We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was better in person!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Palm Beach Front
Ranked #115 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The pictures from the other guest are NOT updated. We booked our room on Expedia and we were very pleased with the location, room, and staff. As the name said "beachfront" and it has been renovated. The staff are super friendly and very helpful. The side streets has been all paved from last year. The only down fall to this area is that, there is not enough street vendors. Way too many over priced restaurants. The hotel is within walking distance to everything! Had a great visit and will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna_k89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 332 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked through agoda.com for 4 nights. Hotel is right on the beach & in the heart of town. Nightlife, dining, tour agencies, car/bike rental & shopping all walking distance (pretty much right at your doorstep). Rooms were very spacious & clean along with the bathroom.. Very decent for what we paid. Friendly staff, cheers to barman at the hotel for making our long islands for us every night before we would head out (Number 1 in Patong!). Word to the wise...If you are going to drink the bottled water from the minibar, makesure to check the used by date.. A friend of mine drank a bottle of expired waterwhich was provided by the hotel & he was extremely sick within a short amount of time after drinking it. Over all stay was pretty good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LouisPasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This August I visited Phuket for a holiday along with my friend. The holiday was fabulous and we enjoyed all sorts of after and adventure sports. Our stay at the Royal Palm Beach front Hotel in Patong was very comforting and made the holiday ever more charming and memorable. The hotel is situated at the Beach front and everything is accessible at walking distances, be it the market or the famous Bangla Road. The services and the rooms offered by the hotel were top class and I would definitely recommend it to everyone, not just beacuse of its location but also because of it s services. I would like to add that the Breakfast served to us was healthy and tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I got to know this promotion from the Groupon website. Visited the website and it seems not that bad. However, it is not what i have expected. Went 5days back with my partner for a 3D2N trip.

First impression of the hotel was bad, there are no air-con in the lobby, no lift, it was humid and the staffs don't look very welcoming. I guess the hotel is still under renovation as we saw some work being done at the restaurant lobby. There are no welcoming drinks nor proper check-in procedure. The staff just handed the room key to me without even having any eye-contacts or smile at me. I requested for a higher floor (due to the past good reviews) and was given the 4th floor. But to my disappointment, the views of the room that was given was a turn off. What i can see is just another building beside it. The toilet has an odour whenever i flush it, the water heater did not work as well. I understand that this is not a 5 star hotel, hence, i just make do with it. In addition, in the middle of the night, there was no water supply when i wanted to go to the toilet. It was rather disappointing though. The swimming pool is too small and spa & massages is just a small area beside the pool. The benches are too old and i guess everyone would rather go to Patong beach for the suntans.

However, there are of course some pros of the hotel. The location of the hotel is good as its just a walking distance away from Jung Ceylon shopping centre. On top of it, the burger king and Starbucks are just beside the hotel. As the burger king is 24hrs, you are able to go down and have a bite whenever you are hungry. And Patong Beach is just opposite the hotel. Other than that, there is nothing much.

Overall, disappointing experience =((

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTan_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

OK the hotel is a budget hotel, - but:
At arrival I was taken to a room with "balcony". The only "problem" was that they had just placed a sliding door 1 meter into the room from the concreet wall that had not even a window. You could then go out on you're "bacony" were thay had placed some paintings on the wall. A real fire trap.
I went down to the reception and demanded another room with a window. The other room had no hot water and the so called wifi was so slow that it was not possible to connect. I woke up 06 in the morning in a overgeated bedroom due to no electricity and of course the no aircon.

Packed my suitcase imediately, went down to the reception and checked out of the "hotel". Taxi directly to Millenium instead.

Keep away from this place!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bjarte1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked here through the tourist information whilst arriving at patong. The paphlet we were given to show the hotel looked very promising, on the beach front with lovely pool area.spa and whirlpool etc.
We arrived to find a hotel squashed down a side street leading down to the beach so all views from the rooms were off the building either side which was disappointing. We paid for a deluxe room with double bed but were given basic room and two single beds, when i questioned this we were moved to room with double bed but there was nothing deluxe about it so not sure what the difference would have been from superior basic to deluxe. Furthermore disapointment to find building work in action at the side of the building just below our room window and at the front of the building which was noisy from 8am till late at night. Breakfast was good with a decent selection on offer and the restaurant at the front served good food. On the roof top where swimming pool was seemed ok,but whirlpool wasnt working,water features just worked but looks dirty and warn. Pool water was very dirty and not sure if ever cleaned. The hotel was ok for short stay but alittle disppointing to have been recommended with a false image.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just came back from a week long diving trip to Phuket and was booked into this hotel by my agent.
Other than the location, the value for the hotel is extremely poor, compared to what similar spec'd hotels charge in the Patong area. The brochure that was shown to me before the visit and the in person experience had a vast gap. My problem was that it was all paid in advance, so had no choice but to stay for 7 nights.

5 primary negative experiences:

1. Wi-Fi : Free internet in room was promised,but as it turned out, it worked only in the corridors. As a result most nights I was sitting on the stairs downloading my emails. Trying to rectify it did not help as the problem was in all rooms

2. Noise: Right next to my room was another resort that had a live band playing till midnight every night. Very loud, no option of tuning them out. Add to that the hotel is undergoing renovation and during the day there were construction related noises as well

3. Cleanliness - the maids and staff were ok, but overal facilities were poor. The shower had low pressure, the bathroom by design itself was B-grade

4. No elevator / lift : All the rooms are on 2nd and 3rd floors, accessible only by a single dim staircase.

5. Service: Last and most irritiating point was the level of service. C'mon this is a country and city where service levels are exceptional. Thailand is known as the Land of Smiles, but this hotel seems to be completely isolated. Very unhelpful staff, in their own world, not bothering to take care of the guests. The hotel has no dedicated reception or front desk executives, so the bell boys double up for the job. Poor at English and horrible at customer service / resolution. At breakfast time - every single day the staff would be at a huddle, chatting loudly among themselves and one would have to repeatedly wave and seek their attention for getting a spoon or salt or whatever. I would rate this hotel as the worst in customer service.

Only positive for the hotel and the reason why I give it 2 not 1 star is the location. Ideally located on Patong beach, very accessible for all activities and sights. B

But if one is prepared to walk a few hundred metres away, one can get a much better option at a third of the price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#49 of 329 in Patong
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#163 of 329 in Patong
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Orchid Inn
Grand Orchid Inn
#154 of 329 in Patong
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Patong Swiss Hotel
Patong Swiss Hotel
#233 of 329 in Patong
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Patong Pearl Resortel
Patong Pearl Resortel
#200 of 329 in Patong
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Palm Beach Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Palm Beach Front

Address: 66/2 Thaweewong Rd., Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $25 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Palm Beach Front 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few step to the beach Near Patong Nightlife & Shopping ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Palm Beach Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Palm Beach Front Hotel Patong
Royal Palm Beach Front Patong
The Royal Palm Beach Front Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing