We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay away from tropica” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropica Resort and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Ranked #125 of 319 Hotels in Patong
montreal
1 review
“stay away from tropica”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

i stayed there for 3 days, it was a nightmare for me, the rooms are old and dirty, bathroom smells so bad, u can see lot of insectsarounds and even rats,they charge extra fees to bring a guest, no wifi connection in the rooms... u may think to save little money by booking at this hotel but u will ruin ur vacation

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    75
    27
    18
    24
See reviews for
29
61
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Very convenient location, right opposite to the Putong Beach and 30 meters from the entrance to Bangla Road. Nighttime is a bit noisy indeed, so if you are not interested in nightlife and are a light sleeper, don't stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank remmahramklov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

Stayed here for 7 nights March with a group of friends.

Location is about 1mins walk (30seconds walk if u exclude time it takes to walk up the driveway) from Bangla road.
We did not want to walk ages to return to our hotel after a night out, or haggle with tuktuks to get a lift home, so the location of this place was perfect.

Like the name suggests, this is purely a bungalow type setup with a nice swimming pool. Great garden surroundings. However the place is filled with mosquitoes! they are everywhere.. in the rooms, bathrooms, outdoors etc.
We found this to be the case with all rooms we had booked with our friends at this place.

Room size, bathrooms, fridge, secure safe all provided and pretty much standard.

Breakfast is very standard as well. So this may or may not dissapoint some travellers. We were pretty happy with the food provided.
Dinner at the restaurant was pretty good as well.

Service is great. Very charming and friendly. No dramas with answering any questions or helping sort out any problems.

Because the location is so close to bangla road, you will hear the music in your rooms. This can go up until late at night (3am). So take this into consideration if you want to stay here.

Great place for short stays, party goers, friends. But probably would not recommend to familys, romantic stays or senior people due to the noise and mosquitoes. There are probably better places to stay for the price u pay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

I have mixed impressions about this hotel. It is conveniently located one step away from bangla road and patong beach but on the other hand the music is annoying until 4.00 am. The garden is lovely and I also enjoyed the small pool. The staff is great, helpfull and willing to help. The restaurant at the front of the property is rather cheap providing a variety of dishes. Wireless internet is free at the restaurant from 12.00 to 18.00.
The a/c is old and rather noisy, but ventilator that I prefered cools room efficiently.

The problem with my stay at tropica bungalow were the rats...... Every night at about sunrise rats were making any kind of strange noises somebody can imagine. I guess that the wooden structure is a great environment for them. It was a first time experience for me and It took me 3-4 days to understand the cause of the noises. I changed room the last night I stayed there and I finally managed to get a good nights sleep.

Anyway, tropica bungalow was a rather bad experience for me. If I hadnt experienced this, my grade would be 4/5 but now I think that they owe to do something to solve this problem.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patong hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

It is very close to the Patong beach just 5min walk, but in the evening the music of the various nightclubs you can hear it very well.

not suitable for family with kids. but still an ok hotel to stay when you are a solo traveler.

Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.0 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#87 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#142 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rico's Hotel
Rico's Hotel
#107 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#37 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#59 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropica Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropica Resort and Restaurant

Property: Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Address: 132 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropica Resort and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropica Hotel & Restaurant is located just a few meters from the beach in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Tropica Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropica Hotel Patong
Tropica Resort And Restaurant Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing