We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Expat Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Amari Phuket(Patong)
$147
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$100
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
$110
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of $180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Deevana Patong Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
$69
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nap Patong(Patong)(Great Value!)
$85
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burasari Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
$104
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$171
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$213
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
75
97
26
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
97
26
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbangla roadexpat barrooms are basicbangla rdbalcony roomclean poollarge bedpool areanight lifethe location is perfectmini barmin walkpatong beachexpatsactionnightlifenoise
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 225 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I haven't stayed here for some time but really enjoyed the two times I've stayed here. Rooms are basic and a little small but you pay for what you get. Staff first class friendly & always helpful. Can get a little busy around the pool at times. A little nosy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwardgarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I will start with the good, that being the location, for anyone wanting to enjoy the nightlife of Patong, then Expat Hotel is a great location to do that from, as it is only about 3 minutes walk and you will be at Bangla Rd. The staff here are all lovely, especially Apple at Reception and Lucky in the cafe. The rooms are very basic, but always kept clean which is good. The pool is also always clean and a nice way to keep cool whilst recovering from a big night.
Ok to the bad, well it is called the Expat hotel, and that is very evident in that every afternoon a group of mature expat british blokes descend on the pool area with very little regard for paying guests. I presume these blokes don't stay at the hotel, but must have some arrangement with the owner, because they practically take over the pool area and make it impossible for anyone else to have a relaxing quite and peaceful afternoon by the pool which is disappointing. I would have thought some preference to paying guests would be given by management but like I said I can only presume they contribute to the hotel in some way as they just seem to come and go as they please.
Overall if you are looking for a clean, staff friendly budget hotel in a good location, then Expat Hotel is that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DockerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Yes i have just returned from another great holday in Patong ! the Expat Hotel the same as always making sure everybody has a super relaxing time ! all the staff do there bit to make sure all your needs are seen too ! and Annie the manageress is 2nd. to none, she will sit and talk about ones needs and do her utmost to help ! I have already booked up for the 1st. 3 weeks in October ! and looking forward to it even at this early stage ! you just cannot beat this hotel !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nst60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The best address in Patong beach!

The Expat Hotel is my second home. Excellent location, just 2 minutes walk to Bangla Road. It's in a quite street, so you can stay in the heart of Patong but without noise of nightlife.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank giovannii42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

After a frustrating tour of trying to find a room in Patong after our ants and room without a window episodes in my other reviews and quite many "sorry we are full" (even though showing space in Booking.com) we ended up here.

Hotel is a bit expensive compared to more modern and newer hotels near by. It is also already has rather retro feeling. Like stepping back to Phuket 10 years ago. But it is clean and staff is nice and polite. Location also very good with close to Bangla but quiet still.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hakahaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews