We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“robert mcnamara”
Review of Tony Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tony Resort
Ranked #68 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 300 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Booked this after reading reviews, I certainly do not recommend this hotel. Paid for the deluxe room, certainly not my idea of deluxe, only light in the room was from a small window in the door to the balcony. It just looked tired and worn out. It is in a good location and easy to walk to places is the best I can say about it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Centrally located to Patong Beach, plenty of shopping and restaurants and bars, the Tony Resort was an awesome place to stay. I showed up with a large group of friends who had pre booked their rooms for the Songkran festival early and got really inexpensive rates. The staff, although short on rooms gave me the early booking rate, but just had to have me move around to three different rooms for the week we were there. A mild inconvenience since it was my fault for not planning ahead. All the rooms I stayed in were large, clean, comfortable, with freezing air conditioning.


The hotel itself I would have to give four to five stars, especially for the inexpensive price per night. The staff was more than friendly, and in my situation during the busiest time of the year, more than helpful. Also the hotel has free WIFI and a computer in the lobby which is great so you can check in back at home, or respond to business emails. I definitely would stay at Tony Resort again and recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: If your with friends or family, you can get rooms that connect with a door in the shared wall. Prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I chose this hotel based on location. The rooms are very tired and the hotel dirty. We stayed for 2 weeks and if I hadn't prepaid would have checked out early. The room was never cleaned properly. In the two weeks the toilet wasn't cleaned at all! We had to continually ask for toilet paper as they would forget to replace. There was a kettle in room but no cups or anything els you may need to make a tea or coffee. The front office staff were unbelievably rude and unhelpful. Of my 7 trips to Thailand this was by far the worst place I have stayed and the least friendly staff.

Room Tip: We were ground floor and it was terribly noisy. I would not stay in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simski64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a deluxe room, with view of one of the two pools. Breakfast was included and we did not try other meals at their restaurant. Located where all the tourist action is but set back from the street so quiet at night and just a short walk to the beach. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. There is an additional charge for airport transfers. Hotel has a ramp at entrance and a lift so special needs accessible, which can be difficult to find in Asia.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seafare74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

To cut it brief: Stay away from this terrible place. While Phuket generally is a nice place with friendly people, the staff at Tony are unfriendly, treat you like you are constantly in their way and, if you happen to not be a white european man, they are right out hostile.

We had booked 13 nights at Tony, but chose to leave after 8 nights. As the manager is never present, and the other staff ceases to speak English the minute you have a request, no refund was given.

Our white friends have been allowed to walk freely in and out of the hotel to see us for an occational afternoon game of backgammon on the balcony, or for a morning swim in the pool. However, when friend who happenes to be coloured came to pick us up for dinner, we were instantly charged 500 baht for bringing extra people to the room, or as it evolved, to be allowed in on the premices. The staff failed to explain the reason for this, as their English skills vanished instantly as we questioned this decision.

Our best advice is to stay away. This hotel's policy is violation of anti-discrimination laws in most western countries, and in our opinion it is an outrage that the booking agencies are listing this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vivastar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I booked 6 nights but stayed 3. The only plus this hotel has is the location, but one can get better deals by looking around. Do not believe some of the Good Reviews of this place, the Manager bribes some tourists to write good reviews to lure unsuspecting tourists and cheat them.
When i arrived, the room i had booked was already occupied. My partner and I were shocked to find opened luggage with clothes strewn on the bed and a lap top in the room. Looks like the staff do not keep proper records and made a big cock-up. We did the honest thing and quickly informed the hotel and returned the keys to the reception.. We were then moved to another room. It was such a deplorable state. The air conditioning was not working, there was No wifi despite the false claims in Agoda.com. After insisting on a room change, we were finally given a simple room- the air conditioner was leaking. Breakfast was very mediocre and not up to any decent standard. The staff also were quite cunning and would pretend they did not hear us when we had asked for our change for booking a taxi to Kamala Beach. We had asked for a wake up call at 7am and we did not receive it. The room was never cleaned at all much to our disgust. Once again, the staff played nilly willy with us. We moved out to a better hotel a few doors away but we feel that fellow travelers should be vary and avoid this hotel if possible. Don't be fooled by the photos, the hotel is old and decrepit. When we checked out we were charged about AUD 10 for water, despite the fact the hotel was supposed to provide complimentary mineral water to guests. We refused to pay and stood firm. From reading some of the bad reviews here, it looks like the staff are playing nilly willy and tend to over charge tourists. For example our taxi to Kamala beach was supposed to be AUD 20 but instead we were charged double by the Hotel staff. We moved into the Amata Hotel after leaving this deplorable place was superb and we enjoyed the rest of our stay in Phuket.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavePatto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
The Viridian Resort
The Viridian Resort
#124 of 331 in Patong
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#39 of 331 in Patong
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aspira Prime Patong
Aspira Prime Patong
#76 of 331 in Patong
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nipa Resort
Nipa Resort
#114 of 331 in Patong
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashlee Hub Hotel Patong
Ashlee Hub Hotel Patong
#105 of 331 in Patong
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Patong Cottage Resort
Patong Cottage Resort
#177 of 331 in Patong
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tony Resort

Address: 206/30 Rat-U-thit 200 pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $50 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tony Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE THE UNIQUELY CLASSIC WARMTH OF AUTHENTIC THAI HOSPITALITY IN ONE OF PATONG'S MOST LONGEST ESTABLISHED RESORTS IN THE HEART OF PATONG, IN PHUKET, SOUTHERN THAILAND. Welcome to Tony Resort Patong, a rare vintage in the heart of Patong. As one of the one of the longest-established resorts in Phuket, we have a legacy of authentic hospitality to live up to at Tony Resort Patong, where the warmth of traditional Thai hospitality lives on in an oasis of secluded tranquility. We invite you to get away from it all and relax by the large pool in a quiet and secluded corner in the heart of Patong, just a short walk from Patong Beach and right on the doorstep of Phuket's most vibrant night entertainment district. At Tony Resort Patong we make your holiday enjoyable and truly memorable with a variety of accommodation options in pleasant surroundings and the warmth of authentic Thai hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tony Hotel Patong
Tony Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing