We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, Some bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #46 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This was my fourth time staying at Sunsets, I have always found it to be a mostly good hotel, so I'll start with the good points.

The location- just far enough from the hustle and bustle of Patong, but not so far that it is inconvenient.

The shuttle service- very regular and a great way to save being ripped off on a tuk tuk.

The restaurant- The breakfast is nice, and the lunch and dinner options are fantastic and very cheap. The staff that work in the the dining areas (particularly the poolside one) are very friendly.

Pool area- really lovely clean pool and a nice bar. One of the best hotel pools I've seen.

And for the not so good-

Some of the staff are much less friendly than I remember from previous time. Most were not particularly bad or anything, but it was a disappointment to see some decline here.

Organisation issues-
This may have been a one off thing however it was bad enough that I feel it is worth mentioning.
We organised an airport transfer for our departure a couple of days beforehand. After looking over our itinerary the day before we were due to leave we realised we probably needed to leave the hotel half an hour earlier than planned.
I called reception, gave them all our details and asked to change our transfer time. The staff member said they would call back with a confirmation. Ten minutes later they did so.

The next morning we checked out and were told by the front desk that our transport was indeed scheduled for 5.30 as we has requested.
We sat down in the lobby and waited. And waited. And waited.
It got to around 5.40 so we approached the front desk and asked about our transfer.
We were told quite dismissively that it was scheduled for 6am, (the original time before changing) although we had now confirmed the new time with them twice (both the evening before and that morning)
The staff member then disappeared and we were left twiddling our thumbs and worrying we would miss our check in time. It got to 6am and still no transfer arrived and the front desk staff was nowhere to be seen. We started feeling like he was deliberately avoiding us due to their mistake.
The transfer finally arrived at 6.10. It turned out that the hotel had forgotten to contact the transfer company with the new time. We still made our flight so it wasn't a huge problem, however we feel it would have been a lot more professional for the staff to at least apologise for the error instead of avoiding us.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piggystardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 997 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

What a gem of a hotel! We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute. We checked in smoothly and our room was spacious for 2 people. Our Superior room had a massive and comfortable king size bed and bathroom was big with shower and separate bathtub. The room is well equiped with 2 bottles of drinking water and tea and coffee facilities. Staff are fanastic and so helpful - front staff or staff working in the restaurant. Breakfast is great and different choices everyday, dinner was delicious with 100 baht specials simply delicious. Wifi was excellent didn't have any problems at all.

Pool is beautiful, well maintained and swim up bar is lovely can have a drink and chat with other tourists.
We would go to breakfast each morning and come back and our room cleaned without pressing make up my room button. This what you call real service! Staff are pleasant and always willing to help.
Beach is situated right across the hotel and in the evenings the sunset is amazing (great photos). We used one of the massage parlour round the corner was not happy at all. Supermarket is situated 2 minutes walking distance.
Shuttle bus was good some nights bit delayed. Short distance to Banlga road 8-10 minutes by bus. Will definately return to Sunset Beach Hotel :)

Room Tip: Our room was facing pool and on sunny day you can sit in the balcony and enjoy the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney_Neets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We recently spent 10 nights staying at this hotel on our own and could not of asked for a better time from a budget hotel. The rooms were standard in nature but still nice. The pool area was great with the swim up bar a saviour on hot days. The hotel supplied 2 free bottles of water in the room daily and mini bar prices were not excessive (although there was a convenience store 50m away). Reception staff sometimes appeared rude but I think it was more of a language barrier than rude they were still helpful when you finally explained what you were after. The concierge, bar and restaurant staff were all pleasant and helpful and spoke an acceptable level of English. I would not use the hotel tour desk as it was expensive but there is a lovely lady named Bew at Sukij Tours who will beat any price and was the cheapest by far from anyone we looked at booking through. she also does her own transfers as she has her own mini bus.even if not staying at this hotel I would spend the 200 baht on a tuk tuk there from town to book with her still. She is located in the laneway in between the main part of the hotel and the back side and pool area of the hotel where there is also a laundry and massage place all within 50 metres of hotel. We will definitely be back next time with our children and have no problem in recommending this hotel to anyone. There is a free shuttle bus running every 30 mins from 9am - 9pm into Bangla road in Patong which takes about 5-8 minutes.

Room Tip: If staying in the sea view room it can be a little noisy from the traffic but I use earplugs and did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenb_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a terrible problem with our room.we had to change 2 elevators to reach our room.
Reaching our room would take further 15 mins walk...seemed very tiring..bathrooms are very boring and old styled.
The staff is at all not bothered and seem to be arrogant at times.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kushhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

On a family trip to Thailand we were extremely disappointed when we arrived not to a greeting of "welcome" but the "power is out and will be for the next few hours". The power went out almost every day during the hours of 10-4pm - convenient was for the hotel to save money!? The staff were lazy and appeared bored. My mum ended up serving us and tables around with tea and coffee at breakfast as it was too much effort to get the attention of a staff member. The pool and bar area was often littered with glasses and bowls.
The rooms were not clean and often no towels were put in the rooms after a service - if they serviced at all - it was hit and miss.
Everything was an effort for the staff, from ordering taxis to getting the daily wifi ticket. We almost just left the hotel to stay elsewhere but ended up staying but doing day trips as far away from the hotel as we could get to. Will not be back ever...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were slightly disappointed when we first arrived but the scenery and friendly service more than made up for it. We were on our first overseas trip and definitely on a budget. This hotel more than provided for our needs. The rooms were basic but provided us with tea, coffee and two free bottles of water a day as you cannot drink the water there. We had a TV in the room with a few channels to choose from, but when you are in Phuket you definitely don’t spend your time in a hotel room. The hotel has a swimming pool as well as a spar. You are situated right on the beach and within walking distance from the nearest swimming beach. They provide a free shuttle that takes you to Bangla Road, which is the lively part of Patong. We ate all our breakfasts at the hotel as this was included in our trip. What a spread! We also ate dinner twice at the hotel and the food was great. They have a fully licensed bar and you can even try some of the local drinks. There is also a travel desk in the hotel lobby where you can book various activities. We had a great time and for a cheap hotel, that you basically only sleep at, I recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Not the best experience ,we had times with no power,no fault of the hotel but not informed about the power outage, there for 3 days with no hot water for up to 6 hours. We found food was far from good, we had 2 meals we could not eat. Staff friendly , but had days When we got no towels or only 1 towel for 2 people. The bus into Patong was very handy, the beach across the road is not suitable to swim in as it is full of rocks. The room, pool and facilities were all clean.
Bit far from main town.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool room , not a front room to noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diddy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.8 mi away
The Bliss South Beach Paton
1.9 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#8 of 331 in Patong
1,813 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tri Trang Beach Resort
Tri Trang Beach Resort
#89 of 331 in Patong
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#29 of 331 in Patong
769 reviews
1.2 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
763 reviews
1.1 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#115 of 331 in Patong
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: 316/2, Phrabarami Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#28 Family Hotel in Patong
#28 Spa Hotel in Patong
#34 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $31 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket
Sunset Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing