We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet but close to the nightlife!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Ranked #54 of 307 Hotels in Patong
Phanat Nikhom, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quiet but close to the nightlife!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Check in was quick and effortless. I needed a motorbike which they also had although I had to haggle to get the price down. Dont pay more than 200bt a day anywhere! The hotel was clean and nicely and newly decorated.

The Poppa Palace is approx 5mins walk from all the fun and games of Bangla Rd and the surrounding area. The good thing about the location is that its quiet but also central. I was a little let down by the pool which was a bit on the small side. The included breakfast was pretty average too.

The day we were leaving for Samui we asked if we could check out 2hrs late to co inside with our flight! They said this would be 500bt charge which I got down to 400bt. Still a bit expensive for a hotel which wasnt very busy. It was not as if they required the room in any great hurry.

I would say its a good budget hotel reasonably priced. Not great but OK for a few days caper in Patong.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TP1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    219
    89
    27
    16
See reviews for
107
128
64
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

i stayed here for a week, the rooms were extremely modern and very clean and sound proof. bed was really big and comfortable. staff were friendly and helpful.. breakfast (buffet selection) was a little ordinary, however there was a cook stationed there for the duration of the breakfast to cook eggs, quite impressive. he made an awesome omelet. the location is fantastic for night life, beach and shopping. you are right in the middle of everything. i should mention the smells (no one ever told me about the smells in Phuket!!!) leaving the hotel the air can be a bit hard to cop, however it is the the same everywhere (or so i experienced anyway), and you do get used to it. it doesn't smell inside the hotel though. tour deck very helpful with booking tours. i loved it there and i will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Lovely_Tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

i stay poppa palace-phuket at 17.03.09 - 20.03.09, some body inside my room & using cutter to cut my luggage lock, of course i complain in reception, all the staff no care of my case, service is very bad.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
235 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

This is decent hotel and in fantastic location. Just few steps away from Patong Beach and Bangla Road. The hotel is little expensive compared to its standard maybe for its location.

Check-in n Check-out was smooth and while check-in provided welcome drinks and cold towels which was very relaxing. Rooms were ok but bathrooms are small.

Breakfast doesnt have much variety but was fine though.

It has also got nice small and clean swimming pool.

Please be careful with minibar. One evening I found couple bottles gone missing from the bar and informed reception to avoid being charged the same to me. There was no hassel with this.

By the side of the hotel there is a narrow lane which ends in front of Patong Beach and few steps away from Bangla Road. The road is dark and narrow but still its safe.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Car or transport access road to hotel
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Souvik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#89 of 307 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#69 of 307 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#67 of 307 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 307 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
#49 of 307 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket

Property: Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Address: 14-16 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pee Soi 1, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#34 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppa Palace Hotel welcome you truly warm Thai style and providing an exquisite view of Patong. We are a small luxurious hotel located at the quiet end of Patong. Only 3 minutes from the beach, Bangla Road and 2 minutes to the bus-stop, food center, entertainment and shopping center. 5 minutes to the hospital and Police Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppa Palace Patong
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing