We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For couples and honeymooners”
Review of Amanta House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanta House
Ranked #268 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Great oriental design... Very suitable for couples. We went in a group of 5 people, a couple and 3 of us. I was shocked when the window was a see through one from the room into the toilet, not use to it. In the end we had to stuck a towel there to cover up. The bed is quite comfortable even though i had the extra bed. The toilet is very pretty with a big shower head and beautiful colour combination, which also happen to make the room looks dark at night, too dark for finding things.

The hotel also offer transport service from airport to hotel for THB 900 for max 6 people for one van (which seems to be able to take 10 ppl). very comfy van and it takes bout 45 min from airport. But on our return journey we found a van driver who took us for a 6 hr day trip the day before, and who offer to take us to the airport at THB 700 and the counter staff was bit not happy bout us not taking their transport instead.

The counter staff does not speak good english, only one lady who could speak it well but she was not there most of the time. We had to struggle to express our needs to them but at least we managed to get some travel advice and rates.

the beach was indeed 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel. Pretty view and lots of activities over there. Maybe we went during the off peak season, there was not many occupants. There is no water heater to cook own water, or telephone. But the place provides bottles of mineral water foc everyday in the fridge. The place itself does not serve food at night also so we end up buying food back on our own. Breakfast is nice but portion might not be enough for those who are used to buffet breakfast.

All in all it is a very pretty place to stay at the end of the day for your basic needs, and the staff still smile to us at the end of the day :)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashinozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Amanta House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2009

This hostel was great to stay at, particularly for its price bracket. It is within easy walking distance to Patong Beach and shopping areas, plus plenty of great eating options nearby.

The staff were also very friendly and really helpful.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable, inexpensive to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cat0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

The Amanta House is a beautiful, stylish hotel. We were delighted when we first saw our room, it was so tastefully decorated, with a huge bed and very spacious. The bathroom was big with a rainforest shower and plentiful hot water. Our room at the Amanta was one of the best things about our stay in Phuket.
The hotel is no more than 5 mins from the north end of Patong beach. This is a good location as the beach here is busy but not overcrowded. The water is crystal clear, warm and safe for swimming.
The Amanta is also close to a nightmarket where you can find cheap, authentic Thai food and fresh sea-food, which means you could holiday at the Amanta and never need to go anywhere near the seedy night-life of central Patong.
There were only two negatives about the Amanta. One is that the breakfast choice was v limited to American or Continental breakfast. There was no Thai option. However, breakfast was served from 7.30am to 12pm, beat that! The second thing is that after 5pm, there was a young man on reception who didn't speak a word of English. He was very sweet and had no problem taking keys in and handing them out, but could not help with anything else. This meant that we had to remember toask all of our questions (taxis, trips, airport transfers etc) during the daytime which was a bit of a pain sometimes when we forgot.
Overall the Amanta house is a wonderful hotel and we would happily return here.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isis109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

As the previous reviews have mentioned this hotel is in a perfect location and quiet. We had a room close to the stairs on the first floor and unfortunetly some of the guests are not as thoughtful when coming in or when leaving early in the morning.
Tha ambience of the room is delightful and the fact it is a small hotel gives an intimacy to the place. I would definetley go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lynda99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

The Amanta House is the perfect hotel for a vacation to Patong Beach. The Amanta House is on a quiet street with just a ten minute walk to the heart of Patong Beach. Every morning our family slept until ten o'clock due to lack of noise and the comfy beds. Once we all enjoyed hot showers and soft bath towels we were treated to great breakfasts served with fabulous Thai hospitality.

Just down the street is a tour office which offers many tours and activities. We went on two of the tours and were very satisfied. There are many places to eat, shop and cash machines within a five minute walk. If this is not enough, there is a tuk-tuk every minute passing by or the hotel is always willing to book taxi.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank altschwabing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

We had an absolutely amazing time at Amanta House.
The rooms were perfect and everything went so smoothly. We have many wonderful memories. I am definitely going to recommend your hotel to some friends of ours who are thinking of traveling to Thailand.

Thanks!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Thaijake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

Stayed here for four nights in August 07 (two nights at first and we came back for two more nights a few days later, after visiting Phi Phi Island).

Hotel: a Chinese-traders themed boutique hotel with only 10 rooms, located in the heart of Patong (side street from a main road) at five to 10 minutes walk from Patong Beach. The theme of the hotel is used throughout and in detail, giving it a special intimate atmosphere. Clearly a lot of work and love has gone into creating this place. The hotel has free in-room broadband Internet access (wired in every room, and in addition wireless in some rooms), plus free usage of an Internet PC downstairs for those without laptops. Breakfast is available until midday in the restaurant next door (owned by the hotel), an excellent feature for those wanting to sleep in. The hotel is owned and managed by a Canadian/Thai couple. It opened less than a year and a half ago.

Location: the hotel is located on a side street, a minute or two walk from a main road in downtown Patong Beach. A number of excellent and economical seafood restaurants operate on the sidewalk of the nearby main road, and banks, convenience stores, beauty parlours which also offer good massages, and other shops are located nearby. The whole of the Patong downtown can easily be walked from the hotel. The beach can also be easily walked to.

Room: the rooms we had (204 initially, and 203 the second time) were of a good size, one themed in blue and the other themed in pink and green. As elsewhere in the hotel the overall theme was Chinese with a lot of attention to detail. The website of the hotel offers an interesting explanation about the philosophy of the differently coloured rooms (each room in this hotel has a different colour theme). Items in the room included a working desk and chair with ethernet port for Internet access (wireless also available as mentioned earlier), TV with up to 50 satellite channels (although some were a bit snowy), in-room electronic safe, wardrobe, a good split-cycle air conditioner with remote and room temperature indicator on the wall unit, and an excellent, firm and comfortable king-size bed. The room had a decent sized balcony overlooking the street, with chairs and a table. There is a fridge in the room which can be filled with drinks available for purchase from the hotel (at reasonable rates; 40 baht for a beer for example) or from elsewhere. The bathroom also was great with a very big showerhead, and a Chinese designer wash bowl, in line with the overall theme.

Cleanliness: very good.

Breakfast: choice of breakfast was available at the restaurant next door, which is owned by the hotel. We chose American breakfast each morning (included in the room rate) which was good.

Staff: friendly and helpful, although some had limited English. However the Canadian owner, who speaks English as well as French, is often around, usually in the mornings.

Booking: had booked at wotif on the day of arrival, only about five hours beforehand, and the booking went through fine - we were expected when we arrived. We paid 950 baht per night, a good low-season rate.

Internet: whilst most large luxury hotels still charge for Internet access, this place has free broadband Internet access available in each room. Both wired and wireless Internet is available in the hotel plus a PC downstairs near the lobby which guests can use free of charge. An excellent initiative.

A few comments: the rooms are on levels one, two and three and there is no lift, so people with mobility problems who cannot climb stairs should not stay here. Hot water is solar powered, and the second two days that we stayed at the hotel there was no sun, and subsequently the water was relatively cold (this was in room 203). However as the days were hot anyway this was only a minor inconvenience. The Aman Grill restaurant located next door, where the breakfast is served, has no air conditioning nor fans, which means that on hot days it can be quite warm there if you get a late breakfast. Management could perhaps look at installing a few fans in there.

Restaurants: next door to the hotel is the Aman Grill restaurant, a small place which is owned by the hotel. Despite it having a full dinner menu, when we stayed it was only upon till noon (for breakfast only). Other than that, within a few minutes walk there are various other restaurants on the main road which serve good quality seafood dinners as well as a large variety of other dishes (beef, chicken, noodles, etc.). Additionally, the entire downtown area of Patong, with its hundreds of bars, restaurants, shops, massage parlours etc. can be easily walked from the hotel.

Shopping: as the hotel is close to the centre of Patong, shops line virtually all streets in the area.

Transport: shuttle van from the airport to the door of the hotel costs 150 baht per person, taxi 550 baht.

Climate: we were there in late August and the weather was above 30 degrees most days and relatively sunny with infrequent showers. The second two days we stayed there the skies were overcast. However these were the only two overcast days in a period of several weeks that we stayed in the Phuket area.

Conclusion: this character boutique hotel was creatively designed and appears to be well managed. The fact that it is clean, economical, in a central location in Patong, with good aircon and has free Internet makes it an excellent option for those who do not require a beachfront hotel. Due to its Internet access it is suitable for both tourists and business people.

Click on my name to see my other reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
#36 of 328 in Patong
413 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,898 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
1.1 mi away
Lavender Hotel
Lavender Hotel
#149 of 409 in Patong
122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coconut Village Resort
Coconut Village Resort
#68 of 328 in Patong
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanta House

Address: 5/17 Hat Patong Road 83150 | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Hotel Class:3 star — Amanta House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanta House Boutique-Hotel will refresh your senses! Enjoy the best the island of Phuket has to offer. Centrally located, only 400 meters from world-known Patong Beach and its crystal-clear water, our superbly appointed Sino-Thai styled guest rooms and apartments will surely satisfy even the most demanding traveler. What makes us different than other small hotels? Unique style, warm atmosphere, outgoing staff, central location and affordable prices! Our private garden area at the rear of the property is also unique and perfectly suited for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Amanta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanta Hotel Patong
Amanta House Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing