We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This resort was a good place to stay. We had a deluxe room with a balcony that overlooked the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #52 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This resort was a good place to stay. We had a deluxe room with a balcony that overlooked the pool”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was out of patong about 8k's but you had a shuttle to take you into town if you wanted every 1/2 hour from 9am in the morning till i think 8pm at night which you caught at the end of Bangla Road . The food was average we ate in town more but did have a good breakfast. There is a lady that does your laundry around the corner from the resort at reasonable prices. Also an internet service which is much faster than the hotel. The cocktails were welcomed after a hot dat by the pool & the staff were very helplful. They do a late checkout which is good sometimes they have an offer of extra nights for free but check this first.

Room Tip: We have stayed here 3 times & would pick rooms on the restaurant side of the hotel overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    396
    178
    46
    45
See reviews for
216
413
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Resort is out of the hustle & bustle of Patongs entertainment & shopping areas which you can walk to in Approximately 20 Minutes if you choose to.The hotel has a free shuttle bus to Patong every 30 Minutes. Patong has some great shopping centers such as Jungceylon and smaller shops all over Patong From the moment you arrive at the resorts reception you are greeted with a friendly smile and made feel welcome and special. Staff in all areas of the resort are always friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The breakfasts are very good with a great selection and a fantastic view over the beachfront & ocean. Dinner at night were very good as well. Our room was always clean & tidy. The pool & outdoor Jacuzzi were well maintained and during our stay their were specials at the resorts Spa. Internet is available at the resort. If you like tours can be booked at the tour desk at the resort. I would have no hesitation in recommending this resort for a restful relaxing Holiday at competitive prices. We will stay at this resort again without hesitation

Room Tip: I would recommend pool view rooms Ocean view rooms may be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights and had a junior suite, which was a 1 bedroom apartment. The apartment was fine, furnishings etc are very dated and tired but perfectly suitable. It also had a little kitchenette with pots and pans however there was no cutlery or crockery! The cleanliness was OK, house keeping did the bare minimum. The previous occupants had been picking zits in the mirror and 7 days later the remnants are still there! We also had to ask house keeping to change our bed linen, it is tricky communicating with staff as their English is very limited. The towels need to be updated as they are very very old and grey. The king sized bed was comfortable and we slept well. The air conditioning works very well too.

Front desk staff were very ordinary and bordered on abrupt the few times we attempted to ask them questions.

Ensure your free wifi is listing on your accommodation booking and also ask your agent about the dinner deals, again ensure it is on your booking sheet. If it is not listed on your booking sheets it will not happen. There is an offer of staying 5 nights and you get a free dinner, we didn't get it as it was not on the booking sheet. If you have a late flight out ensure you ask for a late check out and make sure it is in your booking sheet, I can't emphasis this enough!

Bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and accommodating and room service was great and so affordable as were drinks by the pool. Aside from breakfast each morning and one lot of room service we didn't eat at the hotel. Breakfast each morning was sensational and thankfully the coffee was good. There are little street stalls across the road selling food which is wonderful, a must try are the banana pancakes, they must have sold close to 50 in the 20 minutes we were there Food is cheap, fast and delicious.

The shuttle service to and from Patong is great, it drops you right in the heart of Patong. It also saves you dealing with the tuk tuk drivers which can be frustrating. Beware of the timeshare sellers who locate themselves at the drop off point and bombard you first thing in the morning. Do not get tempted by their "free" gifts, it is a ploy to get you to a seminar which they promise takes 90 minutes however took just over 3 hours. Yes we were suckered into it.

On the lower ground floor of the Jungcylon Shopping Centre is a fabulous collection of arts and craft stalls selling all things that are on the street at great prices along with the usual services of facials and massages, the added bonus is air conditioning.

Resort has a lovely pool area and plenty of sun umbrellas for shade. Cocktails were lovely and very well priced.

Hotel was quite full with a mixture of couples, young and old and families. Some of the older couples we chatted with come back year after year they really love it. For us, we would not come back, there are lots of other hotels to choose from.

Overall our stay was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Two thoughts on choosing a room, if you are staying for a short period a standard pool room would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle63_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our stay at Sunset was phenomenal! We were so sad to leave, and would stay here every time. It took quick to check in, and had a welcome drink at the bar overlooking the sea. Our room was much better than we anticipated and had everything we needed. The hotel wasn't very full but was an equal mix of families and couples. The salon we used once for a Thai massage, which was only 100 baht more than on the beach. It was as good as anywhere else if not better. The restaurant was great too, and we almost managed to get a table right by the sea every time we ate there. The western food is very expensive, but the Thai food is around 100-300 baht. Opposite the hotel is a sidewalk filled with carts of local food that everyone should try, or at least go look. We saw a lot of the hotel staff eating here, so if local is what you want, grab a kebab there. Now is a good time to tl you, there is no "beach", but just some rocks (unless you walk abit down towards patong. The staff are very friendly! Booking a tour through the hotel was easy and the best special (safer too). When coming from the restaurant towards the pool, on your right is an alleyway with a mini mart where you can buy anything including alcohol for your room, as cocktails here are quite pricey! Although their Piña colada is the best I've ever had and comes in a coconut. Internet can be bought by the hour or the day costing around R100/$20. We are already looking at coming back, but staying just there this time

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M0R9S2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I and my husband spent 2 days at the Resort on April 2013 and want to spend more time! We arrived at 11 a.m., which is quite early for check in. However, we still get free upgrade from Deluxe to Junior Suite with swimming pool and sea view because we had to wait until 12.30 noon for the room.

ROOM: Massive and comfortable bed. Junior Suite has a living room with sofa, a kitchen, a bar, and a large balcony for hanging wet clothes. However, the furniture is a little bit old. No slippers, no hair dryer. Hot water available all the time. Good conditioning too. A little bit dusty on the floor.

RESTAURANT: Waited to be checked in, we had welcome drinks (orange juice) at the bar with sea view and then lunch there too. The food is well presented, good quality, fresh and, very reasonable (~ lately we found out it costs around 300-500baht/person/dish for street food at Patong centre, sea food is also much more expensive than in the restaurant).

Dinner: free salad bar provided, candle lit, live music available (acoustic).

Drinks at Sunset Beach Resort are also good at prices and quality too, I enjoyed the coconut and Thai Iced Tea. My husband tried Thai Whisky at the restaurant too.

BREAKFAST:
OK breakfast.

TRANSPORTATION: The hotel is 2km away from Patong Beach, you can take the free shuttle bus. However, we walked, and its walkable to both Patong Beach and Patong Centre.

Its quite far to Phuket Town, costs about 400-500 Baht/one way (both tuk tuk or taxi).

From Phuket Airport, you can take minibus to the hotel (Patong). The hotel is just at the front road near the sea, very easy to find, only about 180Baht/person. From the hotel back to the airport, you should book taxi in advance, around 700-800baht/one way.

POOL:
Huge pool, range from 1m-1.6m depth, with waterfall and jacuzzi on the top. There is a pool bar with chairs in the waters, which is cool. You can get the towel from the pool bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband an I spent 2 weeks at Sunset Beach Resort. The location is a bit off which we rather liked since you really want to avoid living in the middle of the hustle and bustle. Bangla road is only about 2 km away and the beach a 10-minute walk. The hotel itself has a lovely setting and nice, big rooms with comfy beds. The balcony is huge and became our favorite spot late afternoons. Would go there again! We like to go out for dinner in different restaurants all the time and it was on our very last night we tried the hotel´s own restaurant. Well, we should have tried it sooner. Affordable and enjoyable! The hotel has that little extra touch of something - atmoshere is the word.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55Elinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband was a bit concerned about this hotel when we first booked it, but when we got there he automatically changed his mind! Staff were friendly, room was clean and big. Breakfast was great - we really enjoyed the omelettes, became a standard breakfast order! We also ate lunch and supper at the hotel a few times - which was really good. and found a nice restuarant just down from the hotel where we ate a few nights.
We had read up about the front rooms being rather noisy from the road, so we requested a pool facing room - was so great, we were tucked away in the corner, so had lots of privacy.
I also utilised the spa for a Thai massage - really nice and once again clean and the staff were friendly.
We also frequently used the shuttle bus - we again read comments that the bus wasnt always on time and other complaints. But people don't realise that the same driver is working from 9/10am till 9pm shuttling people back and forth - so a long day for him. Also in the evening the traffic gets really busy near the drop off point so it can end up that he isnt perfectly on time, but he always arrives. and this is free service from the hotel.
The hotel location was nice - it was probably a 15 minute walk to central patong (or you could use the shuttle). Which is great becuase patong is a very busy area, so we were in a quieter part.
Really cant find fault with this hotel - we really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: ask for pool facing room and if you want to use the spa at a specific time, book early. also their a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philippa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.9 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#12 of 321 in Patong
1,605 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#54 of 321 in Patong
499 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#31 of 321 in Patong
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
#77 of 321 in Patong
666 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: 316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#28 Spa Hotel in Patong
#28 Family Hotel in Patong
#34 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket
Sunset Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing