We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Squareone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Squareone
Ranked #164 of 306 Hotels in Patong
home
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

Good location. Couple of hundred metres from the Mercure. Walk to the beach. Close to some pubs and restaurants.

Rooms are clean and adequately large. Unspectacular but larger and cleaner than expected. Bed is huge. Airconditioning/TV worked well. Showerhead was weak.

Staff were helpful.

Free internet was fine.

Swimming pool is tiny but it did not concern me. I didn't know they had one until I saw it. You can use the Mercure's pool, just walk right in!

Hotel-airport pickup is somewhat comparatively expensive.

This is a budget hotel. Quality exceeded expectations. I recommend Squareone if you're on a budget and if you're someone with realistic expectations.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smelted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    25
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
19
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

This hotel had to be the worst hotel i stayed in during my trip to South East Asia. Not only was management rude but were very unaccommodating.

Upon arrival we found out that our third bed (room for 3) smelt of bourbon and puke. When we asked to change it they refused to change it, even though thru out the course of our stay there was literally a spare bed in the hallway outside our room not 10 steps away.

The fact is they had the bed there but refused to change it even though it smelt positively revolting. At every south east asian hotel you can always expect very friendly staff and smiles all around. The front concierge is a man that is just plain rude and has a very carefree attitude.

One last reason not to go to this hotel is the sewerage system is not hooked to phukets normal sewerage system, hence every night a truck comes and picks it up thru a pipe right thru the lobby. The smell is disgusting and isn't the nicest thing to come back to after a hard days out in sweaty phuket.
I definitely do not recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123qwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Booked Squareone from [-] after reading reviews from traveladvisor. True enough. A decent, clean, new hotel with a small clean pool. There were 4 of us and we booked a triple room for only 900baht. The room is at the corner with the small pool and mountain view. They never question us when there were 4 of us. The internet is free to be used at pool side. Can get wi-fi with my lap top from the room. Located just off the Bangla Rd. Real near to lotsa restaurants, shopping and activites around. Just 2 streets away from the beach and action. A real value for money accomodation.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small pool
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jentmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

I booked this place on hostelworld bc it got reall high reviews, and we were not disappointed. There were 3 of us looking to share a room, and SquareOne was extremely accomodating. When we arrived the staff was warm and welcoming and bc our original room wasn't ready, they upgraded us to one of the larger rooms for free.

Our room had a double sized bed which my friend and I shared, with an adjoining room that had a futon/couch in front of a very nice TV and dvd player. We even had a closet, full of fresh clean towels suitable for the shower OR the beach! Lets just say, after staying in some dilapidating places in Thailand, we were extremely happy to find SquareOne.

The hostel is about 15 minutes from Patong Beach. On the plus side, its away from the hustle, bustle and noisy touristy areas of Patong. On the down side, it was still a 10 min walk to the beach, and at least 15 min to Bangla Road (where all the nightlife and craziness of Phuket is located) but hey, we got our exercise in!

The staff were so always so nice, always smiling and it was nice to see their friendly faces. On days when we were exhausted, we'd come home in the afternoon and just crash in front of the TV and watch the Heroes marathon that seemed to always be on, lol. We all agreed that SquareOne was nicer than some of the hotels we've stayed at in the US! Defitinely stay here, the price for this type of accomodation is unbeatable!!!

**Just look at our pics, see how happy we are!?

  • Liked — The room and service!
  • Disliked — Only 2 computers :(
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank patches762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed here for a few nights during our stay in Phuket. The room was new and clean, and was fairly sized. I payed a extra fee for upgrading to a deluxe room, it turned out the room didn't have any windows at all ! Very disappointed, but that was the only big problem with this hotel/hostel. The staff where friendly and helpful. Also a free internet service was available for us. OneSquare is located in a calm area of Patong and a short walk to the beach. There where some building activity during they day while we stayed there. Only a temporary problem i guess.

PROS:
* Friendly staff
* OK location, short walk to the beach
* Clean and new
* Free internet

CONS:
* No windows in our room, even though it was a deluxe room :(

  • Liked — New and clean
  • Disliked — no windows in our room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Superion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

I stayed here with my Thai boyfriend for 4 nights. We rented the suite which was at the end of the building and had a seprate bedroom and a dvd player. The staff were fantastic to us. Automatic motorbikes were avaialble and the free internet was fast and always available. You cannot find better for the money. Near everything but feels far away. Great place

  • Liked — location frinedly staff
  • Disliked — noisy construction next door daytime only
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenixtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

Me and my best friend stayed here for our two nights in phuket. Nestled in between the roads and buildings and little hotels was very clean and welcoming. Beds we the best and the aircon was great. The bathrooms however we another thing. The water was pretty gross but you get that everywhere in Asia. Comes with the experience. Overall the hotel would be great for young travelers or those not worried about where you sleep.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — the bathrooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jarrah_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
AsiaLoop G-House
AsiaLoop G-House
#210 of 306 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baantonsai Garden Resort
Baantonsai Garden Resort
#218 of 306 in Patong
3.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
1.1 mi away
Priew Wan Guesthouse
Priew Wan Guesthouse
#114 of 306 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chang Residence
Chang Residence
#145 of 306 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#75 of 306 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
99 Residence Patong
99 Residence Patong
#207 of 306 in Patong
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squareone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squareone

Property: Squareone
Address: 241/34 Rat-u-thit Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 306 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Squareone 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squareone offers luxury rooms at budget prices in the south end of Patong, only a five minute walk to the fantastic white sand beach and local entertainment spots. We are in easy reach of the town centre, bars, restaurants and shops. Squareone has a swimming pool where you can chill out and relax, or browse the net using our free wireless WiFi. Squareone emphasizes personal service and our staff are committed to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Squareone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squareone Hotel Patong
Squareone Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing