We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Sorry for the delay in writing this review, but had to let others know of this great place.

We had come to Sunset beach resort for our honeymoon and had the best 11 days of our lives.

Definite the best breakfast we've come across!!!

The hotel is conveniently located away from the crowds and within walking distance to the Beach and short walk to Bangla road...they had free shuttle service to bangla road...

No problems with check-in but we didn't face any problems at all. Room was clean and comfortable;Pool was amazing....Good room service...Staff was ever helpful...

We would definitely stay here again if I visit Phuket..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank costar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay in a not to busy area, but close enough to walk to city centre. Lovely swimming pool area with cocktail pool bar. Beautiful views from veranda on sea. Motorbike hire available. Good value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank 864annemarieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, arrived at 11am and our room was ready in 30min even though check in is at 2pm. Enjoyed the cold welcome drink as it was already hot.
Room was clean and tidy. Free drinking water everyday.
Shuttle was not every 30min but was frequent enough to Bangla road.
Breakfast was good, not much variety in terms of fresh fruit,but I'm just being picky.plenty food markets at night just infront of the hotel. Hotel restaurant fairly priced.
Staff friendly and helpful. One guy called "Bam" even helped my hubby organize an exquisite bouquet of flowers for me for valentines day☺️

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Nockey-Nockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetmanager, General Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Nockey-Nockey,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Sunset Beach Resort. The shuttle can be delayed on peak hour because of the traffic congestion. We are constantly working on the highest quality of service.

Best Regards,
Worapol Ungtrakul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We went to Sunset Beach Resort for our Honeymoon. We got a room by the poolside on the ground floor, which was the best as we could walk from our room and jump right into the clear waters. The Hotel is old and the bathrooms need an upgrade, but we weren't there to live in the hotel room, so it was perfect for us to use just as our sleeping grounds. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. My favourite thing about the Hotel was their room service - best food we could find and at the cheapest rates! The Hotel restaurant was lovely too, we ate there on our last night, and I wish we had eaten there more than once.

The location is a bit far from the main beach in Phuket/Patong, but it's within walking distance of all the main attractions and the town centre (where you can do some amazing shopping). The beach front right outside the hotel was okay, but we preferred the beaches further up the coast towards the main street. We never needed to hire transport but did rent a scooter on one occasion from the hotel.

The pool is large enough for everyone to enjoy, and if you are a family, it is the perfect spot to relax while the kids play in the pool. The spa at the hotel was lovely too, with great prices and exceptional return on value.

They have a great 'tour' desk where we booked all our tours, at good prices. I wouldn't trust the random tour stores along the roads. There is also a great little convenience store down the road where we bought some snacks and other things.

Bring your own towels for the beach, as the towels provided by the hotel can only be used at the pool.

If you are looking for a larger and more comfortable 'living space', then this hotel won't meet your needs, but it's the perfect affordable place for those travellers like me who are not there to spend time in their rooms, but rather out and about exploring the land.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor, pool side room. We never heard anyone at the pool when we were in the room bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Generally the staff were friendly, and the pool was very nice. However, too many negatives to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The shuttle was unreliable as it was never on time, and the driver was not friendly and was impolite. The location is north of Patong beach, so you need to take a tuk-tuk/taxi to town to do anything (due to the unreliable shuttle service), which was expensive for the short distance. Patong generally was not for our tastes, as it was far too touristy and busy, with not enough authentic Thai culture.
The best thing was that about 50 metres from the hotel is a great restuarant called Spaghetti Cowboys, which I can highly recommend - great food and friendly service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbnbeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetmanager, General Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Dbnbeaver,

Thank you that you so honestly told us your perceptions. The free shuttle can be delayed on peak hour because of the traffic congestion. We are constantly working on the highest quality of service.

Best Regards,
Worapol Ungtrakul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have stayed here many times and find it to be the best location (away from the hub bub) but close enough to be there when you want to join in the shopping,night life etc
The pools are always immaculate although the addition of some garbage bins would mean that the guests could dispose of their garbage instead of leaving it around for the staff to clean up at the end of the day ( and it wouldn't blow into the water gardens in the wind)
Although the linens (especially towels ) are in need of renewing the rooms are cleaned and maintained very well.
Free shuttle bus to town not always on time ( as traffic varies) and driver seriously needs to smile to the guests at the least!!
Food at the resort is great and very reasonably priced.
We use the massage girls down the lane at Kalim Beach massage as we love to support the locals and also the booking agent Mr Sam.
Hiring of motor scooters at the resort is great very reasonably priced and never had a problem, this time we were lucky enough to have a brand new scooter ( only done 6klms before we hired it but tons more after our touring around).
Highly recommended by repeat visitors

Room Tip: we like the poolside rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KimiM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetmanager, General Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear KimiM01,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Sunset Beach Resort. All of the towels have been changed to the new one already. The shuttle can be delayed on peak hour because of the traffic congestion. We are constantly working on the highest quality of service.

Best Regards,
Worapol Ungtrakul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at Sunset beach resort 8th-15th feb 2014.
Requested room with balcony overlooking pool which was normally 500 baht per night extra.
Hotel very kindly honoured our request for free.
These rooms are much quieter than the seaview rooms as the traffic is quite noisy.
The rooms are quite large with a bed about 7ft long by 8ft wide!
The ensuites have both bath and shower.
A free shuttle service takes you to the end of Bangla Rd. Patong but don't rely on it being every half hour as stated.
The staff were okay but could do with smiling more. The exception being the lobby porter Mr. Bam?or Pam?he was very friendly and his help made our stay more enjoyable.The man at reception was also quite pleasant sorry i don't remember his name.
The pool area was also excellent and relaxing.
The beach area outside the hotel was quite small and you would have to negotiate rocks in order to swim but Kalim beach a little closer to Patong was okay.
The sunset from the front bar is a must see.
Whilst this hotel was not the cleanest or best maintained we had stopped in it was value for money and we enjoyed being out of central Patong.

Room Tip: Choose a room by the pool for quietness. 2201,2301 and 2401 have 2 balconies sea and pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
2.4 mi away
Tri Trang Beach Resort
Tri Trang Beach Resort
#86 of 331 in Patong
423 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bliss South Beach Paton
1.9 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#7 of 331 in Patong
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
774 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#31 of 331 in Patong
777 reviews
1.1 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#122 of 331 in Patong
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: 316/2, Phrabarami Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#24 Family Hotel in Patong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#25 Spa Hotel in Patong
#30 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $42 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket
Sunset Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing