhter about treatments being given at our Ryn Spa.
I had one last week to be honest and it was great, but spa is a little like food, tastes and colors... some might like it strong, some other softer, some might be experienced and like the Thai tradionnal ones, other might prefer the gentle touches of an aroma therapy treatment.

We are still adjusting and therefore offering special opening rate and i am happy to see this experience did not alter the overall vision you have of our property and services.

Once again, thank you for your time.
with Grand regards,
Sebastien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.3 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#8 of 327 in Patong
1,654 reviews
18.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 327 in Patong
5,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Phuket Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Phuket Patong

Property: Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Address: 1 Soi Rat-U-Thit 200 Pi 2, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Patong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Phuket Patong 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong located just walking distance away from Patong's nightlife and the Andaman Sea, Grand Mercure Phuket Patong is a 314 room beach resort that includes suites and pool villas. Complimented with a bistro like restaurant, three unique meeting venues, a bar that boasts the largest beer selection in Phuket, fitness centre, spa and kids corner, the hotel represents a new generation of retreats combining natural beauty and cultural heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Mercure Phuket Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing