We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Laimai Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here March/April 2014,(2 adults 14 nights) we chose this hotel when we stayed in Patong last year 2013 as we had a quick walk through, it looked lovely on first impressions. If I had investigated more in depth i don't think we would have stayed here.
I have been holidaying in Patong since 2008 and this is the first time i was disappointed with our accomodation. The hotel looks newly renovated and yes it is, but only the check in area, the rest of the hotel is getting a bit dated, we had a deluxe pool view room on the third floor, the room itself could do with a bit of updating, very basic,
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bad Points:
shower head was cracked allowing water to spray into down light (had to use a face washer to stop this)
Very basic furniture in room
Chairs on balcony would fall apart
Bar fridge was not cold enough, and no little freezer compartment.
Some lights not working.
Balcony doors were double glazed (fogged up with moisture) so looked misty all the time.
Pool is very shallow, especially around pool bar. (waist deep)
Staff not the happy smiling friendly thai's i am used to.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Good Points:
great location, walk to everything.
good selection at buffet breakfast.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Overall, we had a great time in Thailand as always.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    442
    210
    118
    121
See reviews for
311
540
99
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Me and my partner stayed at the Baan Laimai from the 28th of March till the 11th April 2014. On the surface the resort is Fantastic.... great central location across the road from Patong Beach. On staying there it's is like others have said in reviews...... I thought the place was new... but it is a redeveloped resort....... nice but some bits are old and broken...... and the staff as reviewed prior were "Quite Rude" especially at the pool bar....... another thing is the pool looks amazing but is so shallow around the pool bar even an ant couldn't drown... not joking... I'm 180cm tall and the water there came up to just below my knees.....Also be warned you inspect everything in your room for damage and cracks or chips on arrival..... When we arrived one of our glasses was cracked... we did not report this so on departure we were told a glass was missing!, when we left there were definitely 6 glasses in the room including the cracked one. Also another thing was the shower head... it was a rainfall square head that had a huge crack in the top that squirted water directly at the down light directly above the shower. Also the resort is not finished so if you have toddlers....... be aware of the NO barrier's in the stairwells........ Now having read my review it is really not "CHILD SAFE"......there are better out there...an also reviewing this while I type I would reduce my "Rating" to a 2 our of 5 for families.

Room Tip: Don't go near the rooms towards the front of the Resort otherwise you will be awake with the ban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaris1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

stuff not nice for no reason, all employees looked like they are doing time (jail), never a smile, breakfast.... they are never ready at opening time, and when you have a tour to catch at 8 you expect the kitchen to be open and serve on time.
rooms not clean, furniture looks abused.and bitten up old, look at my pictures.
i couldn't understand the send on the floor under the bad, until i looked under the bad to see that the termites are working over time and no body cares.
we booked 3 rooms for 8 nights, left the room 3 nights latter to a better cleaner hotel in town.

Room Tip: best room to choose is at another hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We booked the most basic room with this hotel, which I highly recommend NOT to book. It was totally seperate from the main hotel and was in worse condition possible. The shower was not working and the door looked like they were made in the 18th century. But the overall properly is very good with the beach being right across the street. I would suggest this hotel for sure but with right room.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saxshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damansara, Malaysia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The standard room we got was reallyy spacious, clean and very comfortable! Awesome pool and great live music! Stayed here the first time in 2013, coming again on the may 15th-18th :) If anyone wants to chill and meetup for drinks, message me :D

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keigan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and had an awesome time! Loved the massive pool and the swim up bar. We really made the most of it during the hot days. The beach is also right across the road, but you won't get hassled for a jet ski ride at the pool.

You're also so close to Bangla road, no need to take a tuk-tuk back to the hotel after a big night out :)

The staff were friendly, the rooms were comfortable, spacious and air conditioned. Breakfast was also really tasty with fresh eggs cooked the way you like them. Wi-Fi is also available everywhere, even by the pool.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't leave the balcony doors open during the night unless you like mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickV82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed in Deluxe room, but as the room was close to the street, we could not sleep without earplugs. Every evening the hotel restaurant has live music. Someone is singing until midnight or more, so this means that we felt like there is someone singing in our room, not outside. The music was so loud that I even wanted to go and complain, but as it is Pattong beach, I did not do it. Deluxe room is not worth of the money. I only suggest you to stay in room close to the pool. I am a young person and usually never complain, so I don´t even understand how families with children can stay in such room. Overall the hotel was good, food was really good, also the pool was perfect. Just the rooms close to the street should cost as less as possible (and have sign that noisy rooms).

Room Tip: Deluxe room close to the street - terrible Pool view room - perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leilani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.5 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.5 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#24 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#29 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Laimai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Laimai Beach Resort

Property: Baan Laimai Beach Resort
Address: 66 Thaweewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Laimai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Laimai Beach Resort is located on the beach road of the most well-known “Patong” beach, right in the midst of entertainment and shopping area, with just crossing the road to the beach. Featuring in-house restaurants with Thai, Western cuisines and tasteful seafood from Andaman sea. Offering the lagoon-size swimming pool where you can take a break at the cozy pool bar. The fitness facilities will give you relaxation and relief from your everyday stresses. Experiencing beauty & recreation on Patong Beach or alternatively strolling for lively entertaining & shopping. You may have it all with us in making your perfect stay at Baan Laimai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Laimai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Laimai Beach Hotel Patong
Baan Laimai Beach Patong
Baan Laimai Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing