We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Ranked #108 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We returned to Patong Beach after about 10 years and wanted to stay right in the heart of things and Happy to say we were not disappointed with the location.
On our arrival we had made arrangements to be collected from the airport and taken to the Tropica a great start to the Holiday, driver and Cab waiting for us at arrivals and only 700 Bhat
Check in was quick and easy and fast, even asking for the total amount for the 11 nights before we even got the key but after saying we were to pay cash and had to go to the exchange in the morning they let us in.
The rooms were a good size but as a big as they made them look on the web site. The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels, soap and drinking water ( 1 bottle each ) the bed was changed on several occasions with crisp white linen.
Breakfast is included and of a very good standard with ample choice including eggs cooked for you, Fried/Omelette I'm sure she would even have done scrambled or boiled, plenty of choice of other breakfast foods enough for anyone, Don't forget it's only a 3 star. Has to be said a great breakfast to start the day.
Restaurant was handy and a varied menu we used it on several occasions and enjoyed what we had.
The Rules - They do have several rules and one is that you cannot bring in outside food or drink in to the Tropica, We did every day we brought extra water from the little shop on the corner of Bangla Road, we took in our own mixers for our own Vodka also brought locally we even brought a bag of ice, snacks and biscuits, this was one rule I could not agree with very petty and unfair. I must say that what ever I brought in I took out to the bins opposite the Tropica.
Overall had a great stay and would like to thank all the hard working staff for making it special.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    84
    29
    18
    25
See reviews for
32
68
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Been here to celebrate my daughters 16th bday, we love the place and the exotic gardens and kids loves the swimming pool , they have very friendly English speaking staffs, very polite< they even offer an orchids bouquet n card to greet my daughters bday. The room is typical but clean, breakfast buffets excellent for a King, They had a nice Filipino band playing in the resto at night. Hotel facing the beach of Patong, Very Close to the busy Bangla rd on the right side and the shopping center of JungCeylon> On the right side of the hotel you have travel trip stool and ready to book you for your island hopping or elephant trekking you can pay right away for 30 pounds for three persons and they will picked you up right in front of the hotel and bring you back with no puss n hassles. I love this hotel and I kept with me those beautiful shots of their exotic garden.

Room Tip: Close to everything, very exotic and close to the beach a haven of stay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariandid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice place next to rush and noisy Bangla rd. with excellent services. Rooms are cleans, space and light. No bugs, no cockroaches,.. Everyday clean towels, new soap, 2 bottles of water for free. During your reservation ask for the room on the right side of the compound (as far as possible from Bangla road) and you will get excellent and quite location for your holiday with 30 meters to the beach and everything around (shops, restaurants, bars, apotheke, massage, shopping,..)

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the right side of the compound (as far as possible from Bangla road) and you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janpinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is situated at the ever busy Patong beach road and within near walking distance to Bangla Road. What's lacking is the main signage to this hotel and there's only one narrow road (able to fit one vehicle) leading to the main reception. They provide a decent pool but beware of mosquitoes because it's the tropical concept. The room is alright, equipped with 40" LCD TV, fridge, hairdryer and safe deposit box. My room number was 014 and you can hear gigantic rats moving about in the ceiling towards the evening. You must keep the room door close at all times, otherwise the mosquitoes will start crashing in. The staffs were friendly and they speak good English too. The hotel owns a restaurant too and patrons of the hotel get 20% discount.

P/S they are currently doing some renovation and extension so given time, they'll look even better in future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkKSLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claflin, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Tropica hotel was a very nice spot close to the beach and all the action on Bangla road. The rooms are clean and very nice but they just had to many rules for me. First you cant bring outside food or drinks (I was stopped with a small grocery bag and six pack and was told I cant bring that to my room). The biggest one was that they charge a 500 baht fee for "guest". Im pretty sure I paid enough for my room I can have someone over if I want. But if your just in patong to relax (yeah right) or a couple traveling together this is a great hotel. If your a single traveler and are looking to party and not have hotel staff stop you for something half the time I would recommend going somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The bungalows are very clean and spacious. Staff is friendly and helpful with any request or questions. The location couldn't be better. Bangla road dead ends at the beach turn left about 50 feet and your at the hotel. Only a few blocks from the mall. Complementary full board breakfast every morning in their restaurant. Nice pool and a 500 usd joiner fee for any guest you would like to spend the night. I will return again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneek, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

it was a great holliday again.Always stay the same hotel (already 12x) ,so you can understand that i like this hotel very much. It has simple but clean rooms, very nice staff and excellent restaurant. I am sure i will be back next holliday

Room Tip: take a room on the right site so you will have less problem with music from bangla road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#150 of 322 in Patong
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rico's Hotel
Rico's Hotel
#115 of 322 in Patong
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Absolute Bangla Suites
Absolute Bangla Suites
#83 of 322 in Patong
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#25 of 322 in Patong
1,262 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#39 of 322 in Patong
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropica Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropica Resort and Restaurant

Property: Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Address: 132 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropica Resort and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropica Hotel & Restaurant is located just a few meters from the beach in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Tropica Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropica Hotel Patong
Tropica Resort And Restaurant Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing