We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent small hotel in Patang”
Review of Squareone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Squareone
Ranked #144 of 321 Hotels in Patong
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent small hotel in Patang”
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Our room was clean and large, and there was a tv with dvd player in room which was perfect for all the cheap dvds you can buy in Thailand. The staff are very friendly! My only complaint was the pool was small and no breakfast and there was some mold in the bathroom, but that's typical in Asia considering the humidity.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanky-Paddy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
19
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2010

The hotel was recommended to me by a friend from my previous visit so I took a chance and was not disappointed.

The staff were extremely accommodating and very friendly, couldnt do enough for me during my stay.

The room was great (one bedroom suite), lounge with TV and video not that I watched a lot of it to much to do.

I found the pool big enough to relax in as I was always there in the morning so no others there at that time. Only 15 rooms at Squareone so you are not going to get masses around the pool at any one time so it is adequate for all to enjoy.

You can order food in and it is very cheap and takes little time to arrive, I ordered brunch around 10.30 most days and on most occassions would eat it in the pool area at the same time as the staff so joined in with them and had a chat.

Close enough to many parts of the nightlife but far enought away to be quiet when you wanted it to be. 5 mins to the beach if that is what you wanted, you could book tours at the hotel, hire a scooter and also had a taxi svc.

All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and will definately stay again on my next visit. Talk to the staff and you will be suprised just how friendly they are so have a great trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie0652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Located one street back from the beach on the main strip of Patong, this guesthouse is only a 5-10 minute walk from the beach but pretty far (20 minute walk) to the main shopping center and bar and restaurant area. Our room was on the 4th floor and we had to climb many, many steps to get up there. It was also extremely hot up there and it took over 40 minutes for the a/c to cool off the room. The room was average and clean on arrival but they never bothered to come up and clean anything or take out the trash in the 4 days that we were there. One of the staff members spoke English pretty well but none of the other people who worked there spoke any English at all and were therefore very unhelpful. They were all completely useless at helping us book tours or transfers and said they did not even know the boat or bus schedule. Worse still, they did not even try to find out any information for us after we requested it. The pool was nice although very, very small and a bit smelly. The free in-room wifi was ok and the TV had a good selection of channels. The view from our window was also not very good as we looked out onto a sewage/trash dump. Square One was not bad for the low price (much lower when we called than what’s listed on the website) but overall it was very average. If you are looking for an average budget place that is clean and has the basics, then we recommend the hostel but make sure you do not stay on the top floor or expect the "luxury" promised on their website.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillerThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

I have been waiting to write a positive review where I have found good service, a comfortable room and value for money and I found it here at Square One Patong Beach Phuket. This is a basic Hotel, big white tiles on the floor, plenty of cupboard space, FREE wifi (fast), big comfortable bed and nice size bathroom, open with no shower curtin (this could be a challenge for some as water does go everywhere but it does drin fast. The staff at this Hotel are very friendly, they can pick you up from the airport for around Thai 600 (USD15) in a clean car. The Hotel is located at the end of a small street that runs into the creek that runs through the beach. The location suited me as I like the walk to the beach and it was out of the way from the night noise of Patong. The Hotel has a small bar with cheap drinks next to a small but deep and clean swimming pool.

Seriously if you are after a clean, affordable small Hotel this area has heaps and this is one os several I have stayed in. I plan to stay at another very close to this that looks even better but Square One is great value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristian_page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2009

I was planning for a 4day/2night vacation and booked standard triple room. The hotel is nothing like what you see in pics here!
There is no lift. So it was a pain to go all the way to 4th floor. Pool is also very small.

Most disappointing thing was the behaviour of the staff. They were not friendly and the price they quoted for packages for phi-phi/ james bond island tours was also very high. Worsst thing is they were not even giving Soap !! We had to go all the way down to reception and ask for it ! Note that there is no phone in the standard room :) There is no breakfast.

It is definitely quite far from Bangla road, about 25-30 mins walk.

On the positive side, the room was clean. It is 10 mins walk to the beach.

Will I go back to this hotel again ? Never ! I can spend a bit more and stay in real hotel !

  • Liked — None
  • Disliked — Many negatives!
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank raju_rr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I stayed there with my bestfriend just last month and we loved it the staff were so helpful and went out of there way to help us the rooms were clean and nice everything worked out well. its only a short walk to the shops and plenty of places to eat out and the best bit was it was only like a five minute walk to the nightlife and shops so what more can you ask for its cheap and great so we will be going back next year

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celena00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Good location. Couple of hundred metres from the Mercure. Walk to the beach. Close to some pubs and restaurants.

Rooms are clean and adequately large. Unspectacular but larger and cleaner than expected. Bed is huge. Airconditioning/TV worked well. Showerhead was weak.

Staff were helpful.

Free internet was fine.

Swimming pool is tiny but it did not concern me. I didn't know they had one until I saw it. You can use the Mercure's pool, just walk right in!

Hotel-airport pickup is somewhat comparatively expensive.

This is a budget hotel. Quality exceeded expectations. I recommend Squareone if you're on a budget and if you're someone with realistic expectations.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smelted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
New Life Phuket Design Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ramaz
Hotel Ramaz
#185 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baantonsai Garden Resort
Baantonsai Garden Resort
#202 of 321 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andaman House
Andaman House
#160 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paripas Express Patong
Paripas Express Patong
#239 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bad Boys Guesthouse Patong
Bad Boys Guesthouse Patong
#140 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squareone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squareone

Property: Squareone
Address: 241/34 Rat-u-thit Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Squareone 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squareone offers luxury rooms at budget prices in the south end of Patong, only a five minute walk to the fantastic white sand beach and local entertainment spots. We are in easy reach of the town centre, bars, restaurants and shops. Squareone has a swimming pool where you can chill out and relax, or browse the net using our free wireless WiFi. Squareone emphasizes personal service and our staff are committed to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Squareone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squareone Hotel Patong
Squareone Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing