We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“agreeable but not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort
Ranked #241 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Most of the guests are Russian. Hotel needs some renovation and modernization, although it says that is just a kilometer from the center is hardly walk and because it is located on a hill and the best bet would be to rent a bike. Otherwise the atmosphere is pleasant greenery, flowers and even birds.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliVal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 144 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here in the first week of June on an exchange from RCI . Although there were mixed reviews on trip advisor regarding Royal Crown we decided to go ahead with our booking and I must confess that it was worth it . Right from the moment we landed at Phuket Airport we were really taken good care of - the Front Desk girls suggested our trips and they made a marvelous job of it . We had a whale of a time on both the tours that they suggested and my teenage daughters soaked up the activities like snprkelling . kayaking and diving . There are a lot of small restuarents within a 5 minute walk and if you are a non vegetarian you will have plenty of choices from Thai,Italian and even Spanish ! It is located on a sloping hill side and the views are marvelous . I would certainly recommend Royal Crown for a family holiday .

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors - you have an interrupted view of the sea
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prasenjit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place was not so great with rooms looking quite old.But the inside pool and its location on hill make it look good from outside.This place was offered as a gift for us .so we could not avoid going.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank Sriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The room is avg but everyone that is needed was provided such as hair dryer....drinking water.....towels and etc....but the service at the reception was great....everyone was very kind there....just that it was very awkward that the cleaners just knock and opened the door when i was sleeping during noon time but as soon as they saw me they said sorry and left and next day they told me to put the sign out so it wont happen again. Overall the hotel's very good for its value and the location is very good, about 10-20 min walk to the beach and is away from the bangala road so its not noisy at night times.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days and was impressed by the customer service provided by the reception counter staff, e.g. offering affordable day trips without having to bargain hard, reminding us to get the complimentary beach towel from reception counter before we head out.

Make sure you take advantage of the complimentary bi-hourly hotel shuttle bus to/ from the mega shopping mall jungcelyon.

Had a nice view of patong beach from my hotel room, since this hotel is located uphill so it overlooks other nearby buildings.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wallflower69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel is very comfortable and the stuff is very nice,but it's a little far from the downtown ,about 15 minutes walking. Anyway, my stay in there is very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rongguang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel is cheap and you get what you pay for, so don't expect luxury! It's basic accommodation, the beds are fine and firm, the rooms kept clean by the staff, and all mod cons are available - air con, tv, fridge, toiletries and towels.

We had asked for a twin room, but we ended up with a double - however, after asking, the staff basically separated the double bed which was actually two king singles, so no big deal. Clearly the beds had not been moved for a while as there was a considerable amount of dust & rubbish under the beds. The staff promptly cleaned this up, but during the move, it also exposed to us the dodgy wiring in the room. There were also a lack of plug sockets around the room, which when you have phones, cameras, hairdryers etc to charge/use, can be a bit problematic.

Out of 5 lights in the bedroom, only one worked.

The pool area is great to lounge around in, and the hotel provides pool towels. It's general location is away from the hustle & bustle of Patong and is a good 15-20 min walk to the beach and Bangla Rd. It's also in a fairly hilly area, and to get the hotel on foot, you walk up a fairly steep incline.

Overall, it was not a bad place to stay and worth the price we paid - but do not expect a great amazing hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Floss747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#155 of 328 in Patong
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
AsiaLoop G-House
AsiaLoop G-House
#298 of 328 in Patong
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azhotel Patong
Azhotel Patong
#167 of 328 in Patong
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chang Residence
Chang Residence
#169 of 328 in Patong
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Patong Cottage Resort
Patong Cottage Resort
#195 of 328 in Patong
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raha Grand Hotel
Raha Grand Hotel
#272 of 328 in Patong
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort

Address: 31 Na Nai Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#72 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $16 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Patong
Royal Crown Hotel And Palm Spa Resort
Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing