We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“agreeable but not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort
Ranked #239 of 307 Hotels in Patong
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“agreeable but not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Most of the guests are Russian. Hotel needs some renovation and modernization, although it says that is just a kilometer from the center is hardly walk and because it is located on a hill and the best bet would be to rent a bike. Otherwise the atmosphere is pleasant greenery, flowers and even birds.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EliVal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    41
    42
    13
    16
See reviews for
26
45
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here in the first week of June on an exchange from RCI . Although there were mixed reviews on trip advisor regarding Royal Crown we decided to go ahead with our booking and I must confess that it was worth it . Right from the moment we landed at Phuket Airport we were really taken good care of - the Front Desk girls suggested our trips and they made a marvelous job of it . We had a whale of a time on both the tours that they suggested and my teenage daughters soaked up the activities like snprkelling . kayaking and diving . There are a lot of small restuarents within a 5 minute walk and if you are a non vegetarian you will have plenty of choices from Thai,Italian and even Spanish ! It is located on a sloping hill side and the views are marvelous . I would certainly recommend Royal Crown for a family holiday .

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors - you have an interrupted view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prasenjit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place was not so great with rooms looking quite old.But the inside pool and its location on hill make it look good from outside.This place was offered as a gift for us .so we could not avoid going.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Sriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The room is avg but everyone that is needed was provided such as hair dryer....drinking water.....towels and etc....but the service at the reception was great....everyone was very kind there....just that it was very awkward that the cleaners just knock and opened the door when i was sleeping during noon time but as soon as they saw me they said sorry and left and next day they told me to put the sign out so it wont happen again. Overall the hotel's very good for its value and the location is very good, about 10-20 min walk to the beach and is away from the bangala road so its not noisy at night times.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otterlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days and was impressed by the customer service provided by the reception counter staff, e.g. offering affordable day trips without having to bargain hard, reminding us to get the complimentary beach towel from reception counter before we head out.

Make sure you take advantage of the complimentary bi-hourly hotel shuttle bus to/ from the mega shopping mall jungcelyon.

Had a nice view of patong beach from my hotel room, since this hotel is located uphill so it overlooks other nearby buildings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wallflower69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel is very comfortable and the stuff is very nice,but it's a little far from the downtown ,about 15 minutes walking. Anyway, my stay in there is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rongguang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel is cheap and you get what you pay for, so don't expect luxury! It's basic accommodation, the beds are fine and firm, the rooms kept clean by the staff, and all mod cons are available - air con, tv, fridge, toiletries and towels.

We had asked for a twin room, but we ended up with a double - however, after asking, the staff basically separated the double bed which was actually two king singles, so no big deal. Clearly the beds had not been moved for a while as there was a considerable amount of dust & rubbish under the beds. The staff promptly cleaned this up, but during the move, it also exposed to us the dodgy wiring in the room. There were also a lack of plug sockets around the room, which when you have phones, cameras, hairdryers etc to charge/use, can be a bit problematic.

Out of 5 lights in the bedroom, only one worked.

The pool area is great to lounge around in, and the hotel provides pool towels. It's general location is away from the hustle & bustle of Patong and is a good 15-20 min walk to the beach and Bangla Rd. It's also in a fairly hilly area, and to get the hotel on foot, you walk up a fairly steep incline.

Overall, it was not a bad place to stay and worth the price we paid - but do not expect a great amazing hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floss747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.9 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#161 of 307 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Patong Holiday
Patong Holiday
#278 of 307 in Patong
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
3.8 mi away
Karon Village Hotel & Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
YK Patong Resort
YK Patong Resort
#275 of 307 in Patong
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kris Hotel and Spa
Kris Hotel and Spa
#261 of 307 in Patong
3.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ansino Bukit Hotel
Ansino Bukit Hotel
#96 of 391 in Patong
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort

Property: Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort
Address: 31 Na Nai Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#67 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crown Hotel And Palm Spa Resort
Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Patong
Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing