We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis and hidden gem in Patong”
Review of Villa Atchara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Atchara
Ranked #73 of 322 Hotels in Patong
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis and hidden gem in Patong”
Reviewed January 18, 2010

My wife and i stayed at Villa Atchara for 10 nights from 1st January.
it was our seventh trip to Thailand together and this has to be one of the best so far.
We were met at the airport by Johan (the owner) and he talked to us all the way during the drive to Patong, giving us useful tips of where to eat, where to go out etc... We felt at ease the moment we entered the hotel which has a calm homely feel to it in a sort of tropical colonial way. The staff are all Thai and extremely friendly and cheerful and this only added to our enjoyment of the Hotel.
Villa Atchara is located at the Northern end of Patong beach near to the Novotel and up a little road off the main road that gets very little traffic and is very peaceful. The beach is only a couple of minutes walk and there are shops (eg. Seven/eleven) also just a short walk from the hotel. Also, there are authentic Thai massage places and plenty of restaurants and bars nearby.
Everything about the hotel was perfect for us. It ticked all our boxes from the large airy rooms (which are spotlessly clean) to the friendly service and authentic Thai food in the restaurant.
Our hosts, Johan and Parn are great and certainly made our stay there a special one.
They always have time for a friendly chat and you are made to feel more like one of the family rather than a hotel guest.
The location is ideal, close to Patong beach, 10 to 15 minutes walk to the centre of Patong's night life area and shops yet it is very quiet at night with no neighbouring bars or restaurants making a noise.
We would certainly recommend this hotel and intend to stay here again as soon as we manage to get back to Phuket.
There is a lot to be said for staying in a small intimate hotel rather than a huge resort type hotel.
There are plenty of repeat guests here, which speaks for its self.
Breakfast was included in the rate, but we were late up most days and the odd day we had breakfast it was ok.
The Thai food that we ate at the hotel was fantastic (we feel qualified to judge as we eat Thai food all the time) and the portions were large and it was extremely fresh and spicy.
Not much else to say except thank you for a great stay, keep up the good work Johan, Parn and staff and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jezzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    55
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
40
95
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel during this past summer. I traveled to Phucket by myself and stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. I did a lot of research prior to making an accomodation selection in Phuket and decided on this one due to the location and price.

Very clean rooms, excellent location, and superb staff. It's located at the far end of Patong down a very quiet street--and trust me, it's not easy to find a quiet location like this at Patong. However, despite it being hidden and tucked away from the strip It still happens to be less than 200 meters from the beach and around a 5-10 minute walk from the main stretch on the strip.

Furthermore, the owner of the hotel, Johan was very accomodating and welcoming towards me--especially considering that I was traveling by myself. His family was in town as well and he invited me our for dinner with them, all of who were great company!

Also, it had a great salt water pool, free high speed internet (huge plus), and free breakfast! And they had no problem with me bringing guests back to the hotel to swim and have a few drinks!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelF25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Johan, Parn and all the staff created a perfect atmosphere in this lovely house. Do not expect a 5 star resort but 5 star service is definitely the best word to describe this hotel.
Location is great because it is not in the middle of Patong's craziness. You have to walk 15 min if you're looking for ladie boys and all that crap. If you just want the beach, a few restaurants (and the best ones are not far - Joes Downstairs, White Box...) this is perfect.
The room itself is clean, big enough, a bit noisy as rooms are facing the swimming pool and some people like having their breakfast early.
The real value of Villa Atchara is service: from the minute you step into this house you feel at home. They call you with your first name, they suggest where to go, what to do...

To conclude, if you're looking for a relaxing atmosphere not too far from Patong's entertainment Villa Atchara is your choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexei-om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

The best value for money hotel in all of Patong. Clean, comfortable and perfectly situated to all that Patong has to offer. If you like to be greeted by your first name for breakfast in the morning, stay in comfortable and quiet surrounds, this is the place to stay. The staff are wonderful and I can understand why so many travellers keep on coming back. I know I'll be returning.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xavcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2009

8 of us in total stayed here for 7 nights in August 2009. Our stay was fantastic. The hotel is located about a 10min walk from Bangla road, so its quiet enough to get a decent sleep at night & not too loud. Its only a 2 min walk to the beach for a swim, if you don't want to take advantage of the gorgeous pool they have.
Johan, Pan & all of the staff were fantastic. They organised all of us on one floor & there were no hassles. Eggs cooked to order, breakfast was great!
The Deluxe rooms were spacious & clean. The superior rooms were quite a bit smaller, and I personally think its worth spending the extra money for a bit more space.
I would strongly reccommend this place to my friends, groups/couples/families alike!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for only one night. We wished it was more. The property is beautiful. The pool is incredible and the hotel is great. The owner is scandanavian and the hotel has a lot western characteristics. That makes it very nice. The staff is very helpful and the service is great. Breakfast is included in the morning and was fantasic. The rooms were very nice, good size and clean. Very close to the beach and plenty of food around for a short walk. This hotel was also quite. No bumping music from clubs. Very relaxing. I would strongly recommend this hotel to everyone. Especially families. Your kids will love the pool. But, at the same time romantic for couples.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fataspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I enjoyed my stay at Villa Atchara, The room was large, clean and quiet. The staff do everything they can to make you feel at home. The breakfast was always good with eggs made to order, fruit and choice of breads. it is an easy walk to the beach. The swimming pool was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mphflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Seven Seas Hotel
Seven Seas Hotel
#57 of 322 in Patong
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sky Lantern Hotel
Sky Lantern Hotel
#82 of 322 in Patong
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
First resort albergo
First resort albergo
#77 of 322 in Patong
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Baipho Boutique Residence Phuket
0.8 mi away
K-Hotel
K-Hotel
#67 of 322 in Patong
142 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palmview Resort Patong Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Atchara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Atchara

Property: Villa Atchara
Address: 4 Soi Prabarami 4 Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Patong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Atchara 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Atchara is the perfect getaway in Patong. Close to all the fun but quiet from traffic and sellers. We have pool, free internet, restaurant, bar,tour info. Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Atchara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Atchara Hotel Patong
Atchara Hotel Patong
Villa Atchara Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing