We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of The Expat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Expat Hotel
Ranked #98 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I'v been to expat many times and it great! Great location, nice restaurant, pool with nice palm trees surrounding it and the beer garden is also very good. The staff have have always been nice exept 2 who quit working there a few years ago, the rooms are average in my opinion but its ok for me. This hotel attracts mainly single males but its good for couples and families aswell, many nice people from aussie and sweden stayes here, I hope to get a room in january.

Robert from sweden

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roobis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    88
    22
    15
    12
See reviews for
9
36
87
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thalang, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This Hotel was chosen because it has a Sports Bar and sponsors the local Patong Cricket Club. They offered us a reduction of about 100 Thai Baht per night, so the cost per night was 1,100THB.
There are two Bars/ Restaurant with good service and a very large space for entertaining. The`Sports Bar had sports on the screens all day. The Restaurant Bar closes at 11pm and The Sports Bar at 1am. There is a good size swimming pool and tables and chairs to sit around the pool. The area was often busy, mainly alot of Groups, and Aussies. A Friendly atmosphere.
The food served however was disappointing. A friend had just had fish & chips and said it was good. I ordered the same, but sadly the fish was uncooked on the inside.
The same friend found urine on his floor, when he checked in to his room. He was offered another room.
My room was very basic, with all the usual facilities, plus wi-fi and cleaned daily with fresh towels. But my overhead fan was visibly dirty and falling off the ceiling. I reported it and was attended to promptly, but no improvement.
The Hotel is located in a good area, a huge shopping Mall, with a large food hall within 5 mins walk. The night life is within minutes, a popular disco right at the corner and Bangla Street across the road. Also diagonally opposite is a very cheap but good restaurant serving good and freshy cooked Thai food. Further along the road, about 2o mins walk pas te shopping Mall is Shakers, which serve good Farang food, the ribs are excellent and eat as much as you like!
The hotel staff were nice and friendly, but room and food substandard for that price.

Room Tip: Do not accept the room offered, until you have checked it out first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taggsy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingKlong, Manager at The Expat Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Please accept our unreserved apologies for the urine on the floor. This must have been from the previous guest, but it was on the floor inside the clothes cupboard and was overlooked by the room maid, who didn't look inside the cupboard. We assure you that our rooms do not normally have urine on the floor and that we can understand your horror on finding something like that in one of our hotel rooms. However, the damage has been done and we can only express our embarrassment over this incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I would like to thank the Expat for making my trip to Phuket a great experience. The Room was great, loved the shower, bed was comfortable. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Meals were good and the staff go out of their way to ensure the guests enjoy there stay. Also make a good coffee in the morning. I will certainly be staying at "The Expat" on my next visit to Patong Beach. Only thing i would suggest is maybe more than two pillows on the bed but that is really nit picking.... Great hotel, i will recommend to my friends

Room Tip: having stayed there now, not that there anything wrong with my room, but next time i will choose a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingKlong, Manager at The Expat Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you Richard. It makes us at Expat feel good when guests enjoy their stay. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

stayed at the expat again got welcomed by the staff like a old friend met heaps of people service was fantastic its more a single mans hotel and it is guest friendly if your single its the place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingKlong, Manager at The Expat Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks, David, for a balanced review. Your comments are just about spot on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Booked online via sawadee.com and had no problems checking-in, all rooms have pool view and located on two floors. Very spacious with basic facilities, would be a good idea to have more shelves in bathroom. Bed very very hard, which is not unusual in Thailand, no coffee making facility, so bought travel kettle from mall.
The pool was excellent and is a focal point each afternoon for many people who stay close by to have a few drinks, mainly Australian who are sociable and can be a great source of information about the surrounding areas, they all seem to have great stories to tell.
The hotel location is perfect for the beach and Bangla Road which are only a few minutes walking distance away, so no expensive taxis, which all seem to have a minimum 200 baht charge in Phuket.
The staff were all helpful and cheerful and the hotel had a number of parties during my 6 night stay, Olympics, BBQ, running club, but no noise could be heard from room which was great.
Overall, would recommend for those seeking good nightlife or beach activities and Jungcelylon Mall was an excellent place to spend time shopping or eating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Rigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

stayed at expat for 4 nights in july 2012.a/c unit didnot work(room225)room was hot in day time.two australian gentlemen were main employee at hotel whom did not talk or answer me .they only comunicate with few australian guests at hotel.thai receptionist were nice but they hardly spoke english.i found expat aracist hotel and its good only for australians.it was a mistake for me staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mohammad n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingKlong, Manager at The Expat Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
We see a turnover of several hundred people a week at the Expat Hotel & Expat Sports Bar. It is not possible to give personal attention to each and every guest, but this should not be misconstrued as "racism". Expat Hotel welcomes all guests, irrespective of race, creed or colour. The majority of our guests are Australian: is it any wonder that we devote the majority of our time to them?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erina, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

stayed Expat for the third time,for two nights June 2012.Stayed poolside room.Was woken 8am by construction work to pool after arriving night before,then found out pool was closed for about a week for renovations.Would have been nice to have known this prior as I would had booked elsewhere.
upon checkout was asked to pay full room rate,even though when I booked was told I would be given a 15 percent discount for being a loyal customer(I was given the cheaper rate after explaining this)I was then asked to pay for airport transfer from arrival,which I had already paid for!....unacceptable,will never stay this hotel again.

Room Tip: close to the action,but there are much better alternatives..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingKlong, Manager at The Expat Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Regrettably, swimming pool maintenance was necessary at the time of Steve's stay. It was scheduled at the time of year that our rates are lowest and Steve received a discount for the inconvenience. Exact schedules are hard to tie down in Thailand. Apologies to Steve, but this maintenance is sometimes necessary.

Steve paid his airport transfer charge directly to the limousine driver whereas Expat Hotel policy is to charge his room account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Expat Hotel Patong Center
Expat Hotel Patong Center
#142 of 322 in Patong
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
#86 of 322 in Patong
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#47 of 322 in Patong
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rico's Hotel
Rico's Hotel
#115 of 322 in Patong
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#37 of 322 in Patong
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Expat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Expat Hotel

Property: The Expat Hotel
Address: 163 / 17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Expat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Expat Hotel is a quiet and tranquil oasis right in the heart of the pulsating nightlife of Patong Beach. We are located only a one- minute walk to Soi Bangla for bars and entertainment; two-minute walk to Jungceylon for a unique shopping experience; five-minute walk to the beach to enjoy the Andaman Sea. We have a large swimming pool, set in relaxing landscaped gardens, and a coffee shop/restaurant serving Western and Thai food at reasonable prices. There is also a Sports Bar showing live sports via satellite and playing classic rock music as well as a spa, sauna and massage on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Expat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expat Hotel Patong
The Expat Hotel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing