We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After 8 years of Travel to Phuket, This is still the best place to Stay”
Review of Amanta House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanta House
Ranked #271 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed September 11, 2009

My friends and I booked 3 rooms at the Amanta House on 2nd road in Patong for 7 nights in September. I have stayed here many times and was curious if the economic downturn would have effected the hotel. It did not. The rooms are large with in room safe, great daily maid service. (They wait until you leave to clean the room. No knocking on the door). Jacques the Canadian owner will check on you and will see if you need anything. FREE PHONE CALLS to North America. Yep, free. That saves a lot on the phone cards. Free internet, wireless or wired. If you ask, they will provide an ethernet cord which has some of the fastest internet in the area. I watched television being streamed from America with no trouble. In room safe, Breakfast is served till NOON and it is great!!!! Not a buffet, but made to order. The apartment rooms are huge with a bath. (a rare thing for Thailand). The Standard rooms are of deluxe quality in most hotels. The owner has a travel agency around the corner that can handle any travel plans or issues. They speak FLUENTLY, English, French, Thai and Czech. The staff is friendly and can have a car at the front door in minutes, should you desire. The location is in an area with many outdoor restaurants around the corner with two money exchange booths and a minimart. Laundry service, hair cut, massage, motorcycle rental etc. in the same plaza. International television from American, Europe, Australia, France, etc. Soft drinks and beer are priced fairly right downstairs. I keep trying to find a better deal and am always drawn back to this hotel. Save yourself the trouble and stay here. No moldy smells or old disgusting linens. Quality service, rooms and amenities. The price is great. Stay a little longer on your vacation/holiday as you will save money by staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doninusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 22 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2009

I stayed here 19Aug-2Sep during the "low season". The hotel is literally right around the corner from a very large food court area with just about everything you could want. Down the main road from this hotel about 2 or 3 blocks on the left is a sort of covered bazaar with a lot of clothing. I highly reccomend this place because many of the items I bought there I later saw for sale closer to the beach/Bangla at much more inflated prices (60% in some cases). It's not much to look at from the road but it is CHEAP! The Bangla Road nightlife was a bit of a walk, but not too bad. The hotel is very quiet at night and I appreciated that. The beach can be walked to in about 5 minutes. The breakfast is served until noon which I GREATLY appreciated as I love to sleep in late on my vacations........maybe nurse and hangover or two! The breakfast it's self is good but 3 choices over 2 weeks got a little old. The best feature of this hotel is the excellent staff. The manager is a very nice lady named "Kon" (spelling?). She called around to find the best deals on taxis, car rental, good massage spas, anything. Also, I was negligent and forgot to use sunscreen on my legs and had the worst sunburn. When she saw it, she stepped next door to somewhere and returned with a large aloe leaf and a knife and told me how to use it. That was a life saver. In general this hotel is good for just about any type of traveler. The rooms are not extravagant but it's obvious to me that a lot of hard work has gone into this hotel to make it have enough charm to make it something more than just a room. And again, the helpfulness of the staff put it above others. My only complaint about the rooms themselves would be that my air conditioner had a very bad odor when first turned on that would go away in about 10 minutes. I checked the filter and it seemed clean enough so not sure where this came from. The price I paid was about 900 baht a night and I booked through hotels.com. Keep in mind this is during low season. Thank you for the great stay Ms. Kon!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stonecutter35777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Great oriental design... Very suitable for couples. We went in a group of 5 people, a couple and 3 of us. I was shocked when the window was a see through one from the room into the toilet, not use to it. In the end we had to stuck a towel there to cover up. The bed is quite comfortable even though i had the extra bed. The toilet is very pretty with a big shower head and beautiful colour combination, which also happen to make the room looks dark at night, too dark for finding things.

The hotel also offer transport service from airport to hotel for THB 900 for max 6 people for one van (which seems to be able to take 10 ppl). very comfy van and it takes bout 45 min from airport. But on our return journey we found a van driver who took us for a 6 hr day trip the day before, and who offer to take us to the airport at THB 700 and the counter staff was bit not happy bout us not taking their transport instead.

The counter staff does not speak good english, only one lady who could speak it well but she was not there most of the time. We had to struggle to express our needs to them but at least we managed to get some travel advice and rates.

the beach was indeed 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel. Pretty view and lots of activities over there. Maybe we went during the off peak season, there was not many occupants. There is no water heater to cook own water, or telephone. But the place provides bottles of mineral water foc everyday in the fridge. The place itself does not serve food at night also so we end up buying food back on our own. Breakfast is nice but portion might not be enough for those who are used to buffet breakfast.

All in all it is a very pretty place to stay at the end of the day for your basic needs, and the staff still smile to us at the end of the day :)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashinozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

This hostel was great to stay at, particularly for its price bracket. It is within easy walking distance to Patong Beach and shopping areas, plus plenty of great eating options nearby.

The staff were also very friendly and really helpful.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable, inexpensive to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cat0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

The Amanta House is a beautiful, stylish hotel. We were delighted when we first saw our room, it was so tastefully decorated, with a huge bed and very spacious. The bathroom was big with a rainforest shower and plentiful hot water. Our room at the Amanta was one of the best things about our stay in Phuket.
The hotel is no more than 5 mins from the north end of Patong beach. This is a good location as the beach here is busy but not overcrowded. The water is crystal clear, warm and safe for swimming.
The Amanta is also close to a nightmarket where you can find cheap, authentic Thai food and fresh sea-food, which means you could holiday at the Amanta and never need to go anywhere near the seedy night-life of central Patong.
There were only two negatives about the Amanta. One is that the breakfast choice was v limited to American or Continental breakfast. There was no Thai option. However, breakfast was served from 7.30am to 12pm, beat that! The second thing is that after 5pm, there was a young man on reception who didn't speak a word of English. He was very sweet and had no problem taking keys in and handing them out, but could not help with anything else. This meant that we had to remember toask all of our questions (taxis, trips, airport transfers etc) during the daytime which was a bit of a pain sometimes when we forgot.
Overall the Amanta house is a wonderful hotel and we would happily return here.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isis109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

As the previous reviews have mentioned this hotel is in a perfect location and quiet. We had a room close to the stairs on the first floor and unfortunetly some of the guests are not as thoughtful when coming in or when leaving early in the morning.
Tha ambience of the room is delightful and the fact it is a small hotel gives an intimacy to the place. I would definetley go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lynda99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

The Amanta House is the perfect hotel for a vacation to Patong Beach. The Amanta House is on a quiet street with just a ten minute walk to the heart of Patong Beach. Every morning our family slept until ten o'clock due to lack of noise and the comfy beds. Once we all enjoyed hot showers and soft bath towels we were treated to great breakfasts served with fabulous Thai hospitality.

Just down the street is a tour office which offers many tours and activities. We went on two of the tours and were very satisfied. There are many places to eat, shop and cash machines within a five minute walk. If this is not enough, there is a tuk-tuk every minute passing by or the hotel is always willing to book taxi.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank altschwabing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,245 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#50 of 331 in Patong
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#18 of 232 in Patong
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
1 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 331 in Patong
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanta House

Address: 5/17 Hat Patong Road 83150 | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Hotel Class:3 star — Amanta House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanta House Boutique-Hotel will refresh your senses! Enjoy the best the island of Phuket has to offer. Centrally located, only 400 meters from world-known Patong Beach and its crystal-clear water, our superbly appointed Sino-Thai styled guest rooms and apartments will surely satisfy even the most demanding traveler. What makes us different than other small hotels? Unique style, warm atmosphere, outgoing staff, central location and affordable prices! Our private garden area at the rear of the property is also unique and perfectly suited for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanta Hotel Patong
Amanta House Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing