We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, nice staff”
Review of The Expat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Expat Hotel
Ranked #101 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Great location and staff was very friendly. Rooms and whole hotel area were clean. It was great to spend time in the pool area. Sports bar you can spend some nice time with beer or drinks. I really can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kabb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 211 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

Awesome place to stay if you want to be in the centre of Patong, the rooms are clean, serviced daily if requested, the restaurant serves great food, the spa is great, has a great bar with amazing staff! All the staff are there to please, highly recommend The Expat!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Like everyone else has said, if you're not expecting 5 star but want want good value for money this is the spot! Clean rooms, right next to Bangla Road for the party, warm and friendly staff and a great pool to lounge around during the day. The Expat Sports Bar next door is a great place to have a few relaxed beers and play pool. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel for the money we paid.

Room Tip: Pool is quiet so even the pool facing rooms are not disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebluetyphoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

If you enjoy the party scene then expat is a good place to stay. It's a 2min walk to the chaos of bangla road which has everything you would ever need.

Room tip: super deluxe. The deluxe room is basically smaller, even the bathroom is smaller. So for the slightly extra charge you will be grateful for the room to breathe in a super deluxe.

Didn't really use the pool. Don't think I saw it being cleaned in the entire week I was there. The spa was reasonably priced, the restaurant serves good food at a good price too.

Areas for improvement:

A Sweep around the pool area every night would really improve the presentation of the pool area. De-clutter it as you can't really get to the rooms without jumping over sun beds.
Soft drinks taste like rubbish, probably not using actual cola so doesn't taste right.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Indy_biker600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Although I did not stay at this hotel my daughter and myself visited the sports bar for a drink,heineken for my self coke for the daughter the price came to 100bht i handed the bar girl 1000bht and waited for the change.....no change forth coming so...my comment excuse me may i have my change .....no change 100bht.was pointless arguing as 2 neanderthals asked us to leave so just letting you know be wary of being ripped off in their sports bar...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Earl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My first stay. It's so close to everything and doesn't cost a fortune. Not many younger people stayed here so by Patong standards very quiet but only 4 minutes to JungCeylon and Bangla Rd! Rooms basic but everything works and the staff are super friendly and helpful! The bar is good and the restaurant serves good food at the right price! There is a laundry 20 metres from the hotel and all my washing was well done, pressed and on time!! There is a spa that was open 1030 till late!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Having visited once before I decided to revisit as both the service and facilities were spot on. We stayed in the cheaper guesthouse but the hotel runs a Tuk-Tuk service between the two, free of charge. It's only a couple of minutes drive but it saves you a lot of time and it's a God send if it is raining. The actual hotel allows you to use the swimming pool and the area is equipped with a bar, restaurant and pool table. Situated a 100m from Banglar Road it is a great, cheap place to stay. With the beach at the other end of Banglar Road there is no complaints. One of the young staff Anne even took the three of us out one night to show us a cool local cocktail flaring bar! The rooms were equipped with televisions with a good range of English speaking channels and the showers were warm, so all is well for people looking for some home comforts. It's well worth checking out if you are travelling around Patong on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davebrannen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
#85 of 329 in Patong
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#53 of 329 in Patong
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
K-Hotel
K-Hotel
#83 of 329 in Patong
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#38 of 329 in Patong
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelly's Residency
Kelly's Residency
#108 of 329 in Patong
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Expat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Expat Hotel

Address: 163 / 17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $26 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Expat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Expat Hotel is a quiet and tranquil oasis right in the heart of the pulsating nightlife of Patong Beach. We are located only a one- minute walk to Soi Bangla for bars and entertainment; two-minute walk to Jungceylon for a unique shopping experience; five-minute walk to the beach to enjoy the Andaman Sea. We have a large swimming pool, set in relaxing landscaped gardens, and a coffee shop/restaurant serving Western and Thai food at reasonable prices. There is also a Sports Bar showing live sports via satellite and playing classic rock music as well as a spa, sauna and massage on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Expat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expat Hotel Patong
The Expat Hotel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing