We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed Sheet Scam be careful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Ranked #66 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Brighton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bed Sheet Scam be careful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Picked this hotel only for 2 days to do some shopping as we were staying in the Indigo Pearl at Nai Yang Beach. Now this is a place that everyone should go & check out once while in Thailand and possibly stay for a while. Poppa Palace being a small hotel which, i checked out in January 2011 after staying at the Busakorn Wing of the Holiday Inn. I decided to stay here as we just needed a small cheap & clean hotel to do some shopping for two days. And that is why i picked this hotel.

A quick run down,check in,was a breeze.room smelt stale,room was noisy from other quests above. We cut our stay down to one night after returning from a shopping trip to find a 600 baht bill for a dirty bed sheet on the bed. A quick call to reception i was informed & told that i had ruined there sheet.

They have a notice in reception stating that any sheet etc that is ruined is paid by the guest. This im told now & not before checking the linen out & not having the information & informed knowledge of been told by the reception staff when checking in the day earlier. So be careful if staying at this hotel & check everything in the room before using.

Whilst in the room two cleaners & a reception staff spoke in Thai & you do get the feeling they are putting the blame on you while we are checking out the dirty bed sheet in question. At the end of check out i did not have to pay & left immediately & will never return to this Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kitesurf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    240
    96
    30
    22
See reviews for
120
140
76
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

A mid-sized hotel but very intimate reflecting its family ownership and 'hands-on' management with guests treated like family.

We had a very comfortable room on the second level, facing north and with a balcony overlooking over the swimming pool. Modern, light and airy.

The staff are great reflecting the family atmosphere and always helpful.

There are eight computers in the lounge off the lobby which are free-of-charge to guests.

The only (minor) reservation. The size of the swimming pool/s. The hotel was very quiet when we stayed in May (2011) as it was 'shoulder' between high and low season and thus while there was plenty of room for us and the dozen or so others to relax, one wonders whether the space is adequate at busier times.

That said, it is a minor drawback really as the beach is not that far away! We had a very enjoyable stay over our first week in Patong.

Poppa is tucked away down Soi Jintana, off Rath-u-thit Road with several other hotels and one resort (the Del Mar), about 7/10 minutes walk to Bangla and Jungceylon. A shortcut at the end of the Soi, gives walking access to the beachfront road through the beerbar grouping flanked by the Irish and Sailor Bars.

Poppa only serve breakfast so you are free to explore the myriad options for eating in and outside the soi. There are two very good cafes on the first 'dogleg' corner almost adjacent to Poppa - Orange and the Corner - which both serve good Thai food at reasonable prices. And the food is also good at the Tiger Restaurant at the entrance to the soi.

Right opposite the hotel is the excellent Pulang Massage (the foot massage is as good as any I have had in Thailand; there are several choices for getting your laundry done and, if you want to hire motorcycles, the you can do this from the Dawan Shop at the entrance to the soi (opposite the Tiger Restaurant) where the bikes are serviced as well as hired.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kiwilad37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed there 9 nights in a family suite all very nice clean and staff all very helpful. The 2 pools wonderful though they should be open late would be nice after a night out on the town to come back for a swim before bed. Overall great location massage across the road fantatic and The Restaurant next door called Orange was great. Had a great trip with my husband and niece would highly reccommond hotel if you are looking for value for money in a handy location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jennjennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

The hotel is in a back street so it's quiet. The room was ok though quite smelly(like it has not been aired for years). Check in was quick and painless, bellboy and other staff courteous and friendly (daytime reception female staff not friendly).
Our toddler cut his foot deeply on the pool steps (sharp tiles), bellboy Song rendered first aid immediately. Pools should be better maintained to prevent re-occurrence.

Breakfast was included in room rates and ok considering what we paid. If you expect lots of variety then stay in an international chain hotel. Internet is available for 50Baht/50mins. You must negotiate the price for everything in Phuket- cut their price down to 50%, if they refuse your offer then you go up a bit from there so you don't get ripped off too much.

Checkout was upsetting! Reception made a phone call for someone to check our rooms (we booked 2 rooms). They told us one white towel was missing and charged us 400Baht. They were old and grey towels so who would want to steal them? We were so angry about this because we know the towels were all there. They spoke to each other in Thai and from the way they conduct themselves, i think they've done this before. This was such a shame as we had a pleasant stay and would consider staying there again in the future but the scam put us off and tainted our holiday.

If you do tours, try white water rafting it's the best fun ever.

Room Tip: Don't stay here as there are better options
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tsangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

Passing through to Bangkok on business, I thought I would treat myself to 3 days in Phuket. I was quite selective on price, doing a careful comparison on Wotif; however wanted a central Phuket place where I could also walk to the beach. I liked that Poppa Palace promoted a small but luxurious friendly Thai style boutique type accommodation. Poppa palace delivered all of those things....It is very underrated as a 2.5 star. I thought it was top notch.

The staff were so friendly! Try walking around with a smile on your face and watch every staff member beam happiness right back at you. If you are complaining about these staff you should take a look at yourself. The only angry faces in the hotel were a group of mid-Europeans....I couldn't understand why they all looked so grumpy. They are probably the ones complaining about not getting happy service (because you are scaring the cr*p out of these lovely Thai people.)

To Song - thank you so much for taking the time to sit down and teach me a few simple Thai language sentences, and tips on how to deal with Thai people. (Hope you got your tip!) Thank you to Nong for being so friendly every day and singing "Hello Mr Peter" every time I walked into reception. I hope you passed Song his tip! Thanks Mr Pond for the good motorbike and taxi service too.

Most reviews complained about the breakfast, so I wasn't expecting much. What a sweetheart Tang Po was welcoming guests to breakfast every morning. Most reviews complain the breakfast is all Thai style; and it was definitely along those lines.... however I also found croissants, pancakes, toast, omelets....an egg chef, sausages, cornflakes, yogurt, fried bananas... and all I could hear every morning was "what...no Bacon" every day...."where is the bacon?". So I guess bacon is what makes a Thai breakfast western huh? I was happy to have no bacon because I chose a Thai style boutique hotel.

I had a fantastic stay and first couldn't understand what is wrong with the people writing bad reviews on this place. But after a closer examination it turns out almost every bad review seems to come from a mother who took a family, or honeymooner with her new husband who made the mistake of choosing Phuket. In this town there is 'boom boom' for sale on almost every corner....ladies, don't blame the hotel....winging about the lock on the toilet door or the male staff looking at your daughter because, that is a load of rubbish. You belong in Fiji not Phuket.

Cant wait to see you again it was 10 out of 10 at Poppa Palace!

Room Tip: Ask for room 1308 or 1309 on level 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SmithersinAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my 2 teenage daughters for 10 nights and the male staff we're constantly propositioning them, on the last night of our stay 1 of my daughters was in our room alone and 1 of the overnight staff who knew that my other daughter and I were out of the hotel at the time entered the room and tried to force her into bed with him. Fortunately she was able to push him off and he did not proceed.
Overnight there are only 2 staff members on, the one that came into our room and his brother, so there was no one my daughter could even go to for help at the time.
The next morning we when we went to the front desk to inform then of what happened , they were extemely unhelpful. They would not call the police for us and instead tried to call the hotel owner. They told us that the police were too busy and would not be able to come. They then called up the staff member (Pang) who was involved in the incidence to come down and after talking to him they told us that what my daughter was saying was untrue and did not happen, meanwhile they were all laughing amoungst themselves.
We had to leave for our flight at 8;30am that morning so we were unable to go to the police ourselves.
Once we arrived in Bangkok we rang the Australian embassy and they are not acting on our behalf.
I would definately not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Cashew66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

I arrive with my wife end of Feb 2011. The hotel made bad impression to me because:
- very bad servise (in general)
- personnel is quite unpolite
- bad smell everywhere
- hotel makes money on the tourist when you don't expect this, like if you put the free water bottle in the garbage, it will be not replaced if you not pay the money for new empty one (you won't see the notes, that you shoud keep all empty bottles and give them back). If you need or lost additional to single given (for two) key card, you will be charged. IN THE ROOM YOU FIND THE WHOLE PRICE WHAT YOU HAVE AROUND YOU. If something went broken, you pay and doesn't matter whos fault is that. That's why thay take cash deposit before you enter.
Breackfast is very national (not europian) and very narrow and every day almost same.
Wi fi is by prepayment cards and very limited

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IgorMsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#62 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#42 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#98 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#58 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#36 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket

Property: Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Address: 14-16 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pee Soi 1, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#33 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppa Palace Hotel welcome you truly warm Thai style and providing an exquisite view of Patong. We are a small luxurious hotel located at the quiet end of Patong. Only 3 minutes from the beach, Bangla Road and 2 minutes to the bus-stop, food center, entertainment and shopping center. 5 minutes to the hospital and Police Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppa Palace Patong
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing