We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay anywhere else?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Expat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Expat Hotel
Ranked #100 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

I have stayed at the Expat two more times since my last review http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g297930-d557854-r33877271-The_Expat_Hotel-Patong_Phuket.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT In Oct 2009 and June 2010 and I will be returning for my 4th trip in June 2011. Why stay anywhere else? Really!

Ok, I understand families and honeymooners maybe looking for a little bit of luxury in paradise, but If you're a solo traveller or travelling with friends to party then I cannot imagine why you'd go anywhere else!

Expat is 100 metres from Bangla Road, 150 metres from Jungceylon shopping centre, 400 metres from the beach. It has a swimming pool, a sports bar, a restaurant an onsite massage and sauna (extra cost) and is lovely and quite while being right in the heart of the action!

The staff are just the best, from reception to bar to restaurant to cleaning to Security and the managers, all are there to make sure you have a perfect stay, not just at the hotel but in Thailand. Really top class!

The rooms aren't the best, a little basic but always clean and you are getting what you pay for after all.

Since my first trip they have renovated the bar area, built a spa area and I believe have now renovated the restaurant. Just shows that the management wish to keep upgrading the hotel and are willing to invest money to keep up their high standards.

My favourite things about the Expat are the pool area, great for meeting people and making friends if you're on your own. The location, can't be beat! And the staff, Brilliant!

Sure, maybe you can find a better quality hotel for the money but you'll just pay the difference in taxis and travelling

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepred2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    84
    21
    15
    12
See reviews for
9
36
85
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

This is an excellent hotel right in town that is set just far enough away from the main street to enable a calm and airy atmosphere with palm trees, restaurant/bar/ with sports tv, spa and a nice pool. I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and find it to be continually improving in quality of service and facilities. They offer a range of ancilliary services such as motorbike rentals and laundry next door. A great spot with good staff for those wanting to be close to the action but not right in the middle of it. I found the rates to be very reasonable .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britishmum87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worlddivingtraveller
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

Ok, so (we) have stayed at the Expat several times before.
Not again: here is why;
The overall Cleanliness has been falling, and to be honest is now poor (dirty rooms, the bathroom and toilet were never cleaned), New towels folded yes, bleach thrown over the floor yes, dirt swept away and toilet cleaned, no.
Aircon failed many times, shower blocked, floors dirty with long hair, rubbish under bed filthy, toilet stank, door locks broke, fridge failed.
the point being that standards have continued to decline, and maintainance seems to becoming an issue.
the former happy reception staff have gone, and now replaced with a truly miserable young girl.
the location is ok, but there are now far better cleaner and more modern accomodation all around, the price is no longer reflective.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worlddivingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

We had arranged a pick up from the airport through the hotel and, after hearing some horror stories about Phuket from other travelers,were relieved to see our driver waiting for us when we arrived at the airport.It was actually nice to be in a car where the driver wasn't trying to come first place in some kind of local derby like we had just endured going from Kanchanaburi to Bangkok airport.
The moment we arrived at the hotel we were made to feel like family.I was a bit concerned about moving more than 5 foot from my pack,but the 24 hour security guard made it a little easier.The ladies at reception gave us cold water and face wipes which was heaven sent after a long day of traveling.We didn't even get this kind of service from some of the top end hotels we had stayed at in Chaing Mai.Check in was quick and easy then we were shown to our huge rooms(they are huge compared to others throughout Asia)then told about the free bbq that night.
We then hit the bar and met Martyn (bar manager) Apple and Kay.They were more than willing to give us all the best tips of what the go is in Phuket,good and bad.
After partying for a couple of days I became very ill,not sure what it was I caught but was bed ridden for a couple of days.In all my travels throughout Asia I have never been so ill.The way the staff looked after me at the Expat was unbelievable.I was fed home made soup,made sure I had enough bottled water and (I think her name is Annie) would ring and make sure I was ok and if there was anything she could do for me .
2 minute walk to Bangla Road,big and clean rooms and a great swimming pool.I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Patong

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

Tried to get discount on room rate, no go. Dont like the idea of having to pay 40% upfront, so reduced booked days and decided there whether to continue required extra days. First night put in ground floor cheaper room (1590b) - Horrible!, had a damp musty smell as one previous reviewer mentioned. Could barely sleep from it. Next day said not happy, show me others. Was shown "best" balcony room (1990b), didnt like it much like first. Shown first floor #209 (1790b), was good, walls were fresh white, no smell so used that for full stay. Size nothing special but clean and made up well everyday. Only flaw was shower drainage, too slow so partially floods bathroom. Shower good tho. Bathroom seperate room, can close door on it. Air Con great with remote, worked well. TV very basic but ok. In room safe works. Bed large, hard but clean. Bar fridge ok. Lovely view from room overlooking pool area. Patio outside can sit on. All rooms say No Smoking but I did, so shoot me. Ordered food to room (burger) was a hassle no phone link to kitchen, Restaurant being renovated. Food (meat) smelt off I didnt touch it. Dont rely on theyre food. Best was view when leaving room, very cozy, lots of green and nice clean pool with plenty lounge chairs around. Great spot for relaxing. Onsite massage service, not bad. Location excellent, close to action but just far enough for some quiet from all the noise and bustle. Just few blocks away from Shopping Centre Jung-Ceylon (nice). No danger walking up street, well lit at night. Internet near reception (3) very slow, no sound and very basic. Just good enough to check your emails. Go elsewhere for better internet. All in all its the cozy feel and location that makes up for this hotel. Reccomend for singles and couples not families. Oh they have a bar where you can drink all day with plasma TV. I didnt like they charged me 3% extra for paying off room balance with Visa - thats greedy! She said it says so on their site, but it doesnt. Not nice. Hope this comprehensive review helps you in your choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OzzieBusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinnar, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

I returned to the Expat after having a great time there 10 months ago,nothings changed the place is still a gem.Even with renovations going on in the resturant the meals are great served at the bar or pool.Service from all the staff is A1 from the reception, cleaning, bar and the security all friendly and helpful.Laundry and massage people on site make this the full package.Maybe not for families but singles and couples all seem to mingle well at this Hotel. Being close to Bangla rd. just makes it even better......

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnP3840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Myself and 3 friends stayed at the expat for 10 days during August.

Summary of pros for staying at the expat:
- Fantastic location. Very close to Bangla road, yet far away enough so you dont hear the late night noise.
- Cheap as chips
- Staff EXTREMELY friendly and accommodating. Very attentitive to any problems you may have with rooms. Will quickly sort it out or provide a new room for your stay.
- In room safe or at reception security box available free of charge
- Great night security who helped us alot
- Hotel bar is very cheap, great service and weekly pool competitions.
- Fantastic swimming pool, always kept clean and surroundings were always spotless.
- Rooms, however average, are spacey and comfortable, and quickly cleaned each morning.

Summary of Cons:
- Few problems with bedroom eg. toilet leaking, taps not working consistently
They were all the problems we faced in the 4 rooms we stayed in for 10 days.

Other considerations:
- Couples looking for romantic getaway may want better views (there are none?)
- No lifts available for senior people. May have trouble getting up stairs
- No breakfast (although fantastic restaurants available across the road)
- Expat was going some very very minor rennovation during August (i.e repainting the exterior) the noise from this may annoy some people?

Would definitely be staying here again on my next visit to Phuket.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Acca Patong
Acca Patong
#127 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Expat Hotel Patong Center
Expat Hotel Patong Center
#145 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#47 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#87 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
P.S. Hotel
P.S. Hotel
#150 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Expat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Expat Hotel

Property: The Expat Hotel
Address: 163 / 17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Expat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Expat Hotel is a quiet and tranquil oasis right in the heart of the pulsating nightlife of Patong Beach. We are located only a one- minute walk to Soi Bangla for bars and entertainment; two-minute walk to Jungceylon for a unique shopping experience; five-minute walk to the beach to enjoy the Andaman Sea. We have a large swimming pool, set in relaxing landscaped gardens, and a coffee shop/restaurant serving Western and Thai food at reasonable prices. There is also a Sports Bar showing live sports via satellite and playing classic rock music as well as a spa, sauna and massage on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Expat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expat Hotel Patong
The Expat Hotel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing